We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ormiston House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Motel Strahan(Strahan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Risby Cove(Strahan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Empire Hotel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
West Coaster Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Silver Hills Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
167
72
26
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
72
26
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedb bmary aliceon arrivalold housecontinental breakfastwidow's walkfreshly baked croissantso henrywidows walkold world charmlocal historyantique furnitureold damecommunal fridgedinner reservationswarm muffins
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 279 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A warm welcoming atmosphere characterises every aspect of Ormiston House with its graceful charm and equally charming host, Carolyn. Attention to detail was apparent in every aspect of our stay: from the restoration of the house, the furnishings and those "little extras" (like the muffins!) We had a lovely time in Strahan and could now consider no where else to stay when next we return. And we will return!_

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

It is Sunday, so guests are all sleeping in so whilst waiting for everyone to come down for breakfast I thought I'd answer emails and what a lovely way to start the day - reading you kind words.
It is our pleasure and so pleased that you like our House. Certainly worth restoring the building and the stories and we love sharing both.
Strahan is a pretty little town, the start point for amazing adventures in our region and yes, we'd love to welcome you again because I'm sure that you still have 'to dos' on your list.
Thank you again
kind regards
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We turned up without a reservation on the hope we would be able to stay at this stunning home we had read about and wow were we greeted with the 5 star treatment. Nothing was too much trouble for our fabulous host Carolyn. Our room was sensational, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Everything was perfect and Carolyn thinks of everthing to make your stay just perfect. We extended our stay as we were enjoying our time so much.
On the day we had to leave we enjoyed a lovely breakfast with freshly cooked croissants and we were farewelled by our hosts with home cooked biscuits for our journey and an Indepth map to find our way. Ormiston house is not a business for Carolyn and Mike it is a passion. They have lovingly restored this home and every detail is perfect. We can't wait to return and stay again one day soon.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bzinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Yes, the chocolate biscuits are a winner all the time.
Thank you for taking the time to write and thanks for the great words.
You are right, Mike and I do love our 'job' and the best part is sharing our house and all the stories that we have gathered over the years living in Strahan. It is the character and charm that attracted us in the first place and that still is the attraction for our guests.
Glad you liked the goodies too.
Thank you again
cheers
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Two nights were not enough in the beautiful F O Henry room. From Carolyn's warm welcome and Mike's afternoon tea on our second day we felt totally spoilt. Don't miss Carolyn's winter fruit compote at breakfast. Felt like an English Country House experience overall. We'll be returning in 2013.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndieMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words and so pleased you enjoyed my fruit compote. I seem to be making more and more each morning as its popularity increases - and it's good for you too.
An English Country House experience is just the best compliment as this is just the image that we'd like to feel we have created.
See you next year and I'll have the compote and muffins ready.
cheers
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Ormiston House. Very friendly hostess and home baked muffins on arrival... who could ask for more? Carolyn was very helpful with booking our cruise and providing local information. Our room was very large and clean, complete with a four poster bed! Breakfast was a real treat, as was the little museum in the attic which provided a fascinating history to this grand old house. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rclaremon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

We are pleased that you found our museum and the great history stories of both Frederick Ormiston Henry, Strahan and the region, interesting. It was the story that encouraged us to buy the house and restore and we love to see guests enjoying the result.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and very happy that you come to stay with us and there is nothing like muffins and a 'cuppa' after a drive through the wilderness.
cheers
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have stayed here before and chose our "old" room for this stay. We chose to come back because the hosts are friendly, the room comfortable, the afternoon teas tasty and the location central. Staying in winter time also reduces the price! We were not disappointed. Each day when we arrived back from our travel, Carolyn greeted us with freshly baked muffins (the marmalade ones were really good). Take up Mike's offer for a pre-dinner drink or two in the bar area - good quality wine and a relaxed environment so much better (and cheaper) than the local hotel. It's worth listening to stories about the history of the house too. If you have a car, do the drive out to Macquarie Heads. The Gordon RIver cruise was worth it (we had been before but still enjoyed the views). Wifi worked well in the bedroom and we slept comfortably. We were not disappointed that we had chosen to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

It was great to see you both returning to this magical part of Tasmania. I took your advice and now make marmalade muffins quite regularly and get the same response, so thanks.
Thank you for your review about your stay with us and that you are encouraging other visitors to cruise the Gordon river and, my favourite, drive out to Macquarie Heads and Ocean Beach.
We have nice accommodation, but visits to Strahan and the West Coast are all about what to do and see.
Hope to see you for a third visit.
cheers
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews