We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced for what you get - and the worst beds around” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gordon Gateway
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get - and the worst beds around”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

We arrived in Strahan to find our arranged accommodation had been double booked, so were left without much time to research some alternatives.

Gordon Gateway was recommended at the visitors centre as being of a similar standard as what we had booked, but they could not have been more wrong. Whilst we paid the same price as where we thought we would stay ($220) per night, instead of the modern, contemporary self contained apartment , we ended up in a dated, overpriced, flowery A frame. The $220 per night (in the middle of winter) got us just the A frame, we even had to pay $2 for laundry powder plus the $2 per machine to do some washing.

Whilst it was generally clean, and the owners very friendly, it was dated - something out of the late 80s. Too many flowers!!!

The settee in the lounge was terrible - you sunk down in it and we thought it was the most uncomfortable thing - until we went to bed. It was terrible, neither of us got a good nights sleep, it was small (come on owners put in decent sized beds) and sunk in the middle - just how many years old was this bed.

Great views of the town - but not a good location when you consider almost all the other accommodation is central, or just on the edge of Strahan town centre.

It was no surprise that there was only one other booking whilst we were there. Dont be fooled by the brochure - the rooms are very dated and not modern at all

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

This was the one place I was really looking forward to staying in, as we spent more money on it and it really did look beautiful on the website.
We were disappointed to arrive and not even be acknowledged at reception, it took the five minutes to get to us and even then it was less than friendly.
The A- frame studio itself was quite nice, until we got into bed!
It had to be the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept in, it was to soft and we constantly woke up, not the sort of bed you would expect in a 4 star accommodation.
We won't ever be going back again.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The awful soft beds
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank golfinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strahan hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2007

This is not a good deal. The studio room we stayed in was $180 (no breakfast). It was just like any other 3* motel room, but witihout air conditioning (only a heater), the smallest TV I have ever seen in a motel (17"), a tiny pokey bathroom and antiquated furniture. The sort of place you would not be happy to pay $80 for in just about any other part of Australia.

Sure, it had a good view over Strahan, but that's about all.

Not recommended.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Just about everything else
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank marigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2006

We opted for a studio room and found it very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The views are stunning and it is far quieter than being in the town. Only a 5 mins drive down the hill and you are in the centre. We didn't walk as it went dark fairly early and the road was unlit. Very helpful staff who recommended local restaurants and trips and even phoned to make bookings for us.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2005

We chose the studio room at Gordon Gateway as a reasonably cheap alternative to some other places. It's a great location - it is apart from most of the other accommodation, but only about a 15 minute walk from the central street - and a very enjoyable walk one at that. The view you get from the hilltop is very worthwhile and we enjoyed a couple of quiet dinners and drinks outside on the property lawns overlooking the river. We thought it a shame that the room did not have a door and verandah opening out onto those lawns and view, as it quite easily could have been designed that way.

The room itself was basic but bright, clean and comfortable enough (considering it was a double bed) with a useful self contained kitchen and appliances.(You are expected to wash up after yourself - as is fairly typical). The staff were not overly friendly, but helpful enough.

The property included a tiny children's playground and pet goats/cat, and the small gardens surrounding the buildings were pleasant.

We enjoyed our stay, and would possibly come again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AccommodationQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.4 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crays Accommodation
The Crays Accommodation
#2 of 21 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Strahan Holiday Retreat
Strahan Holiday Retreat
#7 of 21 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Gateway

Property: Gordon Gateway
Address: Grining St | off The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordon Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gordon Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Gateway Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing