We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
169
74
27
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
74
27
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed mary alice on arrival old house claw foot bath continental breakfast local history antique furniture lovely historic home communal fridge points of interest great hosts steeped in history ensuite bathroom each evening a wonderful stay each morning
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 284 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Ormiston house is a superb historic property in the beautiful fishing village of Strahan on the West coast of Tasmania. A must for lovers of historic properties. I slept in a four poster bed!! Peter and Jeanette are the consummate hosts!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018

We always book accommodation in historic homes as we love the feel of them and appreciate their history.
Ormiston House is very grand and the breakfast room was just lovely with Bay Windows looking out to the gardens.
Our bedroom was comfortable with a new bathroom done in a style to complement the house.
We never expect houses as old as this to be perfect as the cost of maintaining them is huge. We accept them as they are .We appreciated the lovely antique furniture.
Jeanette and Peter (The Managers) were very helpful and are doing their best to present the house very well.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2018

While a little run down, and coming into winter the gardens were a bit threadbare, the house itself is lovely and cosy and full of history.
Our hosts, Rose and Terry were lovely and full of information.

While not really a child friendly accomodation, they happily supplied us with a cot for our infant. The rooms are full of old funriture, photos and paintings. There is a lot to look at.

Close to the main part of town, can walk there if so inclined. Bed was comfy and a lovely claw foot bath to soak in at night

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms in the whole house. All nice and quiet with private bathrooms
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

With much hesitation we have chosen to not recommended this hotel to other quests. For us we were looking for something a little bit special as a treat and unfortunately we found something different. I would like to make it known that management has changed in the last 18 months and the previous 5star reviews may not be so relevant anymore. As much as we enjoyed the company of our lovely hosts, this b&b just didn't cut it.
We stayed in the room Christina 'for lovers'. Furnished with a double bed we struggled to have a peaceful sleep. We booked this room for the spa and although, clean & a good size, the hot water was not really hot enough to justify staying in for long. I just wouldn't bother, a nice hot shower at Strahan village would have been sufficient. (I have stayed in a basic room at Strahan village on a previous visit) I would also like to make a quick comment that the price is also on the higher end and although we expect to pay a little more being so isolated, I've had possibly better for cheaper in other accommodation nearby.
We did enjoy our lovely modest breakfast and it does have a well stocked 'honestly bar'.
Also, although on the Esplanade, water veiws are non existent.
We did find the garden and rooms lovely and clean

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TeresaS4792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Usually, as avid travellers, we enjoy our stays wherever we are in the world. Whilst we loved Strahan itself, we could never recommend this guest house to anyone. We travelled with a well-recognised travel company which believed that this place was still up to its usual standard but it has changed management in the past year and the place is in need of a good overhaul. Our room was bizarre: one bedroom off another for a couple and having to access the bathroom through the second room. The first room was gloomy and creepy so we opted for the ‘inner room’ - which had a fine view of some ramshackle bits of wood with dying or dead tree ferns blocking out any natural light. The bed was a small double and we did not sleep particularly well. Having an early start the first of our two days there, one of the managers was on breakfast duty but was nowhere to be seen when we first went in. Worse, when he did appear, he did not even have hot water on the boil for us to have a cup of tea before we went out for the day. The exterior of the house needed a lot of paintwork doing and the outside furniture was filthy. We are so sorry to have to write a review like this but the place really was not good.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank GrantLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews