We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best hosted b and b's ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ormiston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ormiston House
Ranked #2 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“one of the best hosted b and b's ever stayed in”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

words cannot describe the thoughtfulness of mike and carol at this wonderful bed and breakfast ..the rooms were beautiful,comfortable,and quiet,the breakfasts excellent for continental,and the atmosphere warm and welcoming.Homemade muffins on our arrival and departure ,we were sorry to leave after only two nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsette68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    66
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
186
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

This place was truly fantastic. Host Caroline knew how to make us feel at home without being intrusive...and her complimentary berry cake was yummy! We explored the house in awe...amazing history, immaculately presented, great value for money...at $99 for the beautiful Mary Alice room, including a great brekky.... I felt we should be paying more!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetandJimOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Caroline met me at the front door & greeted me like a long lost friend. We felt extremely comfortable as her guest & she placed home made muffins at our door on arrival. We stayed in Jessie's Room. Lots of room for our 2 year old to stretch his legs & the heating was very comfortable. We stayed an extra night & had choc. muffins the second day- again home-made. Caroline included some "extra" muffins for us to take for the trip up to Cradle Mountain. Claw bath was novel but the water pipes made a bit of noise- maybe the cold? If your looking for a "Tasmanian Experience"- stay at Ormiston & picture life in the early 1900's...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonnieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Myself, my husband and my mother stayed here for two nights. We had the Jessie room and mum stayed in the Mary Alice room with the beautiful four poster bed. We were welcomed by Carol so very warmly, just like we were family, it was lovely. The sweet smell of Raspberry cup cakes filled the air as we walked into this grand old home.
They tasted as good as they smelt too. Had a lovely nights sleep.. The only problem we had was with the claw footed bath tub, it was too high for my mother to step into, so that was a bit of a problem for her.
Apart from that, breakfast was good, hot chocolate was yummy and Carol the host was very good, and extemely knowledgeable of Tassie she gave us lots of tips for our travels..All in all a lovely two nights stay, just beware if you are travelling with elderly people the bath isnt very suitable..
Thanks for a lovely two nights...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marea63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My only real complaint about Ormiston House was that I drove straight past the entrance as the signage is discretely in the drive rather than out the front.
This is entirely in keeping with the feel of the property, discrete.
We stayed for 2 nights and were warmly greeted like old friends on arrival, in the grounds, even at the visitor centre in town.
Our room, the F.O. Henry, is tastefully restored with a large 4poster bed. I was expecting kitsch as I'm not that keen on b&b's but was happily disappointed. As a previous reviewer said, it is like visiting your auntie (although unhappily none of mine are this well off).
This was the first place we stayed in Tassie in over 7 days that actually had WiFi readily available. We'd stayed in 3 different 5 star places prior to this, and nothing.
Thanks Carol for a lovely stay it was a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klaatuveradanikto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Austalia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in March 2010. Attrracted to house by the website and the history of the housey. Price is somewhat high for the size of the double room and breakfast that was provided (continental only). Room was clean and the owner did not intrude. Parking on the property was easy and the walk into Strahan is about 10 minutes. Make sure you go up to the roof lookout if you stay! Property was for sale when we stayed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I thought Ormiston House could do with a makeover....everything felt a little tired. After I bought the book, and read it, I realised since the makeover 15 years ago, probably nothing had been done since. The owners - gorgeous couple, who we all fell in love with. They were such entertaining, informative, interesting people, they could have served me sardines on toast, and I would have still been impressed. But we got beautiful service with a smile, homemade Blueberry cake for afternoon tea, lots of TLC, and when we left...we were leaving family. We stayed in the HO Henry Room....4 poster bed, HUGE room, great ensuite. We overlooked roses, rhododendrons, and the ocean. Had a wonderful sleep. Even if we bought the property, at the end of the day you have to stick with the Heritage colour scheme, as it is a Heritage property....deal with it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.5 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
868 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
0.7 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormiston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormiston House

Property: Ormiston House
Address: 1 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ormiston House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ormiston House is a beautiful federation mansion built in 1899 and fully restored to its former glory. Set amongst landscaped gardens on the shore of Macquarie Harbour at Strahan the house is resplendent with 5 en-suited guest rooms, bar and lounge, breakfast room and history room. The tower and widows walk provide views across the harbour and the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine or sit back with a good book. This house is renown for its friendliness, hospitality and welcoming hosts. We feel that Ormiston House is a "must do" experience when you visit Strahan on your Tasmanian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ormiston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormiston House Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing