We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area to see but the cruise distracts”

Gordon River Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.70*
and up
Gordon River Cruise from Strahan
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Strahan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Gordon River Cruises is an award winning wilderness experience in the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area. Departing from Strahan on Tasmania's west coast, Gordon River Cruises offers half day cruises on the Gordon River aboard its sleek, purpose built tour vessel.
Level 6 Contributor
1,207 reviews
569 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Great area to see but the cruise distracts”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I sprung for the expensive Captain's Upper Deck. Service, seating, views and food was great but at least I had a cappuccino to start with while everyone else was sinking champagne at 7:30am (I joined them soon after).

We had a windy day that maybe reduced the majesty of the river but it did mean that the first leg going out to the heads was amazing - wind so strong you could barely get the doors to the deck open. The other places (up the river and to Sarah Island) were beautiful but being on the tour detracted from it - 200 people trudging along a boardwalk and following hokey guides around Sarah Island (I ignored the guides and went off exploring the whole place, much of which is cordoned off). It's the thing to do in Strahan though (I wanted to also do the seaplane flight up the river that afternoon but the weather was too bad).

Helpful?
2 Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    150
    26
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A must do on the west coast of Tasmania”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

It's a long drive to Strahan from anywhere in Tasmania, so while you are in the area you must take the time to take a Gordon River Cruise. My husband and I went during winter, so do take your gloves, scarfe and hat. We took the morning cruise, and expected to see fog, but this wasn't the case.

All aspects of the cruise were fantastic, the boat was modern and the seats comfortable. We paid for the window seats, but didn't need to as our tickets were never checked and we spent most of the cruise on the top decks or walking around taking photos.

Most enjoyable part of the trip was the tour of Sarah Island. A lot of the ruins are now gone but our tour guide was fantastic and from the way she described the stories you could imagine what the island must have looked like.

One of the best cruises I have ever been on.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank cutieb00tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Very informative cruise”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Be prepared to relax and bring your camera for a great day cruise with the most magnificent scenery

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Mobbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Wilderness, Hilarious Captain”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

When a friend heard I was heading to Tasmania she said if there was one thing I absolutely had to do, it was a cruise down the Gordon River.

Most tourist accommodation and info centers will happily assist you in booking the cruise. Attraction staff were wonderfully efficient and helpful in getting us sorted.

We purchased the regular (least expensive) tickets for about $90 each and found the elevated center seating very comfortable. It's a big day - 5.5 hours - and the mix of freely wanderinging around the boat's three levels, short stop-offs and sitting down worked well.

The stewards ran through the plan and safety requirements, then the Captain gave introductions and started his continuously funny commentary. I have not laughed like this in years! It was very subtle humour so not everyone cottoned on immdediately, and of course always polite.

Our boat, the Lady Jane II, was about 10 years old and in excellent condition. A buffet lunch was provided - as a vegetarian, I had two big plate of salad (roasted beetroot, coleslaw, potato, mixed lettuce and Greek salad, with some cubed cheese) - there was also an abundance of smoked salmon and bread rolls. Tea and coffee stations were self-service and a warm welcome. There is also a snack bar / gift shop on board offering candy, chippies, beer, wine, soft drinks and souvenirs.

We headed out of the harbour listening to the Captain's historical commentary, then made a turn at the start of the Southern Ocean to begin our journey down the spectacular Gordon River. Surrounded by World Heritage wilderness, we stopped to see the fish farms and learned about how the salmon and trout are reared, it was very interesting.

Further down the river, we docked for a short walk through thick, ancient rainforest along a well maintained wooden boardwalk with a knowledgeable guide. It was glorious... the freshest air my lungs have every breathed.

After lunch we disembarked once again at Sarah Island. What exciting history and plenty of it. An exuberant guide (actually, an actor from Strachan) told wild-yet-true tales of misery, suffering, mutiny and executions as we walked from site to site. This was the highlight of the day for me, whilst my friend was bored silly. So, if you're not a fan of history, grab the self-guided tour pamphlet as you arrive and take a leisurely stroll around the island.

Heading back to Strachan, we were worn out from a big day and settled into our comfy seats with hot coffee, apples (provided) and a couple of books from the boat's reference library.

What an awesome day, we absolutely loved it and would highly recommend it to any and all, it's not to be missed!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank KstarMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“One of the main attractions in Strahan”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

When in Strahan most people go on a Gordon River Cruise and the West Coast Wilderness Railway and we were no different. We opted for the morning cruise and although the weather was overcast it was a nice still day so while we were cruising up the river the reflection of the water was beautiful. The trip to Sarah Island was interesting but the ruins are not as good as some of the other convict colonies you will find in Tasmania. The tour guides were great though. Make sure you dress warm if you want to go out on deck to get the best views. There are two operators in town and both boats looked similar except for the colour.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Gordon River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing