We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B & B, Charming Host”
Review of Ormiston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ormiston House
Ranked #2 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming B & B, Charming Host”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We arrived late afternoon to a warm greeting from Carolyn, an immediate offer of afternoon tea, and a quick overview of local attractions, plus the history of the Heritage house, which even has a small museum and widow's walk on the top level. She had already supplied us with excellent travelling notes to and from Hobart and Launceston, plus insights as to points of interest and eateries along the way.
All the bedrooms are spacious, very clean and decorated in authentic period style and the bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast had a good choice of juices, teas or plunger of coffee, breads and delicious jams.
We found the location to be good, with only a 10min walk to the shops cafes and attractions. This is a great waterfront walk that takes you all the way past the shops and past Risby Cove, right round to the Wilderness railway, about 70 mins return.
We took the Gordon River Heritage cruise recommended, by Carolyn, which was great, and her suggestions for drives to Ocean Beach, the rainforest walk in the People's Park, and dinner at Risby Cove restaurant.
Most enjoyable short stay, made more so by Carolyn's warmth and wealth of information. This even extended to a postcard thank you on our return home!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalBayLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks so much and pleased you had a good stay in Strahan and that you like our little House too. January seemed such a long time ago, but so many visitors between then and now, so apologise for my tardy thank you
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    68
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
190
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale NSW
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were made to feel like long lost relatives. A welcome smile, tour of the B&B and freshly baked muffins in our room. Great location, nicely restored period house and friendly owners who organised a restaurant for us, gave us the heads up on where to park to catch our Gordon River cruise and keep perishables (along with a couple more muffins) in their fridge until we returned from our cruise to travel to our next destination.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMu2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for the great comments and also saying nice things about us. Love the 'job' so not hard to be welcoming.
kind regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Beautiful house that's part of Tasmania's cultural heritage. Great location. Carolyn greeted us and provided valuable help with local knowledge that made our stay much richer - make sure you talk to her about what you'd like to do or should do. The room was amazing - colonial but very clean and well-maintained. We felt ourselves fortunate to have been able to visit (I've been to Strahan before but I can say nothing compares to Ormiston House - worth the drive here for this alone, don't overlook this gem).

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank necrognomicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a response and I've been very lax in not responding. Mike has shown me what to push so I'm catching up on all the messages.
A sincere thanks - even though late
kind regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

we spent 2 nights and enjoyed the whole experience of being in a period house. Carolyn was a lovely hostess who enhanced everything with her wealth of knowledge about strahan and the family. we took the gordon river cruise, walked to the waterfall in the people's park, drove ocean beach and enjoyed a quaint local play the ship that never was all of which is a must when you visit. oh, there is also a widow's peak on the house and a small museum to enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alorc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Pleased you managed to see the Ship That Never Was. A must whilst in Strahan as you appear to agree with.
The achievements of Frederick Ormiston Henry is the reason we came, stayed, restored and told the story and so pleased we did.
thanks again
kind regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Ormiston House is a lovely place to stay. Very much NOT a standard/chain sort of place, but full of character: and that's before Caroline......

Strahan is a great place to visit with lots of things to see and do

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuparJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
I got a little giggle from your comment - great start to my day and thanks. It was great.
pleased you had a good time and thanks for the review
kind regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

we spent two nights in Ormiston house in mid dec 2013. Carolyn our hostess was very welcoming with freshly cooked muffins. the room was massive, great location and we had a lovely dinner at rigby,s. the accommodation was steeped in history and the garden and location were impressive. we did the Gordon Franklin cruise which was great Carolyn organised this for us. I recommend the cruise it very worthwhile we did the gold tickets but I would just go standard

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666Red1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in the Mary Alice room complete with a sumptuous four poster bed. Our hosts Mike and Carolyn, owners since May 1995, were charming and we were made very welcome in their large Victorian/Federation house. Like another reviewer, we enjoyed muffins and tea on our arrival and a copious continental breakfast each morning. I was grateful for the opportunity to have our 'smalls' laundered while we enjoyed a cruise up the Gordon River. A nice touch!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knolly5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.5 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
0.2 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormiston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormiston House

Property: Ormiston House
Address: 1 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ormiston House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ormiston House is a beautiful federation mansion built in 1899 and fully restored to its former glory. Set amongst landscaped gardens on the shore of Macquarie Harbour at Strahan the house is resplendent with 5 en-suited guest rooms, bar and lounge, breakfast room and history room. The tower and widows walk provide views across the harbour and the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine or sit back with a good book. This house is renown for its friendliness, hospitality and welcoming hosts. We feel that Ormiston House is a "must do" experience when you visit Strahan on your Tasmanian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ormiston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormiston House Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing