We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed two nights and were more than happy with the facilities. All positive comments that we had read in reviews were accurate. The owners welcome was warm and full of advice. The proximity to town was perfect, so it was an easy walk to the cruise. The cleanliness was exceptional and the rooms very spacious. We wanted to support a privately owned business and were in no way disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. As a small business it is important to make our guests stay a pleasant and memorable experience, plus giving value for their money. We are constantly assessing the needs of our guests and striving to maintain a high standard of service, your review proves we are still heading in the right direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 221 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

we booked 1 night so we could do the gordon river cruise .we arrived after walking around henty dunes which is a must see same the wild coastline too, the owners of castaway will tell you where to go they are very helpful .the accommodation is perfect very warm for strahan and very clean ,will be staying here again next year .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawudee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are pleased to see you are intending coming back to Strahan next year, guests often comment that one night isn't enough time to take in all this idyllic town has to offer. Next year take a couple of days to relax and unwind in Strahan, you won't regret it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked for one night and found it to be really great. The owner was so helpful and gave us lots of advice. The rooms were spacious and it was all very well appointed.

I loved the free DVD use as well as the cheap wifi. It was a quick walk into town and parking was ample.

The only minor area for improvement would be the fact that it was quite chilly despite having a heater on. There were, however, electric blankets so these meant that you were snug through the night.

All in all a sound choice for a short stay - it won't disappoint!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickywackywoowaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Castaway, we appreciate your positive feedback, and comments about the heater. A simple fix, replace a faulty thermostat, and hey presto back to warm and cosy. Feedback like that is invaluable to small business, and a way to continually improve guest satisfaction, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We booked in for two nights. The apartments are fantastic. So clean and spacious. Great comfortable beds, fluffy towels and electric blankets! All the comforts of home!!! Owners so so friendly and welcoming. Highly recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bvont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for a great review, we pride ourselves on a friendly welcome and relaxing stay at Castaway. So pleased you enjoyed your stay in Strahan and have chosen to spread the word of our idyllic part of Tasmania. We look forward to meeting once again at some stage in the not too distant future, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night in July but it really suited our needs with two bedrooms and had all the littler things that you forget or don't pack on holidays. Also, it was the first place I can remember staying where the towels were'nt like sandpaper - a little fabric softener is a wonderful thing - Well Done!

Room Tip: Check in with the Tourist Information Centre in Strahan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95Sean32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

What a great review, thank you so much. We try to think of all the little things to make our visitors stay as comfortable and homely as possible. We love a soft towel when we travel, so we wouldn't expect our customers to expect anything else. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around wonderful Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very happy with the room we had. Walking distance from everywhere. My daughter borrowed board games and a DVD from the friendly owners. Nice and clean. Coin donation for the washing machine and dryer. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jean3to4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is nice to think we have vaildated your chose of accommodation in Strahan, and you are able to pass on favourable comments to other traveller's. Thank you for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Lovely place, very clean and very friendly service ... would definitely recommend. Visited Strahan 6 years ago and loved this beautiful town, this time we found it pretty expensive - apparently town has been bought by one company ... not sure this is good for Strahan. And why are there parking meters everywhere??

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your great review. We try to offer great value for money, and the winter months can offer some amazing deals. Hopefully you won't leave it another six years before you return, having said that, we were just so pleased you chose to share your Strahan experience with us this time around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.2 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crays Accommodation
The Crays Accommodation
#2 of 21 in Strahan
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strahan Bungalows
Strahan Bungalows
#4 of 21 in Strahan
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 Harvey Street, Strahan, Tasmania TAS 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Price Range: $108 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castaway Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Holiday Apartments offer affordable, modern, self contained apartments with two bedrooms and spacious living area just 5 minutes stroll from the town centre, harbour and restaurants. Our apartments are suitable for couples, families or groups, and offer full kitchen facilities for all your self catering needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castaway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Holiday Apartments Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing