We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive design and superb view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Impressive design and superb view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at the apartment and were amazed by its beautiful and impressive interior design, particularly the sitting room area that made our stay at Stanley most relaxing and enjoyable. The entire apartment, including the washroom was very clean. The provision of a washing machine inside the apartment was also great for us. We didn't cook inside the apartment and had our dinner at the 'Hursey Seafoods' restaurant. The lobster there were fresh and very tasty. On the next day, we took the chairlift to the top of the Nut and had the stunning view of Stanley. Surprisingly, with the magificient apartment, tasty seafood and beautiful scenery, Stanley turned out to be the place where we had the most wonderful experience in Tasmania!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clintwalker, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hello,

I am delighted to hear that you found our property to your liking, and that you enjoyed your fresh Lobster.

Maybe we'll see you again in Stanley at some stage?

Regards,
Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
137
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

These apartments are really talked up on their website as extremely private and unfortunately this is just not the case. The apartment we stayed in was semi-attached to another apartment and you have a communal entry with shared laundry facilities. Fortunately the adjoining apartment was not occupied until the morning of our checkout or there could have been a lot of noise with other guests coming and going and ensuing lack of privacy.

The website pictures a person having a luxurious bath (obviously naked) in the bath that is right in the floor to ceiling window. This really impressed us but didn't eventuate. Throughout our stay the owners or owners employees were involved in gardening tasks and were right outside our apartment in clear view of the window. We raised this issue with the owners but they just didn't comprehend what privacy meant. They seemed to think that people would go out all day but we wanted to stay in, have a romantic time and enjoy the luxury of the apartment. This problem alone was enough to spoil the whole experience and just not give you what is promised. The owners told us that they had to water the new lawn and move houses around - really they need to install a reticulated watering system on a timer so it is all automatic and the guests are not disturbed.

One of the blinds also stopped working properly during our stay which we reported to the owners. We decided it was better to put up with it slightly broken and not have our stay disturbed by repair men, but the owners didn't seem to like this either.

I also feel that they were very stingy and unhygienic with the breakfast provisions. Milk was not provided in a shop packaged carton or bottle but in a jug without a lid in the fridge. This is just plain penny pinching and not hygienic. We don't know how old the milk is, how fresh it is etc. It also absorbs the odours from the rest of the food. Sausages (only one each per day) were provided in frozen form rather than fresh. Bacon was also a small portion and frozen. The worst part though was that you are promised danishes and pastries. These are also in the freezer and were completely inedible when defrosted. I suggest the owners should try staying in their own apartment with the provisions they provide and see how luxurious it feels.

Orange juice was also like the milk and just in a jug - again we didn't know how fresh it was etc and this is unhygienic too.

You were also only given a few slices of bread rather than a whole loaf - just stingy again.

The deck where there is a table and chair and bbq is also extremely small - really it should have been made much larger when it was built. Again privacy is lacking - guests from the semi-attached apartment can slightly see you (remember the naked bath!) and hear everything.

On a positive note the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was very large and luxurious feeling. The apartment was also very well appointed with quality furniture and a comfortable couch. You are also provided with free WiFi for internet use which is a very welcome touch as so many places charge for this.

However based on the standard of the breakfast, the lack of privacy and the attitude of the owners I just can't recommend this property. This is even more so if you pay the full price of $350 a night. We were paying a last minute rate of $250 a night and even at that price it was not value for money. Really they should not let out both apartments separately and guests should have the whole building.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaleReardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
It is a shame that you have chosen to use this public forum to air your completely unjustified comments about our property.

As viewers of Trip Advisor can see from our fantastic record, we operate a 1st class property and anyone should be able to see that you have unrealistic expectations of a public accommodation facility.

For the benefit of other Trip Advisor users, who are considering staying with us, I offer the following comments in reply to your review:

1. Breakfast provisions :
a. We provide a wide range of breakfast provisions. It would be a complete waste to provide more of any of the various items. You have tried to mislead people by suggesting that we are “stingy”.

For the benefit of other views, we provide the following breakfast provisions : 2 types of bread, muffins, crassoints, eggs, bacon, sausages, cereals, spreads, herbal teas, espresso coffee, instant coffee, fresh milk and orange juice.

In reference to the freshness of the milk and juice – your suggestion is obscene!

2. Adjoining room – it is common for apartments to adjoin another.

3. The model in the bath wasn’t naked actually – but what on earth is your point?

4. Privacy –Of course we understand what privacy means. You seem to not understand what it takes to create and establish beautiful gardens. Yes, I was working outside of your room, on a number of occasions; intermittently between the hours of 10am and 5pm. I was moving sprinklers every couple of hours. Your suggestion here is ridiculous!

Again – for the sake of other readers : Once you complained about the gardener, I refrained from watering the fledgling lawn for the duration of your stay.

5. Broken blind – I attended your room to try and fix this as soon as I was able; It need the technician to take it down and fix the internal mechanism; We offered you the choice that being done that afternoon (or the next?) or whether you’d prefer to leave it as is and we’ll do it after you departed. You chose to leave it, it didn't worry us.

6. Deck and BBQ – oh my - you have do really have a unique view on the way the world should be. I suggest in future, you ask a property the dimensions of their deck with extraordinarily magnificent coastal views before you book, so that you don’t have to go on Trip Advisor and complain.

7. Price – full price is $340 per night, not $340. At this rate, the property still represents outstanding value for money, and lesser accommodation regularly fetches prices well above this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Horizon apartments are on top of a hill on the edge of Stanley and overlook the town and The Nut with exquisite views. There are four apartments in total - 2 studios and two larger apartments and each has pretty good privacy. From within the rooms you have absolute privacy, with the only shared amenities being the washing machine and dryer. The apartments are separated into two pairs, each pair sharing a front door / foyer (with the washing machine and dryer) and then having their own entrance to the apartment from the foyer.

The apartments are well designed and very modern. Bright colours, full (although small) kitchen, big bathroom, free-standing bath looking out at The Nut... Very happy. I was also surprised that the free wifi is actually solid - it was able to handle pretty high quality netflix streaming without a hitch :)

Other nice touches - the complimentary breakfast supplies actually include plenty of bacon and eggs etc so you can have a cooked breakfast and there is a BBQ on the balcony.

The only negatives we found with the apartments were: a minor any problem in the kitchen - we solved this by making sure we put things away and using some bug spray; the towels provided were not very good and left fluff on everything, the complimentary shampoo and conditioner etc were your regular 1 day size, which wasn't very useful for a 4 day stay when there is not cleaning / replenishment service; I found the bed mattress a little soft for my tastes.

I'd definitely recommend staying here if planning to stop in Stanley.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr8k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the property to your satisfaction.

Thank you for your constructive comments. We thought that we had replaced all towels that are past their best, but it seems I need to have another look for the ones that you refer to and replace those. Your comment about the shampoos and conditioners is very valid. I had not considered this before, we will now start placing enough in the apartments for the length of stay of the next guests.

We hope to be able to help you again sometime,

Kind regards,

Clint Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Godfrey, a studio apartment at the far end of the complex. As every reviewer has noted, these apartments are well appointed with plenty of fabulous mod cons. The kitchen has more utensils and extras than any other rental apartment I've used. The view is also more rewarding than online photos currently suggest. If you're not use to luxury accommodation you'll simply love these apartments. However, if you stay in boutique accommodation regularly you'll be a little less impressed. Small lapses in detail leave you satisfied but not truly seduced.

For example, the breakfast items are adequate but not luxury. It made no sense to us that the fridge would include fresh milk and juice in open top jugs yet the croissants and bread were wrapped in plastic and frozen. Why not present everything fresh, or simply provide the milk and juice in cartons/bottles as well? A hint of fresh produce just left us feeling a little disappointed. Our bathroom also lacked soap cakes but had all other bathroom amenities in place.

The decor is a real frustration. It's finished and fitted with items that don't quite work as a seamless design experience. For example, the lounge and dining area has three different glass top surfaces within direct line of sight from the kitchen that simply compete for attention. The bathroom layout swaps randomly from a bold, chunky, black and white design on one side of the room to a delicate, light and coastal blue feel on the opposite side.

The competing design features and inconsistent amenities are a real shame. These apartments are wonderfully appointed luxury accommodation that should leave you feeling as if your expectations have been exceeded rather than simply met.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AXSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed in the Studio apartment (part of the 2 bedroom apartment) during Nov 13 for three nights. The quality of the fit out of this property is outstanding. The breakfast provisions were overwhelming and the view is simple the best. Everything is at your finger tips in terms of dishwater, cooking gear, BBQ and spa. Our bathroom (handicap accessible) was enormous and the LED lights in the shower v interesting. If you want a special treat in Tasmania this would have to be it!

Room Tip: any choice is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kookaburra66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We loved our stay at Horizon Deluxe Apartments! I would highly recommend a visit for any couple looking for a private romantic getaway. The apartment was very stylish and had all the mod cons. Our favourite was the huge tub next to the bed that looked out over the ocean. Staff were friendly during the few interactions we had - which is exactly what we were after. The township close by is also very cute and locals welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hi Fiona.
Thanks very much for this review.
I am pleased to hear that you had a such a nice time here in Stanley, and I agree with you - the best thing about these apartments are the baths!
Kind regards,
Clint Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We ended our trip in Tassie with two wonderful nights in the luxurious Godfrey apartment with the most amazing view of Stanley. The apartment provided everything we could possibly ask for. The decor and fittings are absolutely beautiful and the bathroom is the best we have seen. It was definitely a case of saving the best for last! We enjoyed the comfy lounge, fabulous surround sound system, wonderful spa and the remote control blinds were a real treat. We look forward to returning to Stanley and Horizon Deluxe Apartments on our next trip to Tassie.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1l0ve2travel_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Horizon Deluxe Apartments, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello - and thank you so much for these very nice comments.

We are very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant time staying with us. If in fact you do visit us again - you like to request to stay in one of our brand new apartments, but by the sounds of it, you might like to take "Godfrey" again.

Thanks again - have a nice day.
Clint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.1 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#5 of 7 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Deluxe Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Deluxe Apartments

Property: Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Address: 88 Dovecote Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Horizon Deluxe Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the farmland hills overlooking the township of Stanley, the views from Horizon Apartments are simply captivating. Private decks allow guests to unwind while taking in those spectacular vistas over Stanley, the ancient volcanic formation, The Nut, and surrounding beaches. Apartments each have a king-size bed, leather lounges and a full kitchen, including the all-important coffee machine. The modern design extends throughout the open-plan living and bedroom areas and to the ensuite bathroom, with a brilliant freestanding spa overlooking the pastures to the water. Separate bathrooms also feature eye-catching floor-to-ceiling tiles and ultra-modern fittings. Generous breakfast provisions are provided, along with Austar and WiFi facilities. The property is a few minutes' drive from Stanley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Deluxe Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Deluxe Apartments Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing