We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for !!”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Avalon Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Views to die for !!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Strahan Village has a variety of accommodation from very ordinary motel type units to lovely king bed, split level rooms with the most beautiful view. On arrival we found out that our booking was for one of the poorer units so we upgraded to the room with a view and had no regrets whatsoever. We spent 3 beautiful days here taking in the Gordon/Franklin and other lovely features of the area.
The restaurant is on the side of expensive so we tended to eat out in other cafés etc in the area which were quite satisfactory. Local golf course is cheap and cheerful and satisfied our needs.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the room with a view if you already don't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeriSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    339
    225
    77
    54
See reviews for
140
530
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This looked so good from the road but we were so so wrong.Please think before booking, we booked for one double and a single and got just the double. The TV did not work and was that old it had a set top box. Always check room before booking in, if we had we would never had stayed there.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Annmelva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strahan hotels

Gin Gin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

we had the cutest little cottage across from the ocean. what a view every morning looking out and seeing the boats moored, the rooms were massive and the reception girls could not do enough for you, even coming over on their way home to see if all was ok and anything else that they could do for us. this would have to be one of the best little towns and friendly enviroments,. it is a must to go and stay for a few days, feed the ducks and geese in the main street and go and have a look at the huon pine attraction as well as the little penguins on the boat sofia with Darlene, Sian and the boat driver which I have forgotten his name. so sorry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were shocked at the initial 'terrace room' allocated...so narrow the double bed would not fit across the room but had to be angled in such away as to allow movement. We paid to upgrade to a hilltop bay view and were delighted with the difference. Settled in for three nights. More accurate descriptors (and photos) on the Internet could have helped avoid this situation. There are many rooms at Strahan Village that you would not want! The attitude of some service staff left something to be desired. We reported that some lights and the exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work but these were not repaired in the time we were there.
Service was excellent in the bar and restaurant and the stunning evening views set a lovely atmosphere. The restaurant buffet was delicious, used local seafood and was beautifully presented.

Room Tip: Strahan Village is well promoted and monopolises the small town. The traveller may not be immediatel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Ok stay, but we should have spent the extra money to stay at one of the gorgeous cottages located on the Main Street. We stayed up on the hill in old- fashioned rooms that only had a view of the carpark. Very basic, with ancient tvs and ugly yellow walls. Comfortable enough, but such a pretty village, we should have stayed in a prettier room.
Highly recommend the short drive to the Peoples Park for a rainforest walk to Hogarth Falls and, of course, a cruise down the Gordon River - superb!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Can not complain about looking straight across to the waters, right next door to pub, baker and more.Rooms had a 1940's feel to it, but also needed some work. The bathroom felt bigger than the room.Though it was a short stop for us and good value foe money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0dDyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms along the front are in a great convenient location with good views, but have a down fall of noise from the street. Rooms are a little outdated and smell very stale, musky and mouldy smelling. If you get put in the stone cottage on the corner I would be asking for another room, the smell was unbearable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newy_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Property: Strahan Village
Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing