We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth paying a visit”
Review of Gordon Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gordon Gateway
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed at this place for three nights and it was great. Initially, when i booked for the alexander pearce suite, I wondered what services I would get. But, it was worth every cents. With the beautiful view, the BBQ and no one to bother you.. a peaceful stay at the end.. Holiday well spent.

Room Tip: @79 per night, I would advice the Alexander Pearce suite.. it has got the basic amenities to prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhaskar83C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 86 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Despite spending 2 nights here in room #8, we didn't see or hear anybody else, although we did see another car on the 1st night. The key to our unit was in an envelope taped to the unattended reception door. So with no one else around, the sleep quality was excellent. Especially considering the bed was soooo comfortable.
It is a large, well equipped room with everything you'd need for a long comfortable stay in Strachan. Gordon Gateway is a number of buildings situated on the Southern hill, looking north over the Strachan Harbour.
The gardens could do with some maintenance, but that would be my ONLY criticism.
Now the really good bit. The 2 nights we spent here cost us less than one night anywhere else on our Tassie trip. $59 per night ($118 total) for the room pictured. Sure enough, its probably not the best room I've ever stayed in but this price makes me seriously wonder about that.
Would we stay here again? Definitely.....maybe for a week next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMoruya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stopped for two nights in Strahan At Gordon Gateway, weather was very cold & it was a pleasure to find our room so clean & warm. We could hear the sleet on the windows through the night but we were in total comfort. The view of Strahan from our room was excellent. It is not far from the Strahan Tavern which had good meals at reasonable prices. I would not hesitate to stop here again. Recommend to all & it was the cheapest & cleanest accommodation in our week in Tasmania.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

although the weather was wild and windy, the room had a great view, and a very comfortable bed, with a warm doona, and good pillows and an oil heater. Arrangements went smoothly. We didn't mind there being no-one there and keys were left for us. We wanted a room with a view in Strahan and this was by far the best value in our price bracket - all the places down in the village were too expensive for us. we booked it through wotif. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived around 5pm on 17/6/2013, this was booked and paid at Tasmanian Travel & Info Centre Hobart at discounted rate of $79 as it is usually $130 per day, thank goodness!! There was no person at reception but they kindly put keys in envelope on window, by the way it was quite dark and it was not noticed immediately. On entering the room there was a distinct smell of dust which made me investigate and took pictures which are attached. The queen size bed had only a quilt on it (it smelt like it needed to be dry cleaned), totally inadequate considering it was winter...luckily there was a spare single doona on a shelf. The sheets were old and grey (once white I expect), not fresh smelling. The heater was very noisy and needs to be replaced, so we turned it off. Really needed a good heater as it was around 0 deg in the morning and we needed to leave at 7.45am to go on a cruise on Gordon River which was a highlight of staying in Strahan which is a lovely little place. I spoke to a couple of locals who told me that there was a young woman managing(??) the complex and in my opinion should at least be there when customers leave in the morning. Please make sure there is adequate bedding for queen bed as it is not safe to leave electric blanket on. I hope the owners of the complex actually read the reviews as it would help with business. Only positive about the room was the view in the morning, curtains really also need to be cleaned.

Room Tip: It was very quiet as we felt we were the only people staying there. There was a skinny hungry ginge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

During our 2 nights' stay here we were only able to see somebody at the reception on the last day - during our departure, to return the keys and sort out the bills. The place seemed unmanned most of the time and it was indeed great if one just wants to get some sleep and don't want to talk to any strangers. On arrival we were to get our keys in an envelope taped to the door of the deserted reception. I thought perhaps we arrived too late. That didn't really matter to us although it would definitely be great to have somebody greet us on arrival and gave us a brief introduction to the area. The next day when we returned from our day of sightseeing, many more envelopes with keys were stuck to the locked reception door... Quite an interesting sight if there was no security issues. For the bill, they already charged to the credit card I provided during booking before seeing me so there was no option of paying in cash.

The room has seen its better days. Everything worked, though. Carpets didn't look or feel very clean, the same went for the bed covers. Floor-to-ceiling windows looked out to the lawns. Would be good if they installed a door for guests to get to the porch outside.

The room came with a kichenette for self-catering. No breakfast service was available at the premise. The good thing about the place was a self-operated laundry was on site which saved us some trouble.

It took about 5-10 minutes to drive to town centre which was acceptable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank life_on_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here in March for 2 nights in a studio room.
Gordon Gateway has beautiful veiws over the township and water.
The room was clean and comfortable & the reception and cleaning staff were polite and helpful.
We paid $130 a night for our studio which came with water veiws, which i found great value, as a standard room (no veiws) at the Strahan Village was upwards of $180 per night!!
The rooms may need updating in the next few years, but the price is reasonable for what the rooms are.
We will definatly come back again.
thankyou for a great stay!

Room Tip: Large carpark. reception usually closes between 4-5pm, so make sure any questions/extras is organis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1The_Travel_Bug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.4 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Gateway

Address: Grining St | off The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $70 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordon Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gordon Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Gateway Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing