We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crays Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Blackheath, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise in Paradise”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our short stay was idyllic. Our 2 bedroom unit (No.4) was spacious, immaculately clean and perfumed by daphne flowers from the well tended garden. The bed was a delight (even my creaky back was happy). From the comfortable furniture on our veranda we gazed through magnificent tree ferns on to the beautiful waters of Macquarie Harbour. The location is ideal, close to everything but not too close. Being mid winter the evenings were quite cold but the two heaters in our unit kept us very cosy, as did the electric blankets on the beds. Everything we could want was provided, even our own under cover car park. What a difference having owner managers. Megs and Trevor obviously love what they do and it shows in every aspect of their business. We really appreciated their concern for the environment and their attention to detail. Their love of the very special part of the world in which they live is infectious. We will return.
Kathy B

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    41
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wonthaggi, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Staying at the The Crays is a place to certainly unwind and have the comforts of home. Meg is so relaxed and make you feel special when you book. (my boys thought she was great). The place is very clean and you have your own undercover carport.I was amazed you didn't have to pay to do your laundry. (had to pay for the dryer, which is fine by me). Looking around Strahn is so beautiful and we were so glad to take a cruise on the Gordon river. We would certanly go back there again if and when we return to Tasmania.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here for four nights recently. We chose this accommodation because it has cooking facilities ( i love cooking ) and also its not far from the wharf where the ferry are. When we booked in we were greeted with a very friendly smile from the receptionist ( who i discover is actually the owner of the business ) was very happy to offer any information we needed. When i entered my apartment, i was sooo impressed with the cleanliness and a sense of comfort rushed through me instantly. "Home away from home" i said to my other half. All you need are there, they even have real milk in the fridge and coffee and sugar were each in a big moccona jar that will last for a week. The bed is very comfy. Its got electric blanket and 4 pillows; 2 hard and 2 soft so if you are chosie you got the options. These apartments also have full length mirrors, a spacious verandah and most of all its come with under cover car park. As we are victorian coming from Melbourne we have to rent a car and you would know the drill; small scratch and you would be flogged. So it was a bonus, besides you wont get wet when you step out of the car. Little things that very convenient. By the way, we went up the river with "Storm Breaker" and i was totally "gobsmacked" by what we experienced. We stayed over night at "Kelly Basin" What a hidden gem this part of the world is, my words wont be good enough to rate this little beauty. The serenity, peace, tranquility, wild and full of surprises such as this little baby huon pine that is already 20 years old. There are so many more to see and do and with this good apartment such as "The Cray" where I can rest my head and have a good meal with a good night sleep after a trip I will definitely be back. Thank you so very much Mr and Mrs Norton. We will see you guys again hopefully pretty soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights in unit 1 at the front of the block which had a veranda overlooking a small bushland garden. The unit is really a small house and you could quite comfortably live there for some time. The unit and the surrounding gardens are immaculately kept by the owners who are obviously very proud of their units and are very helpful. There is a free BBQ and a good laundry where you only need to supply your own detergent and the dryer costs by coin slot ($5 for 45 minutes). Across the road is a waterside walking track that is a flat walk to the town/wharves (10 mins) or the West Coast Railway station (15 mins). Risby Cove restaurant is across the road and well worth a meal and all other eateries are within 10 to 15 mins walk. You shouldn't need to use a car at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rpaharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our son and wife joined us in the two bedroom suite "King"
Everything anyone would want for a comfortable stay close to all things to see. And Megs was so helpful again in organizing all our activities, all we had to do was enjoy. Loved the fresh cut flowers from her own garden. Trevor and Megs supplied us with fresh Tasmanian crayfish, yummy, what a special treat.
Must spend a bit more time in their shop next time, noticed they have for sale nautical books that looking quite interesting.

Room Tip: Ask Megs, she's ever so helpful
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jackandjudedotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Winding your way into Strahan is truly an epic journey. After driving from Sandy Bay (Hobart) we arrived in Queenstown (extremely windy roads) and thought the last 30kms would be a breeze - we were wrong. Truth is I actually liked the winding forest roads, however my mother-in-law suffers from motion sickness (none too pleasant for her). Winging it a little as far as accommodation (hadn't booked any) we headed straight to the Big Blue 'i' to get some advice from the awesome staff. After discussing the options we made our booking at "The Crays Accommodation". We were in unit 5 and from the deck out the front there was a limited although still very beautiful view of Macquarie Bay.
The apartment was awesome with two bedrooms. Separate bathroom and toilet and a fully appointed kitchen. A standout for all of us was the use of rainwater and also the use of recycling. Composting also encouraged with bins available. Other small touches included flowers in the rooms and very friendly helpful and chatty staff. The use of wheelbarrows for linen and other house keeping was amusing at first but evidently practical. As we were only here for one night it was most enjoyable and when we venture back along that windy road we will know that the accommodation will be well worth the many corners.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RusssAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in Unit 3, which was spacious for two people and clean. The unit was fine for our needs - the wall heater thermostat was a little unreliable, but a column oil heater had been placed in the unit as a backup. Bed was OK. Only small soap blocks were supplied in the bathroom, which was a bit surprising; I suggest that the owners consider providing shampoo and conditioner as well for this tariff.

Sadly there were no crays available during our stay; we were told that this was unusual.

Wendy at reception was friendly and overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Units 2 and 3 have a bit of a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.2 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crays Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crays Accommodation

Property: The Crays Accommodation
Address: 59 The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crays Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Eight fully self-contained, holiday units. Studios, and 2 and 3 bedrooms.* Two central locations in Strahan * Harbour or wilderness views from each unit and from the covered decks:* Outdoor furniture. * All ground level. Free WIFI at the Esplanade units * RAINWATER TANK at The Esplanade for your delight! * Our lawns are lush, and the clean air is invigorating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Crays Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crays Accommodation Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing