We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large but Cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaway Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We liked our large but cosy two bedroom apartment with well equipped kitchen and comfortable furnishings. Walkable distance to town and harbour but return involves uphill portion which may be a bit challenging for those who are less mobile but no problem with car. Hosts are friendly and helpful. Good range of complimentary movie DVDs available from office for use during stay if you so desire.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntipodeanGenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you took advantage of the well equipped kitchen in the apartment and complimentary DVD selection. Hope you enjoyed your trip to Tasmania, and especially the wonderful West Coast with its stunning scenery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 216 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

We received a warm welcome on arrival and were given a good deal of information on where everything is in Strahan. Our apartment was everything and has everything you would want for a good holiday. The unit was clean and comfortable and we could not fault anything. It is only a short walk to the jetty's and shops but due to rather wet weather we drove down. .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased the apartment catered for all your needs, we do try to think of everything guests would need during a short stay in Strahan. We appreciate your comments and time taken to send through review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We really liked this motel style apartment complex. Simple, homely and meticulously maintained is is a pleasant place to spend time in when in Strahan. Plenty of space, comfortable beds and lounge furniture and a kitchen equipped with microwave, toaster, jug, fridge etc. Bathrooms are big and clean. Owners are friendly and offer good service. Easy walking distance into Strahan town and docks. A supermarket is close by.
FOR:
Good location is quiet yet close to town
Close to other amenities
Very clean and well maintained.
Plenty of room
AGAINST:
We would have like to see a couple of hotplates and saucepans etc. in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taringha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. Lots of positive and clinical feedback; but we are a little confused by your comments about hotplates and saucepans in the kitchen. The kitchens all have three saucepans, non-stick frypan and cassarole saucepan, plus a full size cooker. Having said that we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here in Strahan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The apartment had everything we needed for our short stay, it was spotlessly clean and in good order. The owners were friendly and welcoming with lots of local information. Laundry facilities and wi-fi were available for nominal fees, $2 for laundry and $5 for wi-fi. It was a short downhill walk into the centre of Strahan and close to the local supermarket. The apartment was excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Perthgirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We appreciate your time in sending through a glowing review of the apartments. We do strive to provide value for money for our guests, and the little things like nominal fees for internet and laundry go a little way to keep our guests comfortable and happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here recently with my friend on a trip to Tassie. Booked it off the Internet and found other peoples reviews to be most helpful. Booking over the Internet can be hard as you don't know exactly what you're going to get when you arrive. In this case it was a lovely surprise to find the units were spotlessly clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. Perfect location within walking distance to many attractions and town centre. Peaceful and quiet giving one a really good nights sleep. Everything you could want in a 'home away from home'. I'd fully recommend Castaways to all my friends and anyone else looking for reasonably priced, friendly, clean and comfortable accomodation. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased that the information your viewed on our website was exactly what you got. We hear a lot of stories of guests being misled, but what you see is what you get at Castaway. Thank you so much for your kind and positive feedback, our work ethic is based around pleasing our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our family group of four stayed at Castaway for three nights. Our apartment was ideal for our needs. Bedrooms were roomy and the the beds gave us a good night's sleep. Super shower and separate toilet.
Our teenagers loved the choice of DVD and we all enjoyed watching the tennis on TV in the evening.
Walking distance to the Esplanade and its restaurants, with a supermarket 2-3 minutes walk from Castaway
Bev was very welcoming hostess and a mine of information about Strahan and its attractions.I thoroughly recommend couples and families to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. Another great review for Castaway, thank you. We do like to take a little time when you arrive to mention all the wonderful spots Strahan has to offer; be it eating places, look-outs or must-do's whilst in Strahan. As you mentioned the apartments are comfotable accommodation for larger groups or families and your stay of three nights would be ideal to take in the attractions of Strahan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have just stayed at Castaway and found our apartment to be extremely clean and comfortable. Lots of thought has gone into providing every amenity and comfort needed and the manager was most welcoming and informative.

The apartments are close to and within walking distance to the main shopping centre, and there is plenty of parking space right outside your door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased to have received a review from a fellow Tasmanian, it is good to see you are getting out and travelling around this wonderful state of ours. We sometimes wonder, if we fully realise what an outstanding part of the world we have on our own doorstep. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our apartments, fully appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.2 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crays Accommodation
The Crays Accommodation
#2 of 21 in Strahan
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 Harvey Street, Strahan, Tasmania TAS 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Price Range: $119 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castaway Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway offers affordable, modern, self contained apartments with two bedrooms and spacious living area just 5 minutes stroll from the town centre, harbour and restaurants. Our apartments are suitable for couples, families or groups, and offer full kitchen facilities for all your self catering needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castaway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Holiday Apartments Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing