We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect, but bathroom let it down”
Review of Motel Strahan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel Strahan
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Firstly, the managers of Motel Strahan went out of their way to help me in a bit of a bind, so I feel bad about writing anything negative.

The room was very clean and nice decor, but the bathroom needed a bit of an up-date. It was also damp/moist on all the wall, and the dark blue paint really showed this up.

I got the spa room which had a tiny spa bath, but for only $10 extra, I guess I shouldn't have expected much.

The electric blankets were a nice touch in such a cold corner of the world.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1, the spa room, had an extra window which let in more light.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clair3J0n3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Motel Strahan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 175 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Do not be put off by the view from the street. The rooms are modern, spacious and warm and extremely comfortable and we would certainly recommend staying there. There are plenty of eating places in the village a short distance away and this is a very good base for other activities in Strahan. We missed out on the train ride and we hope that it operates again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My sister in law & I arrived early to be welcomed by Richard at the front desk. Our rooms were ready and our request to have rooms next to each other was met - thank you! We were given information that we requested and Richard booked our Gordon river cruise for us. The rooms were recently tastefully renovated, very clean, spacious with big comfy beds and even a small courtyard & garden. The cost was a reasonable $100 a night and the usual, tea, coffe, milk & toiletries were supplied. There is a general store and ATM around the corner and it is a pleasant & easy walk into town. A very good 2 nights sleep!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank copperbuterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Motel Strahan is family owned and run so a friendly welcome awaits.
On approach the rooms look very small, but once you open the door you find very spacious and bright accommodations.
I would say they have gutted and refitted an old motel, and they have done it well. The bathroom is large and well fitted, the shower is over the bath and the main bedroom very roomy, with a king bed, and small sitting area, plus the back glass sliding doors open onto a small outdoor sitting area (reminded me of a balcony cabin on a cruise ship).
A breakfast hamper with bread for toasting, fruit and cereal was included, and they give you a little bottle of milk. They offer free WiFi, and there is a guest laundry. It is walking distance to the Harbour and beach and a good spot for a short stay in this lovely seaside village.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Motel Strahan was everything we wantes. A brilliant location, clean, well looked after, a warm welcome and a Spa bath to top it all off. Strahan was a good place to visit and after a long drive from Hobart the accomodation was like a big hug. In a quiet location only 5 minutes walk from beach, town centre and restaraunts it was ideally located.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babsdranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in Room 1 and found the room clean, spacious and inviting. The bed was comfortable and we were happy to see that a complimentary breakfast basket was included. Having said that we were slightly disappointed in the bathroom. The shower was over the bath and with a bifold glass frame I felt a tad cramped and it was difficult to access (husband also managed to get water all over the floor!!).
We made good use of the laundry room during our stay. The Motel is an easy 15 minute walk into the town centre but there is a bottle shop and takeaway shop around the corner (also carries a limited grocery line). The manager was very helpful and assisted us with our booking for the Gordon River cruise. We believe that the Motel Strahan was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Motel Strahan for two nights - 5/6 Feb.
It was comfortable,clean and the rooms were provided with every amenity.We booked direct with the motel and found the staff to be both pleasant and very helpful. WiFi was being installed but not yet operating.
It is an enjoyable 15 min walk along the sea shore or 3 mins by car into the town of Strahan.
The majority of the reviews we read on Tripadvisor were positive and we found them to be accurate.
The only criticism we had was that the rooms were constructed in a block and as such were all joined and the sound proofing between them was minimal.
Other than that we would highly recommend it. We paid $155 per night which compared to other properties in Strahan represented excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocketann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.9 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Strahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Strahan

Address: 3 Andrew St, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $92 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Strahan 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel Strahan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Strahan Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing