We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed July 14, 2011

One of the best places we have ever stayed in.The room was perfect.The views were amazing.A buffet breakfast was included in the price,and this was well worth the money.Went to the local pub for a meal on the first night,very expensive,but a big hearty meal.Local fish and chip shop also an option but not really up to standard,considering it is a fishing village.A must do is the Wilderness Railway,absolutely fantastic,and well worth the extra to go Premium Class!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a harbour-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tobie_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 991 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

Had an excellent meal here, good value without too much adventurous cooking. Do not recommend the Wallaby, but you must try at least once. Service was friendly. Worth the wait. Variety in the cuisine, and a mixed crowd to create a good atmosphere

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyril-Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The room decor was a little depressing - dark and dated, with the same model tv as we had over 10 years ago. No couch or DVD player. The opened mini milk creamer of the last guest dived out of the fridge when we opened it and spilled on the floor. Though the locality was very convenient, I just expected a little more from Federal Resorts, especially considering the price. It didn't really affect our holiday, I just would choose somewhere different to stay next time. Couldn't fault the staff though, customer service was good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denny014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The room we stayed in was next to the maids laundry and it didn't seem that they gave much thought to interrupting guests with their banter etc. We also got stuck with a lovely view of the carpark which added to the noise.
The rooms are very dated....it was like stepping back to 1985.
As we were leaving, we could see through into some rooms on the other side of the hotel that had a water view, and the view did look very impressive.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Reception was so bad I wanted to walk out and stay else where and we had not even reach the front desk. Got lost trying to find our room. The room was deck out with overbearing pine pennaling, no veiw, while the top floor which have veiws was vancant. Was book for 3 night but left first thing in the morning. Very unpleasent stay. The place (Strathan) it self is a very nice place to visit. When in Tas never say your from the mainland. Always say you from Hobart and you will see a big differents in atitude. No I wouldn,t recomment this hotel at all There are far better place to stay in Strathan.

Room Tip: While in Tas never say your from the mainland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50johno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We had a room on the hilltop but at the back without a view and in a separate building to the restaurant. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was larger than expected and clean. Plenty of channels on TV and no problems with noise. The location is great being very close to central Strahan. We thought it was a bit pricey considering the quality and price of some of the other places we stayed at in Tasmania.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesilverdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Visited Strahan for the Gordon River Cruise and for the ABT Wilderness Railway experience, which were both expensive but well worth the money spent. However, our accommodation left a lot to be desired. We stayed up at the Hilltop and unfortunately both my husband and I and my parents both were stuck with back rooms overlooking the car-park. If making reservation for the Hilltop, make sure you request overlooking the harbour. Our room was dark and unpleasant.
The saving grace was breakfast in the morning - excellent selection and the service exceptional. Very friendly, warm, inviting, and stunning views over Macquarie Harbour.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadianaussie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
88 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
186 reviews
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $88 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing