We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts Poor Facilities” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ormiston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ormiston House
Ranked #2 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hosts Poor Facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Like some other reviewers we also stayed in the Amelia Room. Contrary to other reviews we found this room poor. The bed was extremely uncomfortable to the point we felt we might fall out. The mattress needs desperate replacement. There was nowhere to sit in the room as the bed tales up almost all the space. The bathroom is very large but impractical. The shower over the bath is probably the most unsafe facility we have ever experienced. While we appreciated the grandeur of an old bath with four feet the days of climbing into these with no handrails and plastic curtains are well and truly gone. Plenty of room for a practical shower facility. The hosts Mike and Carolyn are very hospitable but need to reconsider the continental breakfast. One normally expects a cooked breakfast at a decent B & B & Ormiston is not cheap. One small croissant plus a choice of 3 cereals and some toast was a very poor offering. This is a grand house with some great people running it but it needs some significant upgrades. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Amelia Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Well, thank you for your most candid review and we are sorry your experience with us was so profoundly disappointing. We do wish that with such disappointment that you would talk to us before you leave as we felt that you left our house on such good terms. We take all criticism very seriously so may I take the opportunity of replying point for point. The Amelia room is our smallest and most affordable bedroom and yes it does have a large bathroom, something many of our guests are pleasantly surprised with. I am sorry you found the bed uncomfortable however the mattress was renewed earlier this year. Direct bookings such as yours allow you to thoroughly familiarise yourself with the rooms online before purchasing. We do have a room with a walk in shower for those that prefer not to step into a bath but the original baths are a feature that many enjoy and as water is not in short supply many guests enjoy this aspect. We clearly state that a continental breakfast is included (cooked breakfast is available as a small extra cost if required) however 99% of our guests prefer the healthier option which also includes fresh fruit, cooked fruit, yoghurts and a choice of breads as you would know, the coffee is freshly ground beans and we use real tea leaves in our breakfast tea. Once again we are sorry you found this grand old house so disappointing, and our recommendation of restaurant also so displeasing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    64
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
180
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in the Amelia room here and had a wonderful night. Carolyn our host greeted us with a friendly smile and some muffins straight from the oven. The house itself is both interesting and gorgeous. We also found Carolyn's wealth of knowledge very helpful. A very memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinPayne999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We very recently stayed in the smallest room at Ormiston and had a lovely time. I can honestly say we received the best hospitality ever here. We were very warmly greeted by Carlyn at the door when we arrived and given home made muffins for afternoon tea, very nice after our long drive. The room was very nice and the small tv mentioned by others didn't bother us, we didn't even use it. The bathroom was very large and the clwfoot bath was great for a relax. There was tea and coffee facilities in the room with a little jar of cookies. I really can't express how friendly and helpful Carolyn was. She even gave us some tips for our drive to Hobart! I really hope this place keeps going and they are able to keep the house restored because it is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dev45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently spent three nights at Ormiston House and can't fault the welcome or care we received from Mike, one of the owners. The breakfast was wholesome and plentiful, the house very warm and cosy. There were a couple of things that could be improved. The first is the lighting in the F.O. Henry room, apart from the bedside reading lamps there was one very small lamp on the dressing table. The main light was very cold and cast a dingy light in the room. A lamp more in to portion with the size of the room is needed.
The second thing that needs urgent attention is lighting in the driveway. Walking up the driveway at night time, I was suddenly wading through a deep pothole. There are many potholes in the driveway and cannot be seen as there is no lighting in the driveway. Chrissie Evans

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Chrissie, thank you for your review and for staying with us. The driveway has been fixed after waiting for the last month for the man and his machine, so sorry we could not get it done sooner. The box hedge has grown so quickly we hadn't noticed that it was obscuring the lights so I have been out there with the clippers as well and have given it a haircut and added some little solar lights as well. The energy saving globes cause us no end of frustration and we are still working on getting high energy globes to work with the heavy crystal lampshade so Carolyn is back now with some new ones for us to try. Thanks again and trust you enjoyed your Tassie holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time we have stayed in a B&B and picked Ormiston House due to it being a Heritage house. We found Carolyn and Mike were great hosts, the room was great loved the claw foot bath and the room was a great size and had all you needed to be comfy, I have read that people did not like the size of the tv or the bed, the tv was small but it served it's purpose, the same with the bed it fitted the era which was great. The tea/coffee and muffins on arrival were a great idea. The public area up stairs gave you a real insight into the history of the house. We also love the muffins we were given as we left for our next stay, it was a great thought.
The only down side of our stay was not the fault of Mike and Carolyn it was more the timing of our trip as the cruises finished running or did not run during our stay as Strahan shuts down over winter.

We would stay there again anytime, thank you for looking after us so well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you Glenn for your review and for staying with us at Strahan. The boat was operating on alternate days when you stayed so we are sorry you missed out on what is a wonderful day out on the water. We are glad you enjoyed Ormiston House and look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently spent two nights at Ormiston House and we were sad to leave! Mike and Carolyn were great hosts who made us feel at home. We received tea cakes for afternoon tea and the breakfast was excellent. The bar was a great place to meet other guests and spend an hour before dinner. We hope to go back again soon!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarzamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Caro and Mike are the most wonderful hosts. We stayed at Ormiston House with our two children for two nights. We were greeted at the door by Caroline as we arrived and warmly welcomed. After a short talk about the history of the house we were shown to our room along with homemade muffins! The suite was lovely, with two bedrooms and a large bathroom.
There is a small ' museum ' upstairs with local history information.
Breakfasts were great and served with a smile. Caroline's homemade compote was delicious.
We were presented with wrapped cupcakes on our departure for morning tea!
A wonderful two nights!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.5 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
0.2 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormiston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormiston House

Property: Ormiston House
Address: 1 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ormiston House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ormiston House is a beautiful federation mansion built in 1899 and fully restored to its former glory. Set amongst landscaped gardens on the shore of Macquarie Harbour at Strahan the house is resplendent with 5 en-suited guest rooms, bar and lounge, breakfast room and history room. The tower and widows walk provide views across the harbour and the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine or sit back with a good book. This house is renown for its friendliness, hospitality and welcoming hosts. We feel that Ormiston House is a "must do" experience when you visit Strahan on your Tasmanian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ormiston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormiston House Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing