We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to make you feel home.”
Review of Ormiston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ormiston House
Ranked #2 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A lovely place to make you feel home.”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We spent one night, just passing by Strahan. The land lady is very charming and caring. The rooms are woderfully decorated and maintained. It gives you the feeling to be part of a grand noble family.
Breakfast was just continental, but we didn't ask for a warm one anyway. On the way out, Caroline had prepared some notes for us to take along, describing the highlights and must do's along our route

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JunianSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    68
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
192
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights on a tour of Tasmania - received a warm welcome from Carolyn with freshly baked muffins and fresh milk for tea. Very welcome after a long drive. Our room was Mary Ellen and rather dark for our taste; the drapes on the 4 poster bed blocked the light in the room and it was well nigh impossible to read anything unless you were right next to the window. However the room was comfortable alhough the plumbing in the bathroom rather noisy There was small Tv in the room and free internet access was provided for a flat small fee for our entire stay. . The museum about the house in the roof was most interesting and we sat and sunned ourselves on the roof while admiring the view of Macquarie Harbour. The house is easy walking distance from the main town; Carolyn recommended various places to eat and booked us a table at our chosen venue. Only a continental breakfast is offerred but with a choice of teas/coffee and freshly baked croissants, perfectly adequate. Our departure was accompanied by more muffins plus instructions how to get back to Hobart which was useful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyingreen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Great building, huge rooms. But the "sumptuous breakfast" was sadly lacking and although it was a very good place something seemed to be missing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wmgriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at Ormiston House for two nights on the way to Cradle Mountain. We were greeted at the door after a long drive from Hobart by Carol with freshly baked muffins and suggestions on the best places for dinner. The house itself was beautiful but tiring slightly, though this didn't reduce the quality of our stay. We stayed 1 night in the FO Henry room which was large and comfortable but the bed was slightly creaky. The second night we stayed in the Christina room with its bath in the main room. Carol was amazing and definately made this place. I definately recommend this place if you are looking for something a little different.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlinPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

I had booked Ormiston House as a treat after anticipating the long drive from Hobart. I was delighted to receive with confirmation of the booking an email from Carolyn with a guide to the drive, including good recommendations of what to stop and see along the way. On arrival I was expected and welcomed, and treated with gentleness knowing that I had a long drive. Carolyn gave good recommendations about where to have an evening meal in Strahan. I had been worried that the location would be too far out of the centre of town and for the Gordon River cruise ferries, but it was closer than it looked on the map and took 10-15 minutes of leisurely walking to the centre of town. Breakfast was good - although a second croissant would have been welcome. The surprise was the same-day laundry service for A$10 - excellent service and enabled me to have clean clothes for the rest of my trip. On departure Carolyn also gave me new driving instructions on what to see on the way *to* Launceston - so I did not have to read the previous instructions in reverse.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

words cannot describe the thoughtfulness of mike and carol at this wonderful bed and breakfast ..the rooms were beautiful,comfortable,and quiet,the breakfasts excellent for continental,and the atmosphere warm and welcoming.Homemade muffins on our arrival and departure ,we were sorry to leave after only two nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsette68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

This place was truly fantastic. Host Caroline knew how to make us feel at home without being intrusive...and her complimentary berry cake was yummy! We explored the house in awe...amazing history, immaculately presented, great value for money...at $99 for the beautiful Mary Alice room, including a great brekky.... I felt we should be paying more!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetandJimOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.5 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
0.2 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormiston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormiston House

Property: Ormiston House
Address: 1 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ormiston House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ormiston House is a beautiful federation mansion built in 1899 and fully restored to its former glory. Set amongst landscaped gardens on the shore of Macquarie Harbour at Strahan the house is resplendent with 5 en-suited guest rooms, bar and lounge, breakfast room and history room. The tower and widows walk provide views across the harbour and the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine or sit back with a good book. This house is renown for its friendliness, hospitality and welcoming hosts. We feel that Ormiston House is a "must do" experience when you visit Strahan on your Tasmanian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ormiston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormiston House Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing