We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a hilltop harbourview executive room in June. The room was split level with quite dark decor which could do with a bit of brightening up but otherwise was very warm and cosy with a spectacular view over Strahan village and the river. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom quite modern and spacious. Unfortunately the weather was drizzly and cold but the restaurant has the most spectacular view and a large deck which would be wonderful in warmer weather. Also the restaurant was only open for breakfast and closed for lunch and dinner which meant quite a walk in the rain to find somewhere else to eat at night. Very handy position to the village and wharf where the Franklin River cruises leave from.

This is quite a large development with lots of different accommodation types, some of which looked rather run-down, but I would definitely stay here again. It's also located on a really steep hill with lots of stairs to negotiate, so anyone with a physical disability should look carefully at whether they have easy access to their room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
There are newer reviews for Strahan Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 905 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in early September and were allocated one of the more basic rooms in the "Gordon" complex - We had chosen a package deal - At first glance the building and passageways does not impress - looked a little dated and shabby but the room itself had been recently renovated and was well presented, clean and roomy - All very acceptable - Our package included breakfast in the View 42 restaurant - The breakfast was top quality and to be recommended

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the water have a balcony but probably are more expensive if you plan to spend...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

After a sleepless night in a very uncomfortable bed, my partner and I contemplated forfeiting our second nights accommodation and going back home. The heat pump kept making annoying noises every few minutes, the bed was uncomfortable, the light above the bed needed to be cleaned out as you could see all the dust and dead bugs in it and even the shower base wasn't even secured to the ground properly. We thought we could go to the nice restaurant for dinner but found out from a man at the pub it was closed for winter. It would have been nice if we were told this by reception when we booked, or even at least when we checked in. Will definitely not be returning.

Room Tip: The hilltop rooms have an amazing but thats the only good thing i have to say.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walsh_miranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2- nights hilltop harbour view executive room may -30-31 2012 .great room split level room small balcony over looking town of strahan and harbour .very clean helpful staff .nice place for relaxing ,only one thing after 8-pm most of strahan it closed ,because of winter .only 2- minute drive to town .would recommend strahan village ,and hilltop harbour view executive room .food in local hotel is good priced and very tasty .

Room Tip: Hilltop harbour view executive room ,you will love it
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed in apartment on main street, good clean and very relaxing vibe. Restaurant on hill average food for price. Hotel meal great, make sure you book a table

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Strahan Village is part of the Federal Group which controls much accommodation in Strahan (and across Tasmania). They are a professional organisation with good staff but take care when booking, ask for details and best available prices. The hilltop, top floor rooms are the pick. Some other rooms have little if any view although the compensation will be a lower price; if you are passing through and/or on a budget this would be fine. We stayed for two nights last week (mid-June). It is winter here in Tassie and unfortunately things get shut to cope with lower tourist numbers. The restaurant and bar here were closed, and guests redirected to Hamers Hotel (owned by Federal) for meals. Good food here but because others are closed it is crowded at peak times. Lunch at Banjo's is good (guess who owns that). At any time the weather in Tasmania is unpredictable. Do come in winter but bring good quality wet weather, warm clothing and good quality walking shoes or boots. Your reward might be a sunny (cold) cracker of a day or a grey, misty, rainy wilderness experience.

Room Tip: Top floor front for harbour views - talk to staff about what's available at what price.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

When we checked in we were told Strahan was in 'winter mode" and most of the restaurants were closed even the bar and restaurant (apart from breakfast).
Apart from all that our 6th visit was great- Gordon River Cruise etc wonderful as always.
Our rooms and king size bed very comfortable with a great view of the harbour and a very friendly possum who visited us both nights.
We will be back .

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the harbour always a good option.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $80 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing