We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great great”

Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Strahan
Price range: $11 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rebuilt in 1936, Hamer's captures the old-world charm of this mining port turned fishing village, where the walls almost speak to you of bygone eras. Settle back by the open log fire with the locals for a local ale or select from a range of Tasmanian wines. The bistro offers steaks, seafood, chicken, pasta and daily seasonal specials. A comprehensive wine list is also available. Hamer's Hotel is open for lunch and dinner everyday of the year except Christmas Day.
Altona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great great great”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A pub on the harbour, we had a six year old with us, we were welcomed in the friendliest way. The food was excellent, large portions and so so tasty, the staff were so friendly. I highly recommend a visit and a meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    293
    158
    61
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“perfect winter fire.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great position and great food. Service was also excellent. We were seated next to the fire which was very cosy. For a pub we were impressed. Not a huge menu and not typical pub prices but we were suitably happy and would return. There is not a lot of choice in winter in Strahan yet their standard was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
“Amazing river views, great atmosphere, tasty food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed in Strahan for 3 days the first night we went to Hamers Grill. My husband ordered the smoked pork ribs with Memphis BBQ sauce, He ordered it 2 nights in a row. I had the local trout and was cooked perfect. Great place to dine, nice Tasmanian wines, warm fireplace to set the atmosphere and friendly staff. I will defiantly be returning and would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodLovers m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My Partner and I went to this place because nothing was open to purchase any groceries, the only place that was open after 7pm was this resturant. Fortunately for us the food was Excellent! It tasted great, was a descent size and the price was standard. Overall well worth it! The service was friendly, and we recieved our meals very quickly. The open fire created a beautiful atmoshere!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Little24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor food, great location.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

the location and atmosphere were great. The food was barely average, my steak was like leather. To top it off we were served warm flat beer. It was probably a once off but we were charged for it anyway. More likely to go somewhere else like risby cove next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D69M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing