We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disorganised disappointment”
Review of Wild Rivers Jet - CLOSED

Wild Rivers Jet
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Option 150 Minute King River Jet Boat.View the rain-forested gorges of the King River.View the restored Abt railway formation.View stands of Huon Pine trees.Travel in safety and comfort aboard our exciting Hi-performance jet boatOption 2All the above plus a visit to the Teepookana Plateau.Short drive to where we spend half an hour strolling through Huon Pine forest.Superb views from a lofty viewing tower.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disorganised disappointment”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Booked ahead for 10am jet boat,only to arrive, shop closed, drove for hours to get there.Next tour in 1hr waited 1hr.20min.Finally guy arrives ,no hellos or sorry im late just barged passed us to bring out his mechanise ,10 min later,no 11am cruise today next one at 1pm .What a waste of time.. came over from mainland especially. Totally disorganised one man show.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chatterbox_2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildrj, Owner at Wild Rivers Jet, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
You are correct- on that day I was trying to operate alone due to circumstances beyond my control. You would be aware of the bushfire emergency being experienced at the time. On the day, we honoured all forward bookings running limited departures, but unfortunately we were unable to carry several people who were not booked in advance. I spent quite a bit of time apologising for the situation, and if I missed you, I apologise now. Most people were understanding and sympathetic of the situation I found myself in, but if you had traveled specially from the mainland, I can understand your frustration. I hope this did not detract from your experience in our lovely area, and that some day you will be able to enjoy a tour aboard Wild Rivers Jet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An exciting way to experience a West Coast River”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The King River is a river in the process of regenerating itself after a century of being heavily contaminated with tailings from the Copper mine of Queenstown. There are many interesting sights to be seen during the Wild Rivers Jetboat ride from Strahan to Teepookana, especially the rain forest and the strangely coloured shoreline in places.
We took this ride some years ago, but it is still fresh in our memory for it's quality and entertainment value. Neither of us had ridden in a jet boat before, and we were amazed at the incredible sensation of speed, and the competent way in which the operator steered it.
He threw in quite a few 360 deg spins and other manoeuvres which had you holding on tight, while everything still felt nice and safe - just exciting!
The driver has a good working knowledge of the area, and allowed us plenty of time to take photographs. At Teepookana, the furthest point of the trip, you are shown photos of the town as it was around 1900, and it is amazing to see the way the rainforest has reclaimed everything again, leaving scarcely a trace of settlement - apart from the newly rebuilt station.
We'd recommend this ride for those intrepid enough to enjoy jetboats, otherwise a Gordon River Cruise might be more your style. Better still, do both!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank josaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildrj, Owner at Wild Rivers Jet, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.
Just an update that may interest you- there were numerous cormorants at the King River this spring- apparently there are fish returning to the river.
Good sign that the river is recovering well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must do in Strahan”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our entire Tassie holiday. Our driver, Andrew was a wealth of information on the river and its history, stopping at one stage on the river bank to show us old photos of the area. Lots of 360 spins and playing chicken with the river bank were great, and it still felt very safe and controlled. Kids absolutely loved it. Took the camera and it stayed dry. HEAPS of fun. Highly recommended. A+

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildrj, Owner at Wild Rivers Jet, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to review your trip with us. I'm very pleased you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallan, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than the cruises for anyone who loves the outdoors.”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Reasonably priced for just under an hour. The sights were amazing and the driver very informative. We were lucky enough to have a 'private tour' although this incurred a $9.50 per head surcharge as no one else had booked in. Driver was great In that he waited for photos to be taken before heading off onthe next leg. Awesome fun doing the 360 spins and unlike your normal jet boat ride we stayed dry. Great for those who like a bit of speed and adventure.

Helpful?
1 Thank B_and_D_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildrj, Owner at Wild Rivers Jet, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
It was a pleasure to show you our special little piece of the world. Pleased you enjoyed it and thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach waters
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good fun but overpriced”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

It cost $199 for this 42 min. (advertised as 50mins) trip in the Jet Boat for our family . With 2 families onboard , $400 for 42mins was good business for the operator. Kids enjoyed the doughnuts, the driver was friendly and the information was interesting but I think both families thought it was overpriced. No food or extras provided.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank mallibull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildrj, Owner at Wild Rivers Jet, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Maybe we should advertise the trip as 26 kilometers instead of 50 minutes. I timed several runs after reading this review and all were actually over 50 minutes. It would be unusual to be less, and the quoted 42 minutes duration is a mystery. We certainly cover the same distance on every trip. I have also done a comparison on all Australian jet boat operations' fare structures, and apart from a couple of Gold Coast operators in different circumstances, we compare extremely favorably.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Rivers Jet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing