We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired but great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strahan Wilderness Lodge and Bay View Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strahan Wilderness Lodge and Bay View Cottages
Ranked #18 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tired but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

Stayed in one of the cabins & although quite dated, was cosy & had great views over the bay. Definately not for those who like everything provided or a romantic getaway, but I found it reasonable for the price, considering most other places in Strahan are quite expensive.
The best I can describe it is a Caravan park like cabin but isolated & in a great location. Don't book here expecting the world.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    16
    8
    16
See reviews for
16
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed in one of the lodge rooms - they offer cabins (set some distance from the main lodge) and a number of rooms located withing the lodge.The lodge rooms have shared bathroom facilities and include a contintal breakfast served in the common room (half is an area for eating and the other half has some couches/chairs and a TV with appaling reception).

If you are looking for a romantice getaway or are a clean freak, this place is not for you. It is very tired and desparately needs some serious love. The room we styed in was decorated with some nice old period pieces, but this included the bed and pillow - the mattress was ancient, as were the pillows and sheets. It was also a double bed - in this day and age a queen bed is usually standard fare.

As a reader, I like to have a few pages before turning in, but the bedside light was broken and the label advising such seemed to be of a permanent nature.

Two threadbare towels (carbon dating required to determine their actual age) were provided, but the thing that really got we was the powerful smell of naphthalene (chemical used in moth balls). It completely turned me off, but not having my own towel, had to use and went to bed with damp hair and reeking of moth balls.

The shared bathroom facilities were adequate, but the cleaning of them was superficial and the shower curtain was filthy. Simple things like no extractor fan menat the utility of the bathroom was limited and there was no soap or towel/dryer so after washing ones hands you needed to return to your room with wet hands to dry them.

Breakfast was aqequate, but itt was standard fare - basic cereal, bread/toast, fruit drink (not juice) and tea/instant coffee.

Overall, this place is tired and needs attention. We paid $75 for the room and breakfast, but our overall sense was that this place was on care and maintenance and was not being actively managed. It was bordering on dirty and you could quite easy tell that the place was in fairly rapid decline.

Would not stay here again, nor recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGard, owner. at Strahan Wilderness Lodge and Bay View Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
Standard $75-00 per double shared facilities rooms can be either double or queen and are allocated as per booking confirmation. Queens are available, when requested.
Our beds are Cyropractic or Therapedic ensembles Therapedic beds being purchased in June 07
Breakages such as bed head light which need to be matched ,must be to sourced from Devonport on the North Coast. We had thought the additional lamp supplied on The bedside table( although not the swivle type) to be adquate in the interum .
Towels are 12 months old and although not the bath sheet type, we believe ,are of good size and quality.
Soap is usually supplied on the towels in the bedrooms, if missed during service it would be available if requested. Liquid soap is also provided in containers in bathrooms.
Fan switches are separate in the ensuite rooms , in other bathrooms the fan is connected to the light and operates with same.
House keeping or any problems can only be addressed if mentioned to staff .
Breakfast is basic, and the same as can be purchased in town for $11-80 per person.
The lodge was built in 1897, is a historic home furnished and maintained as such.

Brian Gardiner owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strahan hotels

Lancs UK
Level Contributor
228 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to Tassie in one of the Bay View Cottages.The whole place was filthy,you could write your name in the grease and dust,the windows were so dirty you could hardly see through them,the mattress was stained ( I really am trying hard to forget that) and the settee in the lounge smelt of urine.The fridge had the remains of the previous occupants food.We've stayed in hostels,basic cabins,youth hostels and all sorts of places both in the UK and around the world but never before have we slept anywhere that is dirty.we are not fussy and housekeeping is not top on the list of my priorities but you expect a place to be clean.The owners should be ashamed of themselves.It this had been in the UK we would have walked out but it is not that easy when you are 12000 miles away from home and everywhere else is booked up!The only good point is the location is picturesque and quiet.AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGard, owner at Strahan Wilderness Lodge and Bay View Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
All our beds are fitted with electric blankets over-layed with mattress protectors ensuring we never have stained mattresses.
Towels are changed and rubbish removed during all two day stopovers and reception open from 7am to7pm giving ample opportunity to report any problems.
Problems can only be addressed if they are reported.
In season, all lower priced accommodation is likley to be booked out leaving only higher priced alternitives.
We would gladley assist in finding alternatives if requested to do so.

Brian Gardiner Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
1.3 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Strahan Holiday Retreat
Strahan Holiday Retreat
#7 of 21 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
1.6 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Wilderness Lodge and Bay View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Wilderness Lodge and Bay View Cottages

Property: Strahan Wilderness Lodge and Bay View Cottages
Address: Ocean Beach Rd, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strahan Wilderness Lodge and Bay View Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Strahan Wilderness Lodge and Bay View Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Wilderness Lodge And Bay View Cottages Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing