We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place for a good night's rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a good night's rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

After a gruelling drive from Launceston it was a relief to arrive at Strahan Village. Free parking right outside the entrance to our accommodation was most appreciated, as was the very short walk to our room. The room, although simple, was pleasant and appealing. Amenities included telephone, alarm/radio, television with limited channels, mini-bar, kettle, complimentary tea + coffee and a radiator - very important in the Tasmanian winter! A lovely extra touch were the high-quality, Tasmanian-made complimentary toiletries. Adjoining to the accommodation is a restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. The breakfast buffet was of standard fare, but with the addition of porridge, which was a highlight.

My partner and I were here on business and all our food and accommodation were free of charge, so I cannot comment on value. I also cannot comment on service as my partner dealt with check-in/check-out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BigCatUnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    330
    222
    76
    53
See reviews for
138
516
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed in Strahan the previous year in the main accommodation on the hill. Whilst it was suitable and clean, it was also very noisy with people getting up early to go for breakfast and again late at night with people leaving the restaurant. This time we elected to stay in one of the little cottages on the waterfront. After a long drive from Hobart, we were both tired, hungry and when we stepped out of the car - freezing. Windchill factor was very low and we grabbed our bags and headed for our cottage. Stepping inside we were intantly warmed up not only by the lovely interior of the cottage, but also because the staff had put the heating on for us, making it very cosy indeed. The proximity to the shops ensured our tummies were full shortly after and then we could lay back and enjoy the scenery (from our windows) and also the large inviting spa bath. It was certainly a home away from home and would not hesitate to stay here again. Whilst we were here, we did the Gordon River Cruise which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,014 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

I got a room above the shops looking out over the harbour. The room wasn't big but otherwise everything was good. Not much atmosphere in town (carols by candlelight directly across the road notwithstanding) and the eateries I tried were average quality and high prices, but it was a great room for relaxing on the balcony with beer and pizza in between tours.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

No room service and the restaurant was not allowing anyone in except for a 'wine dinner'@$75 a head.
The room was tiny and smelled like a sauna.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentAusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

One of the best places we have ever stayed in.The room was perfect.The views were amazing.A buffet breakfast was included in the price,and this was well worth the money.Went to the local pub for a meal on the first night,very expensive,but a big hearty meal.Local fish and chip shop also an option but not really up to standard,considering it is a fishing village.A must do is the Wilderness Railway,absolutely fantastic,and well worth the extra to go Premium Class!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a harbour-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobie_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
352 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Had an excellent meal here, good value without too much adventurous cooking. Do not recommend the Wallaby, but you must try at least once. Service was friendly. Worth the wait. Variety in the cuisine, and a mixed crowd to create a good atmosphere

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyril-Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

The room decor was a little depressing - dark and dated, with the same model tv as we had over 10 years ago. No couch or DVD player. The opened mini milk creamer of the last guest dived out of the fridge when we opened it and spilled on the floor. Though the locality was very convenient, I just expected a little more from Federal Resorts, especially considering the price. It didn't really affect our holiday, I just would choose somewhere different to stay next time. Couldn't fault the staff though, customer service was good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#6 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Property: Strahan Village
Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing