We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hursey Seafoods

Hursey Seafoods
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Stanley
Price range: $8 - $90
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hursey Seafoods, based in Stanley Tasmania, is a major catcher of the renown Southern Rock Lobster (crayfish). Patrons can purchase a range of seafoods; wholesale, takeaway or dine-in for lunch or tea. In 1974 James Snr and Valerie Hursey relocated from Dover (Sth East Tasmania) to Stanley (Nth West Tasmania). In 1987, to complement a growing company fishing fleet, a commercial factory/takaway/dine in premises was established as a memorium to James Snr and Valerie's son, Patrick, who was lost at sea attempting to rescue an adventurer, rowing across Bass Strait. In June 2015, the property was extensively renovated and now seats 100 diners, overlooking the bay and nestled under the Stanley Nut. Hursey Seafoods' fleet of nine vessels catches Southern Rock Lobster, Giant Crab, Stipey Trumpeter, Gummy Shark, flathead and other local reef fish. Lobster is retained live in sea tanks on premises, which ensures supply all year and provides consumers with the very best taste. Hursey Seafoods is open every day, apart from Christmas, for lunch and dinner. Takeaway open: 11.00 AM to 7.00 PM Mon-Thu & Sun, 11.00 PM to 7.30 PM Fri & Sat Restaurant open: 12.00 PM to 2.30 PM (seated by) & 5.30 PM to 8.00 PM (seated by)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than expected”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The chilli crab wanton entree was delicious and set high expectations for the main.
For mains we opted for 300gm scotch fillet which was nicely cooked. The seafood topper was lovely with the creamy garlic sauce. The chips were a small serve but with on entree we didn't mind.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bimim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    134
    67
    38
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were so looking forward to some local fish and potato cakes. However we were bitterly disappointed. We were given a choice of crumbed or battered fish so we chose two varieties of crumbed fish. They were both tasteless even after adding more salt, as were the potato cakes which had the consistency of a hash brown. Also quite expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We visited again to Hursey's Seafood Take away 2 weeks ago, were greeted very nicely by the attendent and I asked for Anne(The Chef), Anne came out with Big Smile and took care of our order, we had shellfish this time, Prawns, Calamari, Scallops and Chips. She took little time to cook and served with tarte Sauce, we went out by the sea and enjoyed evey mouthful. All the staff were very friendly and the place was clean, with that lovey seaside view, you are always a winner at Hursey's Seafood, just ask for Anne.

We are looking forward for some more yummy seafood on our next visit sometime soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“top seafood”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

after a walk around the nut my wife and myself a bit hungry and was told about Hursey's.we decided on scallops and flake in batter(can have it crumbed or grilled),the batter was light and crispy.Recommend

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooper32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“The best seafood chowder in Tasmania”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had been traveling in Tasmania for over a week and enjoyed seafood each day; this place was definitely amongst the best. We sat upstairs and had the crayfish/curry & rice entree which was very good and only $16 for a very generous serve. The best was still to come with the BEST seafood chowder ($18) I have ever had. Big serving with loads of fresh seafood. Absolutely heaven. Service was very good with extremely cheerful and friendly staff. We would have preferred more Tasmanian wine on the wine list.....we like to drink local! We then went downstairs and ordered crayfish rolls to take back to our accommodation for dinner and we couldn't believe the generous serving of cray. Highly recommend; wish we could get interstate delivery!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foxylady154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hursey Seafoods also viewed

 
Stanley, Tasmania
 

Been to Hursey Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing