We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Franklin Manor(Strahan)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Strahan(Strahan)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Crays Accommodation(Strahan)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Risby Cove(Strahan)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
170
59
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
59
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate toiletboard gamesthe kitchenown mealsgreat place to stayhome away from homespacious apartmentlocal eaterieswashing facilitiesminute strollguest laundrythe main streetbbq areaiga supermarketwalking distancewharf areawasher and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 234 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Stayed here with family and had 3 units for 3 nights. The units were spotlessly clean, had everything you could ever think of needing, and had plenty of space to spread out. Location is so central with an excellent supermarket 2 minutes walk up the road and a short walk to Strahan Restaurants and boat cruises. The hosts are so friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to others and I would stay again next time I am in Strahan. Excellent apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Devil-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at castaway apartments based on the reviews written on trip advisor. From the moment we arrived, the owner was kind, friendly and helpful with tourist recommendations in the area. Castaway Holiday Apartments in Strahan, provided us with spotlessly clean, affordable and large two bedroom self-contained apartment that was a 5-minute walk to the town centre and harbour cruises. This was a great place for us to stay, relax and explore this beautiful area. I highly recommend Castaway Apts!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank philip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

What a delight to walk into a clean cottage with a well equipped kitchen, large bathroom with separate toilet & plenty lounge seating for 4 adults. Lovely outdoor BBQ area. Conveniently located to IGA & a short though little steep walk to the waterfront where restaurants, cafes & Gordon River cruise pickup points are.
Welcoming & informative reception. We totally enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Guts88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here in Strahan, and the apartment and surroundings met with your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the rooms and our warm welcome extended to our guests on arrival, even down to advising on local activities and eateries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights. Check-in was painless. Location was quite good - about 100m from the town's modest supermarket and one street back from the pub & wharf area. Because of the rain, we always drove down into town, but parking was easy (pay parking down there, around $1/hr or $5/day).

The apartment we were in was a 2BR one and was very roomy - we only used one bedroom but the extra room was a good place to leave bags. The kitchen was very useful and we made dinner in the unit one night. The bed was comfortable.

We made use of the separate laundry facilities (washing machine had a 30 minute fast wash setting & a dryer). $3 ea. requested with an honesty box. There was an airer in the unit which we made use of for quick-dry clothes.

We had a maintenance issue while we were there. When we brought it to their attention it was dealt with promptly.

Check-out was painless.

Overall, a comfortable stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. Your review was a great insight about the apartments,and Strahan in general, with lots of information for fellow traveller's. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation, and hopefully we will see you at some stage in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018

We had a wonderful time here and was sad we had to move on. The unit was well equipped and comfortable. The owners were very friendly and booked a tour for us. Loved here and would recommend for families as well as couples

Room Tip: Would choose unit 3 or 4 as these were up the back
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynne098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. What a wonderful recommendation for the apartments and for Strahan in general; we appreciate your kind comments. It was our pleasure to book the tour for you, and we know you would have had a wonderful day out on the Macquarie harbour, especially the guided tour on Sarah Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews