We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Cruise”

Gordon River Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.87*
and up
Gordon River Cruise from Strahan
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Strahan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Gordon River Cruises is an award winning wilderness experience in the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area. Departing from Strahan on Tasmania's west coast, Gordon River Cruises offers half day cruises on the Gordon River aboard its sleek, purpose built tour vessel.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting Cruise”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This cruise was comfortable and very enjoyable. Meal was very good, plenty of food. Scenery was spectacular and staff very helpful. Stop offs were very informative.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    150
    26
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Put this on our agenda!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Thanks to previous TA reviews, we included this cruise on a recent stay in Strahan, and we are so happy that we did. We paid the extra for the premium seats and felt that it was well worth it. Commentary from the Captain was informative and our 'guide' upstairs was very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. The trip out through "Hell's Gates" and then down river past the salmon farms was great, but once we reached the inner sanctum of the river, it seemed as though there was a quiet hush from all on board. The silky appearance of the water with the reflection of the trees was just magic. You can't help but be thankful that this beautiful wilderness was saved. Our visit here made us realise just how precious our environment is, and should be a must for everyone, but especially for our younger generation. Refreshments, morning tea and lunch in premium were superb, very fresh, plentiful and extremely tasty. Stop off at Heritage Landing was another reminder of just how precious this landscape is and the visit to Sarah Island was interesting and informative.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lizg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well organised day”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was a fantastic trip up the river, the boat makes two stops to explore the rainforest and Sarah Island convict ruins. The food is buffet and includes smoked salmon. The staff are very helpful and extremely friendly, happy to help in any way. There is plenty of viewing space on the decks. We had window seats but you can wander onto the front and rear decks most of the time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day Out”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The day started out overcast but here in this beautiful World Heritage wilderness area that meets 7 out of 10 classifications, you will never stop gazing in awe. We chose to pay the extra for the premium seats on the upper deck and felt the cost was well worth it. We haven't done the cruise before so can't compare it to the standard fare. Commentary from the skipper was fantastic, the crew (Talia & Kate) were professional and courteous. With premium you don't go hungry, always something on offer, from the Tasmanian cheeses and leatherwood honey to the Tasmanian wine & beer. Tasty lunch with smoked wallaby salami (a first for the hubby, I wasn't game to try) and other fresh local produce. Plenty of opportunity to take photos and don't miss the guided tour of Sarah Island. Our tour guide obviously loved her job and was both funny and engaging.

Get out of your seat and head out on deck, keep your eyes out for seal (we saw one) and platypus (we missed it but saw the wake he left when the skipper pointed him out).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchick_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraburdoo, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This trip will just blow you away. The scenery is awe inspiring and the trips to Sarah Island and the forest walk were just perfect.
If you take the morning trip, you are likely to be the first to travel up the river and the reflection of the trees is flawless.
I'd recommend paying a bit extra for the Premier experience-it really is a treat.
Don't forget your camera!!

Helpful?
1 Thank eeteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Gordon River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing