We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”
Review of Ormiston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ormiston House
Ranked #2 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

poor breakfast- very limited items-place is ready to be updated- rather tired interiors-overpriced for what it is-never saw a soul in the bar area for at least an hour whilst we read books displayed. until up popped some strange bloke to ask did we need a drink. so that area needs improvement. got the feeling the place was just coasting along.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    68
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
190
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you are really interested in Stahan and getting recommendations on what to see/do on your trip to and from this beautiful village, this is the place to stay. Carolyn the host of Ormiston House goes above and beyond the call of duty to send you written notes about your trip over to Strahan before you have even set off. As a result, we saw several definitely not to be missed sights such as "The Wall" at Derwent Crossing and Nelson Falls, a ten minute walk off the highway in the middle of spectacular temperatate rainforrest between there and Queenstown. When you get to meet Carolyn, you understand why she is so committed to your visit. She is a very welcoming and friendly host who is only too willing to share her considerable knowledge and love of the area as well as the history of her house - which is a very fine example of Australian Federation style -the best that money could buy. To stay there is a trip back in time to an affluent and comfortable era of large rooms, exquistite details and very comfortable beds. A world away from modern madness, even for only a day or two, which seems fitting in a place like Strahan - a place of yester-year in all the right ways and not to be missed.

Room Tip: Check out the Ormiston House website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were greeted with a genuinely warm welcome by Caroline, compete with tea, coffee and raspberry muffins, freshly made. The attention to detail in this historic home is amazing, from the period furniture right down to the silver tea strainer at the breakfast table. The owners have gone to great lengths to help the traveller enjoy every aspect of thier holiday with travel maps, and lists (with advice) on local places to eat, Caroline even booked us in to one place' "Risby Cove", as she knew it would be booked out any later that day.(and she was right to do so!) We would not hesistate to reccommend this fabulous place, and look forward to going back there again when we have more time.

Room Tip: Any room here would be lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 604peterm604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Ormiston House for our one day in Strahan. It was by sheer chance since we were there on Labor Day and took the only accommodation left. What luck! This house is one of the original Strahan mansions and has been lovingly restored by the current owners. You had the feeling of stepping back into the 19th Century, and the pampering lavished upon ALL guests no matter which room they stayed in felt genuine and delightful. Warm muffins awaited us on our afternoon arrival along with a thoughtful and very helpful list of all the local restaurants and other necessary shops and a local map. Nothing was too much trouble. We had our laundry done and we collected it after our afternoon trip back from the Gordon River. On our departure more muffins awaited us "for your ongoing journey" along with a detailed map of a scenic route to Launceston along with noted travel times. This was probably the most helpful and thoughtful place we stayed on our trip.

In Strahan -- we ate at a local pub at tables outside. Despite a most peculiar and time consuming ordering system, the food was delightful and after a little grumpiness to start, it all turned out well. We went on a cruise up the Gordon River -- not to be missed. Rather spooky in a way. You drift through virgin forest that is very still and the river curls out in front of you leaving a rippling wake and it is as though there is nothing else in the world. There is also a short foray out into the southern ocean which gives one a great perspective of the Strahan harbor. On the way back after a delicious buffet lunch with seemingly endless food - smoked salmon, chicken, various salads and fruit - there is a stop at Sarah Island where a most inventive guide acted out harrowing tales of occupation by convicts. In my opinion take the cheaper fare -- you can pay twice as much to be "upstairs" and have better food and wine, but since you are free to walk anywhere on the boat and the food downstairs is delicious, why bother? I don't care about leather seats and Tasmanian wine with lunch, so it suited us just fine. Downstairs there is a full bar anyway if you so desire. Wonderful trip and shouldn't be missed. We took the Lady Jane II, but I suspect that both companies do a good job.

Jo Irwin

Room Tip: We had the most expensive room (J.O. Henry) because there was nothing else available, but I am sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank printsmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Ormiston House is a large old building full of character and on arrival you will be told stories about the history of the previous owners which is well documented up in the attic museum room. Carolyn is a great host, amenable and helpful with her guides to driving around the area. The home made muffins on arrival and departure are a welcome treat. Rooms are clean and well presented with antique furnishings.....the only thing lacking is a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only stayed one night but we could not have had a more warm welcome or been better looked after in this beautifully cared for and immaculate historic house. We stayed in "Amelia" which is a delightful, cosy room, bright with the late afternoon sun pouring in, and I did appreciate being given fresh milk to make tea or coffee and lovely muffins. Breakfast was delicious but unfortunately we had to rush it as we had to leave quite early.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay @ Ormiston House some 14 or 15 years ago - but only for one night. Because I had enjoyed my stay then, I promised myself that if I returned with hubby, we would stay min. of at least three nights - this we did & it was still an excellent choice. Carolyn & Mike are lovely people & in their element running a B&B...Ormiston House has so much history & character that it is a storey in itself. The property is set in colourful gardens (even in drought conditions), overlooking the water & is a few minutes walk away from the town. We were welcomed with fresh cup-cakes for afternoon tea (a lovely touch). There is a little guest communal fridge for any 'cold' items plus heaps of reading matter should you wish to veg. out for a bit. Nothing is a problem for Carolyn or Mike - they are only too happy to assist you with suggestions & bookings - it really shows that they love what they do. And the continental breakfasts were to die for - all that lovely fruit...& the homemade jams - just like Mum used to make. We departed with a touch of regret, but with two delicious muffins. A truely lovely spot - wont hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Allthe rooms have their own character
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.5 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
0.2 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormiston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormiston House

Property: Ormiston House
Address: 1 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ormiston House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ormiston House is a beautiful federation mansion built in 1899 and fully restored to its former glory. Set amongst landscaped gardens on the shore of Macquarie Harbour at Strahan the house is resplendent with 5 en-suited guest rooms, bar and lounge, breakfast room and history room. The tower and widows walk provide views across the harbour and the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine or sit back with a good book. This house is renown for its friendliness, hospitality and welcoming hosts. We feel that Ormiston House is a "must do" experience when you visit Strahan on your Tasmanian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ormiston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormiston House Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing