We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crays Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our unit number 4 was spacious and clean. The bed was rock hard, very little supplies (just tea bags, some milk and instant coffee), no fry pan in the kitchen and saggy couches. The inclusion of breakfast, new beds and couches would have resulted in a much higher rating. My pet hate was the sign saying "We love it when our guests wash up and take the rubbish out"...it doesn't help create that holiday feeling! Not much of a view either however the location was fantastic - just a quick 5 min walk to town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMNStrahanTasmania, Owner at The Crays Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of what we provide in our holiday cottages. I guess we all want or appreciate different things in this world.
Funnily enough, other guests have been pleased with the jars of coffee and sugar, and the fresh milk in the jug, as opposed to small sachets or long life milk.
The inclusions you suggest would also result in a higher rate for the unit.
I understand your displeasure at the sign "We love it when our guests wash up and take the rubbish out”. I have been affronted when I have stayed where the signs say that my credit card will be used to pay for such things. Mine is a statement asking for consideration, not a threat.
I’m puzzled that you did not see the two frying pans. The electric one is in the same cupboard as the coffee cups, the other with the saucepans.
I'm sorry that you did not call me on the free phone, as it is there for you to let us know about any problems, so that we can do the best we can to rectify them while you are with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 146 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

In all the tens of thousands of kms I've travelled around our big island--and now more kms recently on this extraordinary island, Tasmania--my stay at The Crays in Innes Street, Strahan, in Nov 2011 was a standout. Despite being lovingly maintained inside and the gardens outside, sadly, a drive by does not reveal the 'tucked away' excellence of the Crays' accommodation. Great location: A couple of minutes walk to all major tourist facilities and shops. Immaculately clean and extremely spacious throughout. Comfortable bed/bedding; heating; plenty of power points and lighting options--all terrific--along with a well equipped kitchen and laundry; and the convenience of an undercover carport adjacent to the entry; pleasant places to sit or eat outside. The fresh flowers that greeted me as I turned the key in the door expressed the warmth and hospitality to be found here. (Altogether it is more like arriving at the comfortable home and guest accommodation of good friends!) While in Strahan don't miss the Wilderness Railway or Cruise trips which were excellent value, but how I wish I had known about (owners of The Crays) Megs & Trevor Norton's comfortable and roomy yacht, Stormbreaker, and overnighting up the Gordon River...next time...I'll be back to The Crays and hopefully, Stormbreaker. Marilyn

Room Tip: I stayed in Kings. Have not included pics of units as none do justice to Crays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aTASHOO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Our accommodation was spacious and reasonably comfortable : the bed wasn't the best and one of the couches was very uncomfortable as it was not the best quality and had 'sunk' on the edge. There is a very minimal supply of 'extras' - tea, instant coffee, milk and sugar - that's it! One small tablet of soap.
No real view - except of other units.
There are a number of 'do's and don't' signs on the walls which made us feel like we were suppposed to clean the unit when we left - "We love it when our guests wash up and take the rubbish out" to which we were tempted to reply that we love not having to do that on a holiday.
The towels were small and the shower was poorly designed - when you turn around it is too easy to inadvertently turn the taps and scald yourself.
Over all we didn't experience a level of comfort that we would expect for what we paid - would prefer to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKhappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Crays is a great choice, and as the key turns in the lock it feels like 'coming home'.

We arrived late, frosty Strahan welcolmed us with open arms and as we approached our destination mother nature was at her best.

Across from the wilderness setting with it's immaculate gardens, azaleas and camillas flowing from their branches is the amazing Macquarie Harbour, with the sheer beauty making for a perfect location.

The Villas provide a generous space with room to move, and to say they are clean is an understatement! Megs and her team of friendly loyal staff sing the praises of their beloved establishment with pride and experiencing the hard work and efforts that are invested in maintaining the high standard is absolutely worthwhile.

We had been to Strahan before and had enjoyed the harbour cruise and train trip, however this time we just wanted to relax and take in the ambience which is in plentiful supply at 'The Crays'.

The walk to the nearby waterful and if inclined dinner at Risby Cove is all close by, and once you have parked the car beneath the convinient undercover park provided not much more is required.

Thank you Megs and Wendy for preparing a yummy feast of crayfish and providing an amazing experience that will sustain us till next time!

Mary Adelaide

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMNStrahanTasmania, Owner at The Crays Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thank you so much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us in Strahan at The Crays Accommodation. It is really pleasing to hear that our pride in the business shows, and is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Clean, spacious, well equipped self contained unit with sunny sheltered outside area, comfy bed, huge bathroom, and the friendliest service by managers who know just what a traveler needs. No doubt about it - we will be back.

Set in scenic Strahan - the gateway to the wild Gordon River and historic Macquarie Harbour. Magic scenery of lush green forests, wild ocean beaches, and a village dating back to the earliest settlement of Tasmania. The Crays management know just how to arrange a fabulous visit. Thank you Megs and Trevor Norton

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackandjudedotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

A fantastic friendly, personal booking experience over the phone.

A very well appointed, large, spotlessly clean room with everything we needed. Self serve laundry on site. We had apartment 2.

An easy stroll to the pier and the pub -- along the waterside all the way.

Not too commercial. Undercover parking for the motorcycle - at the door.

No reason to even consider looking elsewhere. I'll be here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed in Unit 1. After a day trip on the Gordon River or Westcoast Railway, it was nice to sit on the deck with a glass of wine. We were encouraged to try Risby Restaurant across the street but it was closed 1 Jan. The Crays is a short walk to Strahan Village, or the other way to the train. Our unit was clean, well apppointed and spacious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KMBBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.2 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
0 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crays Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crays Accommodation

Address: 59 The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Price Range: $116 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crays Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Eight fully self-contained, holiday units. Studios, and 2 and 3 bedrooms.* Two central locations in Strahan * Harbour or wilderness views from each unit and from the covered decks:* Outdoor furniture. * All ground level. Free WIFI at the Esplanade units * RAINWATER TANK at The Esplanade for your delight! * Our lawns are lush, and the clean air is invigorating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Crays Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crays Accommodation Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing