We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just don't. ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel Strahan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel Strahan
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just don't. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Arrived here late after a long day of driving with a note to say key would be in door (that was fine) at first the room appeared nice and comfortable with an aged bathroom. Due to lack of variety of food and over priced products on the main street we decided to consume the Tasmanian cheese and biscuits from the mini bar. The first bite I knew straight away the biscuits were stale. Checked expiry, June 2013 (we stayed April 2014) other items were out of date too. Clearly not something they bother to check on a twelve month basis. 1 x towel and 1 x face washer smelt terrible. Bath emptied despite plug being pushed down. Just a huge disappointment. Would not recommend. In fact, avoid Strahan altogether. Not worth the drive.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kitty2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    78
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
118
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
605 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Got in here at short notice and enjoyed the large room (we had a spa room) and caught up on washing in the shared laundry. Nice helpful people who gave us some tips for around town. Walk to lagoon beach and a convenient cafe and general store. About 15mins to main street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here only one night, but would have loved to stay longer!! The room was big, clean and will presented, the staff were fantastic (very helpful and just great to have a chat to). Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Meynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here a few days ago. This is a family run motel. Folks are nice. Room is decent size. Wifi is free. Bad points are there is no bread toaster. 1 of the towels given was smelly. Cups were dirty (not cleaned properly before our check in). The cup being dirty really changed my opinion on their cleanliness level

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The motel is about 15 minutes walk to the Strahan Esplanade in a quiet residential area, and 10 minutes drive to Ocean Beach.

Our room was big, clean and nicely furnished. There was a king bed, a table, a couple of chairs, a fridge, cups, plates and cutlery. The bathroom was big with a shower/bath tub. There was also a heat lamp at the ceiling. This was nice as it could get cold in the evening in Strahan.

The room was very quiet. We slept well. The staff is very friendly.

As a suggestion for improvement: the only inconvenience we encountered was the WIFI. To enable to WIFI, a set of Username/Password has to be generated by the reception, and it is time limited to 12 hours after the generation. So the set of Username/Password we got at 3:30pm during the check-in was valid till 3:30am next morning. We needed to ask for another set of Username/Password in the morning. Other than this, the WIFI connection works fine with good performance. It would be great if the Username/Password were valid for 24 hours.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoiman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The room was clean and looked fairly new. The king size bed was comfortable. There was a small court yard out the back. There is a laundry room available for guests. The staff were friendly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMM920829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Pulled into Strahan in the early evening. Was planning on staying at the caravan park. As it worked out, fortunately we were too late to get. Saw the "Vacancy" sign up at the motel, so headed in. What a great little place this was. Actually had free wi-fi that really worked. Couple of decent-sized beds, and one of the best pizzas you could ever get, just around the corner. The owner / manager was very helpful / friendly. The town itself was a bit of a bust. Had come specifically to ride the wilderness railway only to find out that it was "closed for maintenance". This would appear to be a fairly permanent arrangement with the chance of it re-opening in it's present form, very, very slim. The motel made up for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehappyholidayer013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strahan Holiday Retreat
Strahan Holiday Retreat
#7 of 21 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Strahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Strahan

Property: Motel Strahan
Address: 3 Andrew St, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Strahan 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel Strahan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Strahan Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing