We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takeaway”
Review of Hursey Seafoods

Hursey Seafoods
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Stanley
Price range: $8 - $95
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Hursey Seafoods, based in Stanley Tasmania, is a major catcher of the renown Southern Rock Lobster (crayfish). Patrons can purchase a range of seafoods; wholesale, takeaway or dine-in for lunch or tea. In 1974 James Snr and Valerie Hursey relocated from Dover (Sth East Tasmania) to Stanley (Nth West Tasmania). In 1987, to complement a growing company fishing fleet, a commercial factory/takaway/dine in premises was established as a memorium to James Snr and Valerie's son, Patrick, who was lost at sea attempting to rescue an adventurer, rowing across Bass Strait. In June 2015, the property was extensively renovated and now seats 100 diners, overlooking the bay and nestled under the Stanley Nut. Hursey Seafoods' fleet of nine vessels catches Southern Rock Lobster, Giant Crab, Stipey Trumpeter, Gummy Shark, flathead and other local reef fish. Lobster is retained live in sea tanks on premises, which ensures supply all year and provides consumers with the very best taste. Hursey Seafoods is open every day, apart from Christmas, for lunch and dinner. Takeaway open: 11.00 AM to 7.00 PM Sun - Thu, 11.00 PM to 7.30 PM Fri & Sat Restaurant open: 12.00 PM to 2.30 PM (seated by) & 5.30 PM to 8.00 PM (seated by)
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Takeaway”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our serve of takeaway fish and chips was huge. We easily have ordered one serve to share and it would be more than adequate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    140
    69
    40
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than expected”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The chilli crab wanton entree was delicious and set high expectations for the main.
For mains we opted for 300gm scotch fillet which was nicely cooked. The seafood topper was lovely with the creamy garlic sauce. The chips were a small serve but with on entree we didn't mind.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bimim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were so looking forward to some local fish and potato cakes. However we were bitterly disappointed. We were given a choice of crumbed or battered fish so we chose two varieties of crumbed fish. They were both tasteless even after adding more salt, as were the potato cakes which had the consistency of a hash brown. Also quite expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We visited again to Hursey's Seafood Take away 2 weeks ago, were greeted very nicely by the attendent and I asked for Anne(The Chef), Anne came out with Big Smile and took care of our order, we had shellfish this time, Prawns, Calamari, Scallops and Chips. She took little time to cook and served with tarte Sauce, we went out by the sea and enjoyed evey mouthful. All the staff were very friendly and the place was clean, with that lovey seaside view, you are always a winner at Hursey's Seafood, just ask for Anne.

We are looking forward for some more yummy seafood on our next visit sometime soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“top seafood”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

after a walk around the nut my wife and myself a bit hungry and was told about Hursey's.we decided on scallops and flake in batter(can have it crumbed or grilled),the batter was light and crispy.Recommend

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooper32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hursey Seafoods also viewed

 

Been to Hursey Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing