We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Guest House” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franklin Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Franklin Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Guest House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The managers were welcoming and helpful at the Franklin. They arranged our trip on the Gordon River World Heritage Cruise and recommended places to eat in Strahan. The guest house is a b&b and we were not expecting to eat there in the evening, although we had read that meals had been available in the past.

Breakfasts were simple but tasty. Our bedroom was very comfortable and of a good size. It is an easy walk from the Franklin to the town centre and there are plenty of places to eat. The closest is the Risby Cove which is just over the road. The guest house has private parking and the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    63
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
174
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This guest house is in a good location but the rooms are small and there does not appear to be air conditioning in the rooms. Breakfast is ok but the restaurant was not open when we visited in peak season. Don't think if stay here again despite the good location ( about 1km from the township)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZELwickL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We booked the two night package including a World Heritage Cruise on the Gordon River and were impressed with the whole experience. Franklin Manor was excellent, rooms well presented and breakfast included. The cruise was extremely good. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked the stay via the web and weren't sure what to expect. We stayed two nights and would have loved to have stayed longer to fully appreciate the accommodation and Strahan in general. The B&B is a pleasant, short ten minute stroll from the small town centre along the esplanade. The B&B has a very English feel about it, well-furnished with a number of rooms to relax in besides the bedroom. The breakfast was very good and we loved looking over the pretty garden. We would return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lejog2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful spot! A treasure! We stayed for two nights instead of 1. The best b&b I've ever stayed in.

The house was built in 1888 and I felt like I'm in a wrong century. Such a lively place. A sitting room downstairs with open fire and a glass of wine.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarlandLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. I believe they can accommodate up to approx. 30 guests a night. It is a beautiful old homestead with an amazing history set amongst beautiful gardens and close to all amenities. Rooms are comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The continental breakfast in the morning is excellent. Evening meals are no longer served but there are plenty of places around town to dine out at. There is a self help bar run on an honour system for those seeking a cleansing ale or a glass of wine. There are a number of open fire places around with adjoining lounges which would be very comfortable on cold days.

A great place to stay for a few days with reasonable rates in comparison to some of the establishments around town and close to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms are located on the ground and first floors. For those with walking issues downstairs would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed one night in this beautiful old place. The room was very comfortable with a big king size bed. There were other rooms in the manor to just sit down and relax. We had a lovely continental breakfast that viewed the garden. The price was very reasonable and the service was wonderful. I would come back here again

Room Tip: All rooms would be great as the manor has gardens all around to look at out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.4 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
0.8 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Manor

Property: Franklin Manor
Address: 75 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklin Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmth and hospitality blends with contemporary elegance at Franklin Manor.This beautifully restored historic property, in the village of Strahan, sits at the edge of south-west Tasmania’s World Heritage Wilderness Area.At Franklin Manor, take a well-earned break in a standard queen room, or manor suite. Enjoy your breakfast in our dining room or on the porch overlooking the lush gardens.Immerse yourself in our island’s incomparable wilderness. Our staff can help you to choose an unforgettable Tasmanian experience, from a tranquil Gordon River cruise or scenic wilderness flight, to guided kayaking, bushwalking or four-wheel drive tours and the inspiring West Coast Wilderness Railway. You’ll return to the Manor comforts feeling invigorated and refreshed.After a day’s exploration, relax with a drink by the open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Franklin Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Manor Hotel Strahan
Franklin Manor Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing