We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD PLACE TO STAY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marsden Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marsden Court
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD PLACE TO STAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I am glad I stayed a few minutes out of Strahan at Marsden Court. The accommodation was excellent with a good kitchen. At night it was country quiet. Our hostess was extremely pleasant and helpful. I was able to easily get my laundry done in the on-site laundry. Would stay here again if in Strahan.

Room Tip: I would guess all rooms were equal. We slept near the main gate, which is closed at night, and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
22
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed in the two bedroom cottage. Feeling so ripped off. Very old, outdated and smelly but clean.Would give it a two star, not four.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place is very big with lots of amenities and a quiet location.

It has microwave, fridge, TV, good bed, shower. Really was nice to come home to after a big day out.

It's not too far from the Port of Strahan either.

Room Tip: All rooms here look very good and clean. And quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We recently stayed in one of the two bedroom "luxury" apartments at Marsden Court and were very disappointed at the quality of the accommodation. The apartment was nothing at all like the advertising photos which are presumably all of the refurbished studio apartments. The bathroom and kitchen were extremely old and dated. The advertising is misleading and we felt very ripped-off as we payed quite a high rate!!! In no way are the two bedroom apartments "luxury accommodation". It was poky for five people and there were only four chairs around the table. However, it was clean! I have no problem with basic accommodation when the price reflects it and it is not misleadingly described by the proprietors as Marsden Court is!!!

Room Tip: My advice is don't stay in the two bedroom apartments!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_L914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed in Strahan for 2 nights. The 2-bedroom cabin was spacious and comfortable, but a little on the tired side. The beds were okay. The accommodation is in easy walking distance to Strahan town centre and waterfront.
Upon our arrival the reception staff was warm, friendly and provided us with helpful tips on places to see and things to do, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here for one night. The room was large, clean, pleasant and well equipped. It suited us well. The bed was very comfortable and firm. The receptionist was well informed and told us several places to eat, and directions to entertainment and recreation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

The most accurate review here is number 9. The place is clean but basic. The relieving receptionist was friendly and helpful, and she suggested places to eat in town. Our self contained unit was very old and dated, with uncomfortable mattresses. The kitchen and bathroom date from the 1960s or the early 1970s at the latest. There is an abundance of accommodation in Strahan so keep looking. You will find something else much newer and much closer to the waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Strahan Villas
Driftwood Strahan Villas
#5 of 21 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crays Accommodation
The Crays Accommodation
#2 of 21 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsden Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsden Court

Property: Marsden Court
Address: Corner of Andrew and Gaffney Streets, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marsden Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marsden Court offers spacious studio and 2 bedroom apartments set in landscaped gardens in a secure gated community and close to all attractions Strahan and this World Heritage area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marsden Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsden Court Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing