We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strahan Holiday Retreat
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 3, 2013

New Years eve rush - ended up in a 1 bed cabin with my friend 2 cabins away. The cabin in between us housed what we thought must be a Rhino, such were the heavy footfalls and doors banging. So the sound carries....just so you know.

Staff were pleasant enough and it was more than satisfactory for a 'drop your gear and go' place to stay. Would stay again, but won't leave things to the last minute and will aim to get a two bed cabin.

Room Tip: Book in early during busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatWomanAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 325 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in a family cabin for a night.
Good and clean accommodation.
We checked in at 9:30PM. The reception was closed at that time, but they put the key in an envelope and displayed instructions about the keys, which was helpful.
The cabin has table fans, kitchenette and en suite. It is next to a small food shop and the local IGA was a quick 5 minutes’ drive.
We were on Vodafone network and there is no coverage. The holiday park has a free Wi-Fi for guests, but looks like it was overloaded and we couldn’t connect.
If travelling from long, into night, I would recommend carrying some food along for that night’s dinner.
Wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA11C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have rented an 'executive cabin' as all alternatives were fully booked in Strahan's busy holiday season. Compared to a motel it has all that you need and probably more; on site laundry and take away and bottle shop close by.
The cabins are clean, comfortable and suitably equipped, with no issues as a 3.5 star alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FFadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We found Anchor Down cottages very clean and comfortable, with some lovely homely touches. As it was close to Xmas there were also a few chrissy decorations in cottage :-) Max and Annie were wonderful hosts and we highly recommend for families. We stayed 7th December 2012. We will stay there again on our next visit :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 56Maureen1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

stayed here one night on our travels in our campervan. Little confusing as there are 2 sites - one on the beach side of the road the other on the town side of the road but you go to the 1 reception office which is next to the bottle shop, and take away which does pizza and the ususal take away fare.We were given a site on the town side, it is very cramped and would be a challenge for someone with a large caravan to manouver in, glad we had a campervan. Amenities on the site were a small building with 2 combined toilet showers and another building with another 2 combined toilet showers and a disabled toilet ,this must be a nightmare when the park is full. The campers kitchen is very small and there is no door to keep out wind, there is also a BBQ. We were told that there is a swmall playground on the beach side site, this could be a problem if you have small children as they would ahve to cross a road, 5mins walk is a little beach to play on and a picnic area with BBQ's. Nice place but needs a few more amenities and some how made to feel a bit more open and not living in each others pockets.

Room Tip: try to get a site on the beach side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here one night on our trip around Tasmania. Cabin well appointed, 2 bedrooms. Comfortable bed, clean. A little on the dark side and didn't help with the weather and it was very close to the trees which might in nice in the summer but not the day we were there. Mollys Cafe next door reasonable priced basic meals. A$110.00 for cabin 17, 2 adults. Reception smelt of smoke which isn't nice for non smoker, staff OK.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Strahan Holiday Park was great. We were travelling in a campervan & had a powered site. Of all the parks we stayed at, this one had the best bathrooms. Little rooms with heat lights, exhaust fan, toilet in the room as well as separate ones in the same block - was so nice & warm! There are also some BBQ's around as well as some picnic tables.
The staff were really lovely & very easy to find. And very quiet, no road noise at all!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talise_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
928 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strahan Beach Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Strahan Villas
Driftwood Strahan Villas
#6 of 21 in Strahan
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sharonlee Strahan Villas
Sharonlee Strahan Villas
#10 of 21 in Strahan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Holiday Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Holiday Retreat

Address: 8-10 Innes St West, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Price Range: $105 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strahan Holiday Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strahan Holiday Retreat is situated on 11 acres of tall trees and Platypus streams. Perfect for families or large groups. There is an eclectic mix of cottages and cabins that range from Studios to four bedrooms homes. Most accommodation is larger than average with room to move and fully equipped with everything you need for an overnight stay or longer. Serviced and un-serviced sites offer camp kitchens and family bathrooms. There is a Cafe and shop on-site and a tour desk and activity hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Strahan Holiday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Holiday Retreat Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing