We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanley Village Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly situated”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A rather quirky little motel, wonderfully situated on the coast with sea views from each unit. Parking space is tight, as this isn't a large site. The rooms are small, but well fitted with all the usual motel room facilities. Happily the owners have seen fit not to install those hard, uncomfortable mattress so prevalent in motels - combined with the sound of the ocean this made for a restful night's sleep. The continental breakfast offered is one of the best we've encountered and our host was friendly, with terrific local knowledge. The only criticism was the bath/shower - mould that can be removed by a guest with a tissue, should have been removed by the cleaning staff beforehand. Hopefully an isolated oversight, and as everything else in the unit was spotless, we'd take a chance on this place again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    38
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
87
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, the room was lovely, claen and comfortable. the sound of waves on the forshore was great. Check in and out was easy and quick. The breakfast was very good and unrushed. An easy walk to the centre of the village and the beaches. We will go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 on the ground floor, good if you dont like steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Was there one night and it was a lovely place, nice hosts, great brekky and what a location!!!
The bed is very comfy, rooms clean and view from the room quite something . Would stay again

The folks there are friendly and always had a smile.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portia1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Stanley Village Motel and our only regret is that it was only for two nights.It is a great place to relax and feel at ease after a long day of travel .Welcoming and helpful,Debbie and Philip really know how to look after guests .The room was exceedingly well appointed, spotlessly clean and with every concievable complimentory item, including bath robes, plunger coffee and chocolates! Location was excellent.Right on the waterfront with a great view of the bay, we could hear the sea at night.The bed was very comfortable and the flat screen TV was a good brand.Complementary continental breakfast was great,featuring produce from a nearby garden, and served in a renovated railway station.Great attention to detail is shown in every aspect of this place.Daily servicing of the room was of a very high standard. We had a delicious meal in the onsite restaurant.Extremely good value for the high qualty of the food and service.Stanley was a highlight of our first trip to Tassie and we plan to return and stay at this motel again.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If travelling to Tasmania take the time to spend a night at Stanley. This motel complements the beautiful, historic and quaint fishing village. The motel is located right on the water and the room, although not overly large, was decorated tastefully and had every conceivable appointment. The reception is located in the restored train station and it is worth spending a half an hour looking through memorabilia. The proprietors are cheerful and helpful. The motel and the town should not be missef

Room Tip: All of the rooms offer beautiful views and direct access to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot - the owners were really friendly and helpful (carried our bags on arrival and departure) and had thought of everything that might be needed in the room. The bedroom was spacious with comfortable bed and good quality bed linen. There was plenty of storage space in the room - we wished we were staying longer! Immaculate bathroom with spa bath and powerful shower. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant with Tasmanian taster plate to start followed by good steak and fish. Efficient and friendly service. Because the dessert we had chosen took 20 minutes to cook they suggested we might like to enjoy it in our room. It was brought up to us under a silver tureen and we sat in comfortable chairs near our bedroom window watching the darkness fall and waiting for the penguins to return for the night - a unique and relaxing experience for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diannuccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for one night and would really have liked to stay longer but were headed home. Everything about this Motel is excellent. Deb and Phillip, the owners, were so friendly, the room was very comfortable with an amazing view and breakfast was fresh and abundant ~ thank you. If we are ever in Stanley again I would revisit this Motel without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese4828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
185 reviews
11.3 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanley
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Village Motel

Property: Stanley Village Motel
Address: 11 - 17 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Village Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Stanley, the only place to stay is on the waterfront at Stanley Village. Stanley Village is a boutique waterfront hotel and restaurant nestled under The Nut, within walking distance of activities in the township. THE BOND STORE restaurant is located in the historic bluestone building built in 1835 from ships ballast. Our fully licensed a-la-carte restaurant serves the finest in locally grown produce specialising in superb steak and succulent seafood. Explore the area, enjoy a delicious dinner in the restaurant, watch the sun go down - but you will be asked to share the view with the local penguin population who happily wonder through the property and entertain! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stanley Village Motel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing