We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for one night in June on our two week holiday around Tasmania. Couldn't believe the size of the apartment... two large bedrooms, lounge room, full kitchen, large bathroom. Spotlessly clean and you can park right outside the door. All for only $100 per night. Very quiet, no traffic noise and we didn't hear any of the other guests. Absolutely loved Strahan, the scenery is beautiful. When we were there it was cold and wet but still lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyBarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. Travelling around Tasmania during the winter months can be most rewarding with some great bargains to be had, we are no exception. You may see lots of snow, you may see none; but what you will get is days of rain mixed in with some magical crisp, clear days. Best of all, next to no traffic on the roads. Hope you enjoyed your two weeks in Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Castaway Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 211 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stay here last June (2012) and had a time. Very clean, spacious, everything you need.There is an IGA just down the road, and you can walk to the main street. Would recommend if going to Strahan for a visit,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. It is good to know that you still think back to your visit to Strahan, we are so pleased you have good memories and enjoyed your visit, we hope to see you back on the West Coast very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Devonport. It is only a short walk to the main shops, although the walk back is a good fitness workout as you walk up a very steep hill.
Our two bedroom apartment was basic but very clean, comfortable, spacious and warm. The bed was so comfy it made it hard to get up in the morning!
Unfortunately, in the winter months you are quite limited to the things to do in Strahan and two days is more than adequate during these months and places to eat is also very limited. Therefore, why pay for anything fancier with accommodation during the winter months when the Castaway Apartments tick all the necessary boxes for an enjoyable stay.
A great bonus was free use of a wide variety of DVDs

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werombar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. Good clean and comfortable accommodation at the right price, we ticked all your boxes; we are so pleased. A comfy bed is always great to find on your travels, nice to know you found it hard to get out of in the morning. We love feedback from our guests, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here after viewing accommodation that we had already booked and rejected. Jim and Bev could not have been welcoming. The place was spotless and very well equipped. Nothing was too much trouble. Close to shop and cruises etc. Would recommend to anyone heading to Strahan.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments, we appreciate the time taken and are so glad we were able to make your stay memorable. Thank you for your recommendation, it shows we are making our guests feel at home in wonderful Strahan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nothing fancy here but you are paying a good price for warm, convenient, clean rooms with the basics that you need. Owner also happy to lend her videos and board games if you need them. Happy to go there again. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaG913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. Having the cruise cancelled at short notice was a disappointment, but we hope you still enjoyed your stay in Strahan. DVD's are always a pleasure on cool winter nights, but no substitute for a wonderful day out on the harbour and Gordon River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here in Strahan over the long weekend and were pleasantly surprised re bang for buck all the facilities you ever needed were at your fingertips and nothing was too much for the owners to assist you with. Rooms were large with cupboard space to hang all your clothes and the laundry was available for a gold coin donation in an very old WA commonwealth bank money box.The apartments were close to the Main Street and the IGA was less than a two minute walk away all in all a home away from home with amenities all close by including the boat jetty for the Gordon river cruise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. Value for money and comfort are the main ingredients for a great accommodation experience and it sounds as though you were pleasantly satisfied on both counts. Great feedback for us, always nice to hear people say it was like a "Home away from Home", thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The villa is large enough for a party of 4 adults, big lounge and full kitchen. No water views but not very far downhill. The bedrooms were so comfortable and the cabinets full size too. Overall a clean, neat place at a very fair price. Although on a mainstreet, it was so quiet and handy to the supermarket just a few doors away. Owners Bev and Jim were so likeable we felt so much at home. They also have a collection of dvds to lend anytime. You have to stay the night here in Strahan to catch the cruise at Gordon River, a very memorable activity indeed. Truly, Castaway is the place for families and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased your enjoyed your stay with us, and your kind comments. It is good to hear we are spreading the word to such exotic places as the Philippines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.2 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crays Accommodation
The Crays Accommodation
#2 of 21 in Strahan
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strahan Bungalows
Strahan Bungalows
#3 of 21 in Strahan
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 Harvey Street, Strahan, Tasmania TAS 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Price Range: $113 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castaway Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway offers affordable, modern, self contained apartments with two bedrooms and spacious living area just 5 minutes stroll from the town centre, harbour and restaurants. Our apartments are suitable for couples, families or groups, and offer full kitchen facilities for all your self catering needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castaway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Holiday Apartments Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing