We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #4 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Find”
Reviewed May 3, 2006

If you are in the Stanley area then the Beachside Retreat is a great find. The setting is superb and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabins are an original design but very well appointed with plenty of comfort and lots of attention to detail. The site itself has a wonderful ambience that takes advantage of the waterfront site and lets you look out on one of the cleanest environments that nature has to offer. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
191
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 3, 2006

We toured tasmania for the month of february to escape the worst of our scottish winter. We had done a whistle stop tour for a week thirty one years ago and always meant to return but four kids and a thousand acres of potatoes got in the way. Tasmania is lovely , everything was great and about two thirds of prices at home. We played 15 golf courses , many without seeing a soul. We booked the bungalow beside the farm steading for three nights and stayedfor five. My wife fell in love with west inlet and did not want to leave. Stanley has the famous nut and many lovely restuarants. Shingle Inn was my favourite run by a very lovely mother and daughter , also Stanley-on-the -bay was very good , for lunch I sneaked of to "best burgers in the world" in the centre of town. If anyone is looking for lovely self catering facilities in a great location book into west inlet , you will not regret it. The Bishops offered an eco cabin when one became free , but although it looked great we were delighted to stay where we were in the bungalow. You have to learn to have your evening meal between 1800hrs and 2000hrs so probably will not suit the french. If flying from UK try Gulf Air business class not as expensive as some of the others and a great way to travel and the use of business lounges makes traveling half way round the world an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 3, 2006

We have lived in several countries including England, Saudi Arabia, Iran and Australia and have had holidays in many more - but have never found a place that had everything we'd want on a holiday - as this place did.
We really enjoyed walking along the beautiful beach which was so near to our chalet,.As dusk fell it was pure magic to watch possums and wallabies emerging from the bush, one possum even came onto our verandah.!
The proprietor was most helpful in being able to answer our questions on names of local flora and fauna and even loaned us her own bird book. We would haved loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2006

This property is stunning and amazing value for the facilities offered.

The architecture of the ecocabins is innovative and their beachside location is idyllic. Ours was furnished with modern handmade wooden furniture and had wonderful views out to sea. It is a wonderful place to relax for a few days and has many good restaurants nearby in Stanley.

The owners could not have been more helpful or welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank CBick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

The Bishops have lovingly created these beachside cabins with all custom designs. Every detail was given careful, expert attention. It was just stunning. You have to see this to believe it.

Our cabin had a large porthole view of The Nut, big enough for an adult to sit in (I did). The bathroom was done in ocean colors, so it almost felt like I was swimming in the ocean when I showered. The woods in the coffee table, bed headboard, etc. were all unique and beautifully crafted. Were they furniture or were they art? We had all we needed, could have cooked full meals for a family quite comfortably here. Janette had put together a wonderful binder on local flora, fauna, restaurants, activities.

They also paid great attention to the environment, with no sacrifice to comfort. I really appreciate the attention to Tasmania's environment.

We have traveled all over the world, and no place has come close to delighting our senses and sensibilities like the Beachside Retreat in Stanley. It is what will bring us back to Tasmania, from the United States.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Property: Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing