We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice comfortable self catering accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crays Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crays Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable self catering accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed in the Kelly unit at the Crays for 2 nights whilst visiting Strahan. Whilst not the most modern accommodation, we found it comfortable and well kitted out. The weather was still cool during our visit and we found that the unit heated up very well. We were very pleased to be able to use the washing and drying facilities at nominal cost. There was a carport and undercover washing line. The unit had good wheelchair access and the bathroom was equipped for disability. We found the unit to be comfortable and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docit53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    39
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We ended up at The Crays after at short notice - luckily the owner, Megs, had just finished cleaning one of the three bedroom units and we were able to book in for two nights.

The unit was excellent - well furnished and kitted out. We were in unit 6, which is at the back of the complex, and is very quiet.

The Crays is an easy, level 10 minute walk from the main part of Strahan, and seems to be one of the few accommodation options in this part of town that isn't run by a large hotel chain.

While we didn't goet a chance to check it out, the owners also run a 60 foot steel hulled yacht out of Strahan. That's on my list for next time!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Friendly owner, lovely accommodation. We had a 'unit' at the front of the small complex which I'm sure made a difference as at least we had a view other than looking onto another unit. Our room was large, clean & had everything we needed. Bed was firm which was great for the back. It's a short stroll from town just a couple of minutes which makes it a perfect location as it's nice and quiet. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Our unit was large, clean, and had all the necessary equipment for a long stay with a well equipped kitchen. It was also very private but best of all a flat easy walk to town and all the amenities...great to leave the car in the carport as there is not much parking space in Strahan. The only downfall for me was the extremely hard bed - so my recommendation about staying here would be yes but not if you need a softer bed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dotcomdotau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide sa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at The Crays for 2 nights in a studio apartment . Wish it had been longer! 10 mins easy walk into the main hub of Strahan it was modern, spotlessly clean, lovely bush setting for enjoying the large deck. Every home comfort we could wish for. A credit to the owners. Can thoroughly recommend. Discounted fresh crayfish for guest to buy was a real added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

what a great place for both family and couples to stay, a stones throw away from town. lovely well appointed, very clean rooms and facilities. a friendly greeting upon arrival, gardens and surrounding views just heaven... would be a shame to not visit this wonderful part of the world. a huge thanks to meg's and wendy for so helpfully arranging other bookings and ect...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfamily96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed in unit 2 (I think) on 16/03/2009 & 17/03/2009.

I have no complaints at all, our unit had two bedrooms with a kitchen, lounge and bathroom. It was within walking distance (10 minutes) of the restaurants and shops.

I was more than happy to stay here, especially since it seems to be one of only a few places in town not owned by The Federal Group. Not that I'm against the Federal Group, I just like to support small business too.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.2 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crays Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crays Accommodation

Property: The Crays Accommodation
Address: 59 The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crays Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Eight fully self-contained, holiday units. Studios, and 2 and 3 bedrooms.* Two central locations in Strahan * Harbour or wilderness views from each unit and from the covered decks:* Outdoor furniture. * All ground level. Free WIFI at the Esplanade units * RAINWATER TANK at The Esplanade for your delight! * Our lawns are lush, and the clean air is invigorating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Crays Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crays Accommodation Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing