We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and well equipped apartments!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horizon Deluxe Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Relaxing and well equipped apartments!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

These apartments are modern and well equipped. They are very comfortable, the bed is large, the kitchen has everything you need and has beautiful views of Stanley.

The balcony provided a fantastic and relaxing spot to enjoy the balcony with a glass of wine or beer.

The breakfast provisions are not fantastic but ample for two people.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Guest Relations Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you were happy over all with our property, although I am dissapointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your breakfast.

Just for the benefit of other readers, our tariff includes complimentary breakfast provisions, which include : espresso coffee, herbal teas, eggs, bacon, a range of breads, spreads, orange juice, cereals and fresh milk.

Thanks for staying with us.

Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
136
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Yes it definitely has the 'WOW' factor. Beautifully appointed throughout. Clever configuration with an amazing view over the Nut. The spa bath was perfectly located with that outstanding view (including the push button blinds - if you want to use them). The bed was super comfy and we could not fault the place. Loved the sunny spacious balcony with BBQ overlooking the view. The breakfast items were delicious and we were fortunate to have the place to ourselves during our stay. We could not find anything to complain about here.

Stanley is such a beautiful little hidden gem. Pretty beaches and waterways, the Nut walk is challenging - it is nearly vertical but you have the chairlift option. My husband thought I was trying to kill him ha ha. Easy once you reach the top but you may want to hold onto the railing for the steep descent. The historic walk is a must. The shops are gorgeous and contain unique handmade creations. Every shop we walked into offered wonderful service with a smile. The oysters from Pirate Point are mouth watering. Highfield Estate is worth your time and a trip to nearby Boat Harbour Beach, Sisters Beach and Dip Falls makes a great day out.

10 out of 10 for Horizons & everything about this beautiful location. Stanley and its charm will draw us back again.



Nearby

Room Tip: Either would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzieQoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
WOW - what a wonderful review!! Thank you very much :)

We are delighted to read that you had such a nice time at our property and around our region.

Maybe we will see you again some time?

Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

As we walked through the door, we both stopped and said "wow" (I stayed with Dreamer3132). These apartments are absolutely wonderful. Very comfortable and luxurious appointments. My first time cooking on an Induction cooktop, but the instructions for that (and more importantly, the coffee machine) were very clear. Every detail seems to have been thought of - right down to the light switches (where do I get them from?)
The views were almost indescribable - absolutely stunning. Being the dunce that I am, I couldn't work out whether the sun would rise or set over the Nut (it rises) so I set the tripod up for some beautiful pictures. I ended up waking early, made myself a coffee, and took some beautiful photos as the sun rose.
Stanley itself is a lovely town - everyone was so friendly - including the lovely receptionist from next door where we went to pick up our key.
We loved our stay and can't wait to come back. Also - I have recommended Horizon Deluxe Apartments to my work colleagues, and at least one of them has said they will be heading your way on their next holiday!
Sorry about the quality of the pictures - these were from the camera phone.
We had one very minor hiccup - the DVD wouldn't play - a quick phone call and that was sorted.

Best: the room, the view, the spa, and cannot forget the awesome shower!
Worst: The roadworks on the drive from Launceston to Stanley. (ie nothing bad to say about the room)

Room Tip: All rooms have the same view. And it is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
:) Thanks for taking the time to write this fantastic review.

We are thrilled that you were so happy with your accommodation.

Thanks for recommending us to your colleagues and we'll look forward to seeing you again by the sounds of it.

Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was expecting this apartment to be wonderful because of the fabulous reviews. Well, it exceeded our already high expectations. I don't know where to start. My partner and i like to stay in self contained apartments wherever possible so we can buy the beautiful local produce and cook fresh meals ourselves. We had purchased a beautiful piece of fresh Atlantic salmon at one of the towns we'd visited prior to arriving at Stanley. I was so impressed at the utensils and cooking equipment that i took a photo of them. What i enjoyed, was, the crockery etc had obviously been used by previous guests so i didn't feel that it was there just to be admired. While enjoying our beautiful tasmanian fare, we overlooked one of the most spectacular views i've had the pleasure of witnessing. The washing machine and dryer were a wonderful addition. Breakfast provisions were plentiful and delicious. Frankly, there was nothing you could want that wasn't provided. The check-in process was terrific. We picked up our key from a lovely lady at the Sea-view Inn just below the apartments. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write this fantastic review!!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much - and we'll look forward to seeing you again some time.

Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

These apartments are to die for. Everything was so modern and clean and the view was to die for, you could sit in your spa with a glass of whatever takes your fancy and watch the sun go down. Self contained, was great and the breakfast was plentiful and yummy. We can't wait to go back there.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as good as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamer3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Good evening.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a nice time here and that you enjoyed our property s much. We TRY to tell people how nice the view is - but you have to see it to believe it eh??

Thanks for taking the time to give us this fantastic review :).
Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay in Godfrey apartment at Horizon Deluxe Apartments. Booked a 2 night special via Luxury Escapes which fitted in very nicely with our plans for a holiday flying into Launceston from Melbourne for 5 days. The room was very nice and the view was spectacular of Stanley, the Nut, and Bass Strait.
A few things that caused me not to give 5 stars. One - it was too far out of town to walk anywhere; two -was the fraying carpet; three was that there was on hospitality. No reception so we had no idea where to check in. We rang owner who told us to pick up key to our room from hotel next door. When my hubbie went into hotel next door to get key it was like they weren't really interested in knowing anything about our accommodation. Just handed over key and did not want to check booking info or ID or anything. Also - one suggestion for future....If you going to have candles to light then make sure you provide matches. The gas igniter in top drawer by front door was no at all useful. However we did have good time and Stanley was great place to visit...waking up to cows mooing each morning and a beautiful view x

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JKS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for this review.

I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations.

I think it is a bit unfair to mark us down because we are too far away from town, as we are just 1 km from the centre of town and it is an easy 15 minute walk. The fact that we are just out of town affords us such a magnificent view of the town at the base of the Nut, and the surrounding countryside.

The "reception" is a common model of operation for this type of accommodation, as it is not practical for such a small boutique accommodation business to have its own manned reception.

As for the check in process - as we trust people to do the right thing, and therefore don't bother hassling guests for all of their particulars. We choose to give guests an easy, smooth, transition from their car to the luxurious surrounds of their accommodation.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Nothing bad to say ! The best location to enjoy your time in Stanley
nice terrace, good bed, best kitchen and bathroom .the apartment is absolutely perfect !
It's a nice refreshment place for Hong Kong People. We had a sunset BBQ dinner in a view of the Nut ! Unforgettable memory

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Homan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello.
Thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review.
Stanley certainly is quite different to Hong Kong!!
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Deluxe Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Deluxe Apartments

Property: Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Address: 88 Dovecote Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Horizon Deluxe Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the farmland hills overlooking the township of Stanley, the views from Horizon Apartments are simply captivating. Private decks allow guests to unwind while taking in those spectacular vistas over Stanley, the ancient volcanic formation, The Nut, and surrounding beaches. Apartments each have a king-size bed, leather lounges and a full kitchen, including the all-important coffee machine. The modern design extends throughout the open-plan living and bedroom areas and to the ensuite bathroom, with a brilliant freestanding spa overlooking the pastures to the water. Separate bathrooms also feature eye-catching floor-to-ceiling tiles and ultra-modern fittings. Generous breakfast provisions are provided, along with Austar and WiFi facilities. The property is a few minutes' drive from Stanley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Horizon Deluxe Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Deluxe Apartments Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing