We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected after reading other reviews.”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night for a work conference. I had read the other reviews on trip advisor, so I wasn't expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised.

The room was up on the hilltop in a motel style unit, which was as I expected. Unlike other people who write reviews, I research what style of room I am actually booking.

The room was clean, warm and comfortable as Strahan turned on it's worst weather for us. The only thing I can pick on, is that the decor is a little out-dated, it's all orange and red coloured, and the TV is not modern. Other than this, the bed was comfy, Austar helped fill in time between seminars, and the toiletries were all quite nice.

I can understand why people say it's not value for money, and I agree with this if you pay their rack-rate. I used Wotif to book my room and it works out much better value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KadenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
There are newer reviews for Strahan Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 905 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed with son and daughter and grandchildren. We were on the fron but they were up a big hill quite away away. Expensive restraunt on site, good bakery below, woken up at 4am with glorious smell of bread baking.
Took train trip and boat trip up the river both very well organized and good value. Our room was the end of the block and rather cold, heater didnt work properly so were given a freestanding one but sons room next door was a lot warmer!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guybcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A quaint little town on the west side of Tasmania, Strahan village IS A VILLAGE....we arrived late, at 9:30 pm and the only place in town still serving food was The Rigby Cove Restaurant...just beautiful food, a little bit more pricey than fish and chips, but oh so memorable!

We did get one of the quaint little cottages for two nights, one full breakfast and a fantastic cruise up The Franklin River for around $380 per person. The cruise alone was $210 so we were very happy with this deal. There were three of us so maybe that's why it was economical.

Our cottage was spacious with comfortable Queen size bed in main room, table and chairs near the front window with views of the harbour and jetty, tv and desk and shelving/seating to place suitcase. Bathroom was spacious and beautiful. Shower...no bath.Plus another bedroom with two single beds.We were a bit slow getting up to breakfast at the top of the hill, so only had 15 minutes to sample the huge variety of food on offer. But the view is one of the best to be seen! Would gladly return!

Room Tip: Do your research, and give Pure Tasmania a call. Very helpful and you can book without leaving a dep...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyQ76Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a motel style room at the cliff top. The quaint cottages at town level are advertising bait and not usually available to tour groups. The room was adequate but "miss bossy boots" at the breakfast buffet rather spoiled our stay on not one but two mornings. Efficiency doesn't have to mean cold and uncaring!

Room Tip: Maybe the harbour view suites are better?
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flapgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Strahan, stayed in a village waterfront spa suite, which sounds very fancy but really isn't.
For the price we paid around $240 a night it wasn't really as good as it should have been. The room was very small, we did have a nice view over the waterfront but I still dont think it is worth the price they are charging. Breakfast is beautiful and the staff in the restaurant were great but we would pick somewhere else close to town next time to stay that isn't as pricey as you dont really get value for money.

Room Tip: specify where you expect your room to be, ie if you want a cottage make sure you specify or if you w...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

When I booked a room I imagined I was getting one of the beautiful cottages shown on the website, so I was surprised when I was allocated a unit up the hill. There were units overlooking Strahan harbour, but ours was behind these with a stunning view of the carpark. The room, whilst comfortable enough, was little better than a normal 3 star motel room. The walls were particularly thin, making it easy to here conversations in the adjoining rooms. The adverising for this accommodation is misleading and fellow travellers need to be aware of this.

Room Tip: Find out whether you are booking a cottage or the standard accommodation.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights - in one of the cottages on the waterfront (the one next to the little stone house on the corner).
We had a three bedroom cottage, which had small kitchen facilities i.e. barfridge, microwave, tea and coffee making facilities and sink.
The room was comfortable with enough space to move around in (especially as we were only a couple). Price was high, but if you were a small group or two couples, the cost could be well justified.
The noise of the buses and delivery vans at 7.00am in the morning was a little disturbing, but I needed to be up then anyway LOL.
Be warned, Strahan Village owns most of everything in the main street that you can see!! They certainly hold the monopoly of the village, which is such a shame. Beware the fish and chip shop - the service is really lousy and fairly overpriced i.e. $26.00 for a piece of fish and chips!!! Loved the bread served at the bakery, just wish the counter staff were trained a little better.

A great location for tourists :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WomanfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $81 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing