We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Stanley is like driving full speed into a brick wall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Visiting Stanley is like driving full speed into a brick wall. When we arrived, the streets were deserted, the shops still in their winter hibernation.

It was so quiet ... so peaceful ... another world entirely.

We stayed at Horizon Deluxe Apartments for 4 nights. It was everything it advertised to be and more. You have your own kitchen ... or restaurant just down the road which we thoroughly recommend. Or you you could visit the Providore for cheese, wine and chocolates and sit out on your balcony and enjoy the sunset over the Nut. Or all three... and more.

The people we met both at the Hotel and in town were very friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended is a visit to Highfield House ... take photos at the connvict barracks ruin with the Nut in the background or walk or drive around the area. Everthing was so beautifully emerald green. You can take day trips from Stanley into the very heart of the Tarkine wilderness and be back in time for dinner in 5 star luxury ... very civilised!.

A climb up the Nut is essential taking the chairlift back and a stroll though the cemetry, believe it or not, is fascinating. These are a few of the things we did but there is much, much more to Stanley than you might imagine ... and it is sooo peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartleye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Horizon Deluxe Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 160 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

on opening the front door, we stood in awe at the luxury in front of us. The decor, the cleanliness, the view, the welcoming feeling when opening the refrigerator, to find eggs, milk, juice, bacon sausages, waiting for us.
Cereals, bread, tea & coffee, everything that you could possibly want for a hearty breakfast placed in the cupboards at our fingertips.
The apartment cannot be faulted. We are at the end of a twelve day Tasmania visit and what an ending! We climbed the nut just after our arrival because we knew if we didn't... we wouldn't. We just wanted to stay in the apartment and enjoy it. That's what we'll do for our second day. Congratulations to the owners, you created the dream that we had in our minds for a perfect getaway. We wish the apartments were closer to us!!

Room Tip: Only two apartments on a hill. Couples only. Excellent if you want quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainbevarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

A weekend of luxury! The apartment has breathtaking views of the Nut at Stanley, the staff were very kind and friendly (even when we accidentally broke a glass!). It's a very tranquil place to escape to; the only sounds are birds and cows in the surrounding paddocks. A great place to get away from the bustle of the city.
The Nut View Restaurant food was excellent - we highly recommend the crayfish salad. It's very nice being able to have dinner in your room. Everything is top quality, there are motorised blinds, and you can watch movies from the amazing, huge spa! You'll love staying here! Stanley is also a very cute town with a wonderful bakery.
We stayed here for our wedding anniversary but this place would be perfect for a relaxing honeymoon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravellingjackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Absolute luxury with everything thought of. Relaxing in the spa, sipping champagne (provided) overlooking the very pretty township of Stanley is just magical. Combined with a dining experience at the Cable Station Restaurant these apartments are the pefect get away. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Only two apartments and both are wonderful
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

When you first arrive, everything hits you at once, the view, the spa, the decor, the spa retreat style bathrooom; it's one of those places you pop you bags on the floor and start exploring your new home for the weekend. Little touches like the magnolia brances in vases, and the big spectacular view.

Although you have huge bay windows along one side of the house, the apartment still feels very private and away from prying eyes.

Mmm, the spa. I almost didn't book the place because in the photos the spa looked a bit on the small side; on the contrary, it's quite wide and perfect for top-and-tailing with your partner with room to spare, a lot more comfortable than your average corner spa.

We dined in the restaurant the first night, and although there was a new chef there on their very first day the meal was very good, the orange sorbet with cream was lovely. (We're ordering the Crayfish in-house tomorrow night).

We're staying in the 'Godfrey' unit, there's no-one in 'Tatlow' next door, which is good, as that may have cramped our style a bit with us having the TV up loud, and lounging around the place in the complimentary bathrobes.

Very comfy couch, nicely stocked fridge with breakfast goodies, a few dvds in the drawers if you get bored (we brought our own), even a couple of board games.

A few handy hints for first time Stanly visitors like ourselves: there's an I.G.A in the town for a few groceries, and the Stanley Hotel Bistro has a bottle shop (although next time we'd byo alcohol for convenience), if you need a supermarket there is a Woolworths in Smithton down the highway a bit further.

We're doing the Seal Cruise tomorrow, should be a blast,

If you're heading out to Beauty Point next and you enjoyed Horizon Deluxe Apartments, you might also enjoy Pomona Spa Cottages, another nice self-conntained spa apartment. Maybe do Anvers, Raspberry Farm, Ashgrove Cheeses, and the Platypus House and Seahorse World on the way/while you're there (although Platypus/Seahorse was a little exy).

Overall, thoughroughly enjoying the experience of staying at Horizon Deluxe Apartments.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RikkiSowtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Enjoyed a fabulous 3 night stay in this stunning apartment. Truly 5 star in every view and with views to die for. The spa, as has been mentioned previously, is amazing. Everything has been thought of here. Stanley is a cute little town. We ate at the pub one night and the food was good. The Swingin Anchor Cafe in town has some great home made food - had a couple of lunches there. An absolutely relaxing 3 days during our 2 week tour of Tasmania.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oztraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed for two nights mid-way during our 6 night stay in Tasmania and just loved the place. The views were fantastic and the facilities were just great. It was the only venue on our trip that enabled easy washing of clothes and the kitchen was well equipped for easy self-catering. We found it a great base for exploring Stanley which had so much to offer. The bed was very comfortable and the spa great way to end the day. It was just as well there were good instructions for the array of electronic gadgets in the unit as it was a bit confusing without it. The breakfast items were very helpful and tasty. We chose to dine at the local Stanley Hotel which we found to be excellent (so good we went there for the two nights). But if you don’t want to trek back into town, you can equally dine in using the well equipped kitchen and BBQ on the balcony or eat at the restaurant “downstairs”. The fairy penguins coming ashore in town and the walk around the top of the nut were highlights. We found Stanley a fascinating, relaxing and enjoyable stay and would recommend it to others. The Horizon apartments are a luxury way to enjoy the place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
201 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
313 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
497 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
1.0 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Deluxe Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Deluxe Apartments

Address: 88 Dovecote Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Stanley
Price Range: $191 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Horizon Deluxe Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the farmland hills overlooking the township of Stanley, the views from Horizon Apartments are simply captivating. Private decks allow guests to unwind while taking in those spectacular vistas over Stanley, the ancient volcanic formation, The Nut, and surrounding beaches. Apartments each have a king-size bed, leather lounges and a full kitchen, including the all-important coffee machine. The modern design extends throughout the open-plan living and bedroom areas and to the ensuite bathroom, with a brilliant freestanding spa overlooking the pastures to the water. Separate bathrooms also feature eye-catching floor-to-ceiling tiles and ultra-modern fittings. Generous breakfast provisions are provided, along with Austar and WiFi facilities. The property is a few minutes' drive from Stanley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Deluxe Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Deluxe Apartments Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing