We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“over cooked over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish Cafe on The Wharf - CLOSED

Fish Cafe on The Wharf
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Not much info online about this restaurant but phone number seems to be -(03) 6471 4332
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“over cooked over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We made the mistake of trying this takeaway found the service very rude and should have turned around and headed down the road it amazing how this still goes on in this day and age the fish n chips as per earlier reviews could find there way into tasmanians worse top ten and sit at number one with out trying to hard imported Asian fish fillets adds to the disappointment of the experience

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    14
    11
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The worst value meal we have had in Tasmania.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We ordered 2 grilled flathead fillets, chips and salad. Each flathead fillet was actually the size of a sardine (I am not kidding) and also badly cooked. The chips were soggy and what we received for 2 of us was less than one usual helping!
Some locals told us this place is only open from time to time which might explain why it was a complete rip off!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Admittedly it was a busy night, but the food was terrible. No plates, just a cardboard box and plastic cutlery, but luckily they did provide tables and chairs. Local fish? I think not. I had grilled flathead, my husband blue-eye cod. mine was totally overcooked and inedible, but I shared the blue-eye cod. What a waste in such a wonderful position.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No Highchairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our meal was great and reasonably priced and they were open early for tea which was great with 3 young children. The only downside was there was no high chair which makes it quite difficult with a 18 month old. Other than that it was lovely.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst fish and chips”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was so disappointing!!! Chewy not even fresh (frozen) fish and when questioned where it came from the staff said the mainland!!!! There is a sign says fresh Tasmanian seafood!!!! Absolutely terrible - never again!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryanne82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Cafe on The Wharf also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing