We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel, good value for money”
Review of Motel Strahan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel Strahan
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I was really pleasantly suprised. It's always a risk booking a motel from the other side of the world, but I made the right choice, the room was really well appointed and comfortable and clean. The wifi was free, a good choice in the mini-bar and the staff really helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 177 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed for 1 night between Xmas and New Year 2010 and booked 2 rooms.
PROS:
Both rooms were very spacious and colourful with King/Super King beds. Less than 5 mins walk to a beach and in a very quiet location.
CONS:
Very over-priced. More than we paid for a motel on the waterfront in Hobart with views across Sandy Bay a day later. (Motel 429)
Poor house keeping, (like another reviewer commented) cigarette butts littered the ashtray on the courtyard table and we were not given any milk at check-in so had to ask for it, which seemed a hassle for the young receptionist.
Rooms didn't have microwaves and there was only one in the "Laundry" for all guests to use.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kato007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This is just a hotel room - nothing more, nothing less. It suited us fine during our one night stay in Strahan (which was just a pit stop between Wild Rivers and Cradle Mountain). Strahan is very over-priced and unless you want to cruise the Gordon River, there isn't much to do or eat in town! Apart from an over-priced pub.
Our room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very basic - but you get what you pay form.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Given the majority of hotels, B&Bs and inns in Strahan seem to be very pricey for what they offer, Motel Strahan is a refreshing change. I'm guessing Strahan has a very limited number of hotel rooms for the demand, but while Motel Strahan's rooms looks like a nondescript building from outside the inside has all the modern conveniences you'd expect in an area with competitive hotels at a similarly competitive price. Definitely within walking distance of town, though you'll want to drive if going around to the Wilderness Railway.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlanods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Motel Strahan and look forward to returning in the near future. Our room was comfortable, clean and great value for money. We found management to be approachable and helpful throughout our visit. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozi_traveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I booked this motel after reading the reviews here. I was so disappointed. The carpets were badly stained and the sealant round the bath was rotting and filthy. We could not use the bath because it was so awful. There was a cigarette butt in the ashtray on the table in the tiny patio out back when we arrived and it was still there two days later when we left. The room had not been cleaned properly as I noticed on leaving that there was a soft drink bottle (not ours) under the bed. As all alternative accommodation was booked out in Strahan there was no other option.

On check out I mentioned these points to the Manager and he agreed that they were valid but said that it was difficult to get workmen to come up the west coast of Tasmania. He was totally indifferent to my concerns but said that he looked forward to seeing my adverse comments on Tripadvisor. I cannot understand why this property is four star and am sure it has deteriorated since gaining this rating.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatozAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

The other reviews are accurate - I have no additional information to add.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
929 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Strahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Strahan

Address: 3 Andrew St, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $108 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Strahan 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel Strahan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Strahan Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing