We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth every penny. Unforgettable experience. ”

Strahan Seaplanes and Helicopters
Attraction details
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth every penny. Unforgettable experience. ”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Our pilot Ben was very impressive. He was very personable. He had a great knowledge of the area but didn't overwhelm us with constant chatter. We weren't rushed. Especially when we landed at St John's Falls. Loved every minute of it. Forget the 5 hour cruise. You will see a lot more by seaplane.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mtrevorrow53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    3
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“What an experience.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife had surprised me with this flight just after getting off the World Heritage Cruise and we left on the flight at around 5pm. I can't begin to say how good it was to fly over the areas we had just see by boat. The crew were fantastic and the flight was the highlight of my trip. The highest of recommendations for this.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank glenmoss11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seaplanes I need one”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had great experience with confident knowledgable pilot (Ben) . Take off from beautiful Gordon river amazing, views of Hells Gates , Macquarie Harbour and the Gordon my highlight. Top memories of Tassie

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MalT006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just phenomenal”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Although we were initially hesitant of taking the seaplane (because of the cost), we thought we have flown half way round the world, we would regret it if we didn't go for it. It was, by far, the best experience we had on Tasmania and the sights of the wilderness when we flew inland will be the memories that we will treasure for ever. As previous reviewers have noted the plane with just four of us and the excellent pilot flew over Macquarie Harbour and then flew over the Gordon and Franklin Rivers, and actually landing on the river. That was such fun, especially the take off and the banking round the bends of the river with the forest on either side. It was a lifetime experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank whosaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overwhelming: the experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

A glorious summers day provided a perfect opportunity for experiencing the breathtaking views of Macquarie Harbour and the Gordon and Franklin Rivers. The pilot's commentary was first rate, as was the experience of landing on the Gordon River for a short work to St Johns Falls. The cost may seem high ($225 per head), but the experience is well worth it. Many thanks to those that fought, and won, the battle to save these rivers from a huge dam project that the moronic Tasmanian Government proposed in the early 1980s. The wilderness is there for all to enjoy for the foreseeable future.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ADO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strahan Seaplanes and Helicopters also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing