We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Hanlon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanlon House
Ranked #3 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We very rarely stay in B&B's but were shunted here after a booking error at The Old Cable Station.(Which we had booked 5 or 6 months in advance). All I can say is what a delightful place.
We stayed in the upstairs room (Amy Belle) A charming room, tastefully decorated and a wonderful view across the sand and sea.
A lot has been said about the hosts Maxine & Graham so I won't go in to that except to say it's all true.
Breakfast in the dining room was amazing. Both the view and the food.
The Eggs Benedict are absolutely wonderful.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 220 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Having our last breakfast at the Maxine & Grahams Hanlon House in Stanley Tasmania. Enjoying a gourmet breakfast, looking out at a spectacular view of Bass Strait and reflecting in a pretty amazing B&B experience. Stanley is a lovely place to visit. The Nut is fascinating, the seals and penguins nature at it best and the whole area is quite majestic and very natural.

I can't imagine a better way to experience Stanley than as guests of Maxine and Graham at Hanlon House. A stunning location, at the foot of the Nut right on the bay. The house itself is beautiful, clean tidy and tastefully decorated. Rooms are, large and private.
But the secret ingredient to Hanlon House is Maxine and Graham. They run the place like a well oiled machine, working tirelessly to provide a 7 star experience to their guests. And no matter how busy they are with logistics, they always have time for a chat, to share local knowledge or make suggestions for things to do in their town.

We highly recommend Hanlon House to anyone visiting Stanley when they are in Tasmania.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJB2065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Maxine and Graham are excellent hosts and joyfully share their lovely family home with visitors . While remaining professional they engendered a sense of caring in their approach to us, their guests. They happily recommended and booked restaurants and events, and clearly are wonderful ambassadors for the delights that Stanley and the North West have to offer. Try the apricots poached in brandy with your cereal before enjoying marvellous eggs benedict for breakfast! We would certainly recommend Hanlon House.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room at the front of the house was close to the guest sitting room with its tea mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 458Jo_C458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Maxine was on her way out when we arrived, so Graham came down from the scaffolding where he was painting the house and made us coffee, then sat and chatted about the attractions of Stanley and the surrounding area. He then rang and made a dinner booking for us at the pub, as well as the cruise on the Arthur River for the next day. Then he resumed his painting! There was nothing to fault in our stay at Hanlon House. Breakfast at the bespoke Tasmanian blackwood dining table was memorable, the fire in the guest lounge was truly welcoming and the views of The Nut and the beach fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarJohn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Great location, marvellous host who cooks an amazing breakfast. Incredible views over the beach and headlands. Would definitely stay here again, where else can you find penguins in the backyard?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW1150Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

we arrived unannounced late in the afternoon lucky enough to get a room no trouble with anything could not be more helpful open fire at night walked with penquens woke to a beautiful breaky and great company carnt wait to go back.

Room Tip: top room quiet and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hanlon House is a pure delight. Located almost at the base of "The Nut" at Stanley, the views are stunning. The beautiful beach of the Bass Strait is to the other side and can be seen from the breakfast room. My friend and I had the pleasure of staying in the family suite upstairs and therefore had a bedroom each, a sitting room and bathroom to ourselves. The whole house is beautifully kept and clean, furnished with charming antique and vintage furniture with lots of special little touches such as sweeties in a glass bowl in your bedroom and soft, fluffy robes in the wardrobes. The first room off the front entrance is a guests sitting room - also sweetly furnished in vintage/antique with a crackling log fire plus port and sherry to warm the insides as well. Coffee and tea can be made here at any hour. Maxine was coping solo during our stay but she really is the hostess with the mostest! Nothing is too much trouble and she was helpful and kind but not at all intrusive. Her breakfasts are astonishing - the choices are wide-ranging and very different from the norm but deliciously gourmet! Breakfast is served in a large, airy room that overlooks the Bass Strait. It is warmed by a wood-fired stove. We really didn't want to leave. It really did feel like a home away from home - warm, comfy, magic location and also within 5 minutes easy walk from the hub of the town. I especially liked that the house looked inviting, bright and informal and even smelled delicious. I could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissJaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanlon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanlon House

Address: 6 Marshall St, Stanley, Tasmania 7330, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $105 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanlon House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanlon House is everything a seaside accommodation should be - a perfect mix of history, character and hospitality. Centrally located under the Nut and close to the beach. Enjoy our quality en-suited rooms and spectacular dinning room overlooking the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanlon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanlon House Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing