We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am embarrassed to be Tasmanian” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I am embarrassed to be Tasmanian”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Another couple and ourselves paid $1400 each for what we hoped to be a special weekend away. Included were trips where a dinner tour on the Gordon river and Port Macquarie and another dinner tour on the Abt railway. These were organised well and the staff helpful and attentive. Our rooms face the car park and were left over from the 70's at best. The huge let down was the accommodation and included breakfast which few guests received due to lack of food, cutlery, cups dishes or a place to sit. We ended up down the street with a $6 special from the local bakery. It is obvious there is little local input but rather a obvious management structure directing this debarkle. There is no way we will be paying $2800 in the future on the West Coast and would not recommend to any of our friends to never set foot in that place. You are a true embarrassment to the Tasmanian Hospitality Industry.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Usa4july2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    316
    215
    76
    51
See reviews for
137
500
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hotel accommodation on top of hill above ground level reception is well designed and equipped, comfortable and with fine view from balcony over Strahan and Macquarie Harbour. Popular resort for packaged tours which puts some stress on the smorgasbord dining when 2 or 3 tours descend on it at the same time. Ideally situated for harbour and Gordon River cruise; also the West Coast Wilderness Railway with its beautiffully restored engines and carriages - although this may be closing due to high maintenance costs.

Room Tip: Choice of rooms at ground and first floor level overlooking harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked this hotel through our UK agents so I am unable to report whether or not it was good value.

The hotel is made up of a variety of accommodation units. Ours was motel style and at the top of a steep hill. Their is a steep flight of wooden stairs down into the village itself.

Our room was large, well furnished, clean and comfortable; some distance away from the main building and did not have a sea view. A partly covered walkway led to the lounges and the dining room and it was here that we enjoyed the most magnificent views of Macquarie Harbour. I can recommend sitting on the outdoor decking, watching the sun set and with a glass of something interesting in your hand.

Our evening meal was well prepared and there was plenty of choice but the self service counter was very busy and we had to queue for some items of food.

The one big must while staying in Strahan is to do the Gordon River Cruise. This all-day cruise takes you into the heart of the Franklin-Gordon Wild Rivers National Park. The Park is stunningly beautiful; completely untouched and unspoiled. A truly amazing experience and one that I shall remember for the rest of my days

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Strahan Village is made up of a variety of accommodation styles- ours was a motel unit in the large complex at the top of the hill, facing the car park. The units aren't super cheap so we didn't want to pay an extra $50 per night to change to a water view room. The rooms are really just plain boring, dated and basic. The walls are quite thin so we could hear our neighbours conversations. Breakfast was nice (included) with great water views from the restaurant, had and friendly staff. A coach tour's worth of people ate at the same time as we did but we didn't feel crowded.The evening meal seemed too expensive so we ate in Strahan itself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I expected an average motel room, but this didn't meet those expectations. The room smelt musty and damp when we first arrived and was truly in need of a modern renovation. There are a few flights steps down from the main restaurant to the actual village of Strahan, so don't forget anything!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strahan hotels

Harrogate
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location was superb with lovely views of the waterfront. The Garden Terrace accommodation was adequate not exactly luxurious and was more dated than we expected. Our booking was through a UK travel agent so cannot judge if it was value for money or not. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the area, especially the Gordon River Cruise which was the highlight of our two days here in Strahan.
It appears that the whole village is owned by Pure Tasmania which more or less has a monopoly on bars and restaurants nearby. Having said that the prices weren't too bad and quality by and large was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geomoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here at Village Waterfront Cottages/Terraces, (18th March) and instantly back to 1950's. OK one might say if one was paying 1950 prices, but we're forward to 2013 when it comes to paying. Very basic room, has tea/coffee making facilities, reasonably clean (just looks old). Has a heater, electric blanket but could only find one power point for the blanket & bedside lamp, and then only one side of blanket was working. (Not a big problem, we just swapped sides!)
The shower is over a very deep spa bath, very difficult to get into and out of especially as there is no hand rail, and once in the shower, ran hot & cool, difficult to adjust. The walls are very thin as one can hear the shower/toilet/taps next door.
Breakfast was included at the restaurant up on the hill, 42o, which has the most beautiful view of Strahan. One can drive or walk...approx 70 steps. Didn't eat there for the evening meal as it's quite expensive.
Hamers Pub Grill is good for a meal, but I had 2 entrees due to size of mains, again, not cheap.
The good thing about this place is the location, and of course Strahan is quite pretty, but needless to say, they have it all sown up as it is the place for the Gordon River Cruise, which in itself, is beautiful.

Room Tip: Terrace 1121 is on street level right on the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Strahan Holiday Retreat
Strahan Holiday Retreat
#7 of 21 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Property: Strahan Village
Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing