We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”
Review of Motel Strahan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel Strahan
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A nice large room, very tidy and neat. We were in Strahan just before the start of winter and the room was warm and comfortable. A nice place to start out from for trips like the river cruise and the heritage railway. We stayed 2 nights and the management was helpful when we needed them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougAndKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 177 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

What a pleasant surprise we got- When we pulled up outside the office we were a little worried we may have not made the best choice- We were proven wrong- our Room (which was renovated) was spacious, clean and a great little patio where you can sit or look out onto. The Management was friendly and VERY accommodating to any needs, and WiFi is free also. The Rooms are Great Value for the Price, and the Breakfast Basket is Ample.
Strahan itself- is a little disappointing, and cannot see what all the whhoo-ahhh is about, other than our room, cant really think of anything to mention.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadda Holiday P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

After a very wet drive from Hobart we were greeted on arrival by a very friendly host who made us feel at home immediately. Our room was modern, large, very clean and very comfortable and quiet. Outside our room was a small patio with table and chairs. What a lovely place to have breakfast on a sunny day. We would highly recommend at stay here while in Strahan. Cheap compared to elsewhere but just as good. Thank you to the host and his "little" pup.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

As others have said, I was not expecting much from Strahan accommodation, especially after driving through the town of Strahan and seeing how little it had to offer in anything.
But Hotel Strahan was a pleasant surprise. It looks a little tired from the outside, but was clean, tidy and well decorated on the inside.
The air-con was great and a saviour. The shower was lovely and warm, the beds comfy and the breakfast provided (in your room) was greatly appreciated.
The only negative was that the shower next door (my in laws room) was so noisy coming through our walls that we couldn't have slept through it and couldn't hear our tv over it. It wasn't a problem for us as it was my in laws but for complete strangers it would be super annoying!
We would recommend this hotel and stay here again if we ever returned to Strahan.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jfhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a recent trip to Strahan and I have to be honest...wasn't expecting much from Strahan accommodation based on the images and its isolated location.

When I opened the front door I was pleasantly surprised.

The room was roomier than I thought it would be and was clean, modern and the bed was very comfortable. Most importantly, the heater was excellent and didn't take long to warm the room to cosy comfort levels.

This place provided us free wifi vouchers for 3 of our devices and were happy to help with local restaurant suggestions based on what we told them we felt like eating.

It was super easy to find if you are driving from Cradle Mountain, Launceston or Devonport, and its close enough to walk to the main strip if you really wanted to (we were too cold and lazy for that though).

The only negative thing we experienced the time we were there was noisy and inconsiderate neighbouring rooms who came home late and were really loud just outside our rooms, then again on their outside porchy thing which backed on to ours. This was in no way the fault of the owners...just would be nice if people used common courtesy.

Would return for sure and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minerva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Towels, carpet and bedspreads in our room were all a black "color", but the stains were still visible and the degree of carpet dirtiness was apparent on the bottoms of my slippers. We certainly didn't have anything like the lovely room shown in their professional photo! There were no headboards and 2 of 3 pillow cases were dirty. The sink didn't drain properly and neither did the shower over the tub. There was 2 to 3 inches of standing water in the tub by the end of a shower. The bathroom floor was filthy, the mirror dirty and the walls stained. We didn't sleep well because of the yuck factor.

Water was left in the kettle from previous occupants, the toaster was filthy, and many of the dishes were not clean. There was only 1 hanger in the closet and it was missing its bottom rung so it couldn't be used to hang pants. There is a guest laundry which was also quite dirty.

Upon check-in, we were greeted by the dull man at reception complaining about the phone call he'd just concluded with a previous guest who claimed he'd promised to mail the credit card she'd left. Who knows? Not a good introduction to the motel for us at any rate.

We'd noticed that many Strahan accommodations offered discounts for the Gordon River cruises and asked him about that. He told us there were no discounts at "that time of year."
But when we checked directly with the boats, we were offered discounts by both. (We chose the red boat and had a great time even though it was raining much of that day). Note that the white boat offers a better "Cradle Mountain Discount," but you actually have to call ahead from Cradle to get it even if you've just stayed there.

Considering the previous good reviews, either the Motel Strahan has changed owners/management or .... We would have moved in a heartbeat if there had been availability at one of many other choices, and would have left Strahan if we hadn't strongly wanted to do the river cruise--our main reason for visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FourWinds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed two nights in this well appointed, clean motel, it had spacious comfortable rooms and a large bathroom with a spa. It had a laundry open at all times and very helpful and friendly staff. The motel is located in a quiet area and is good value for money. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
929 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Strahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Strahan

Address: 3 Andrew St, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $108 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Strahan 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel Strahan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Strahan Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing