We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
14
25
19
8
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
25
19
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners breakfast was included macquarie harbour well equipped kitchen accommodation lounge toaster
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 83 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2018

We have booked the Bay View Wilderness cabins for 2 nights. It was stuffy and filled with very dated furniture. The cook tops and the microwave oven are so ancient and the only thing they have updated are the TVs. The tea towel was so disgustingly dirty hanging on the wall (I don't think it has been washed for a long while) and they don't even provide clean sponge for washing the dishes. The bedside tables were also dusty and the flooring are so uneven. It is always very windy because of its location. We wouldn't recommend the cabins unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madaboutleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desma P, Owner at Strahan Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at the cabins, however you have reviewed The Strahan Wilderness Lodge, which is no longer part of the cabins. The Strahan Wilderness Lodge is now a separately owned B&B guest house and you did not stay with us!

All I can say is if you want better accommodation than the cabins, which are advertised as budget accommodation, pay the extra money and go somewhere else and enjoy the modern furniture and even floors.

Strahan is not always windy, as you say, but it is in the path of the roaring 40's & is a beautiful pristine part of the world. There is no landmass at this longitude between it and South America and at times is exposed to extreme weather conditions, in serious weather Ocean Beach, which is only a few Km's away from Strahan, can have large extended lines of breakers, and the swell sometimes measures up to 20+ metres. It's an exciting place to visit if you enjoy what nature has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018

The new owners were very welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and clean with a nice breakfast. They are in the process of making over the lodge and we look forward to seeing the end result it has so much charm and potential.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desma P, Owner at Strahan Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Thank you for your comments Shane. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

Quiet out of town location overlooking Macquarie Harbour. Budget b&b accommodation. New ensuites, comfortable queen bed. Rooms could do with soundproofing. Creaky floorboards, worn but clean carpets. Shared kitchenette with microwave & electric kettle. Tea & coffee making facilities. A toaster would be good. Shared living room with tv & comfy lounge furniture. Continental breakfast included in price. The gardens and access to the harbour are lovely. New managers Desma & John are very welcoming. They have plans for upgrading the Lodge. It’s not flash, but value for money.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desma P, Owner at Strahan Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2018

Thank you for your review Anita. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Strahan and hope you return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in cabin 3A. Very spacious lounge with a patio door that had the most amazing view. Well equipped kitchen with electric hob and oven, microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle and a good supply of tea and coffee. Double bed in the bedroom and a cubicle shower with lots of hot water. Plenty of storage space, T.V in the lounge and two sofas and a small electric fire.
John showed us to our cabin and he was the one that brought us a tea towel and a tin opener when we asked for them.
Yes, it is a bit 70’s but it suited us for our 2 nights. Recommended.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desma P, Owner at Strahan Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Just a little note for anyone reading the old reviews. I am the new owner of The Strahan Wilderness Lodge. The cabins reviewed here are no longer operating. Trip Advisor won't remove old photos or information. Only the Lodge is operating now. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

Totally in need of a makeover! However, really enjoyed the two nites we stayed, very homely and the owner was really nice and helpful, must have been a grand house in its day! Great views over the water. Breakfast was included, toast, juice and cereal. Heaps of parking. A five minute drive into town. Shabbily chic!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank susie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews