We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation Plus - 6 stars !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Well deserved of its rating, the Beachside Retreat is the ultimate escape. Sheltered, secluded beach with not a soul in sight, right on the doorstep. Modern and unique accommodation, well equipped facilities, not far from picturesque Stanley. Truly relaxing! The roads in the north of Tasmania are the best in the state but be prepared for a long drive from Hobart. Enjoyed a terrific feed of fish and chips at The Seafood Restaurant above the takeaway but the Nut View Restaurant is to be avoided- overpriced and low quality pub-like food.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fariybreadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 243 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2009

Just returned from this wonderful retreat.
Facilities were first class, hosts lovely and welcoming, setting spectacular, beach walks stunning.
Peace and quiet.... glad we stayed the two nights and would have stayed longer if we could.
The evening we arrived we were greeted by a superb sunset and, only metres from our deck, three dolphins gambolling along the Inlet accompanying a lone fisherman in his small boat.
Perfect !
Could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Leonie & I spent 3 great nights in this well appointed lodge. The walks along the beach at low tide were terrific & the verandah of the lodge a perfect setting for a BBQ & a glass of wine. We will visit again & would certainly recommend this well run destination.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lct12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

This was the perfect place for us to have a relaxing babymoon. Even though it was very windy and a little rainy, it was the perfect place to curl up and read a book. The large windows made for wonderful views of the beach and abundance of wildlife. Our second night there the wind died down and we were able to stroll the beach, which felt like it belonged to us, not another person in sight. Beautiful clear water and my husband was able to find an oyster to eat straight off the rocks.
Overall a very comfortable and relaxing holiday. I am sure we will be back again, I am dying to get in that crystal clear beach water!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

We really enjoyed our time at these eco-cabins. The view was exhilarating. Walking the deserted (early spring) beach was delightful. We found Stanley to be a wonderful small town with enough places to eat and shop for a few days. Had a wild climb up 'the nut', the hill that is the backside of Stanley. Chris and Janette, our hosts, were very helpful and one day Chris generously toured us around to some local sights and shops. We purchased a breakfast basket from them two days and ended up with more than enough food for some extra snacks and a third breakfast. We would heartily recommend this experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Beachside Retreat is just that - a collection of secluded eco-cabins designed for maximum privacy, overlooking a very beautiful beach. The interiors are aesthetically handcrafted from Tasmanian timbers which enhances the feeling of being in this enchanted isle. The Retreat is located on a stunning farm several kilometres from Stanley, a unique and unspoilt fishing village that retains a strong historical flavour without being touristy (but the coffee and food are excellent). As well as the wonderful beach, the farm has nature trails into the beachside forest. Every morning and evening we walked along the shore, often seeing sea eagles, and soaking up the ever-changing beauty of the water and sky. The sunsets on the beach are very special because of the gentle water of the inlet and the muted glow of the Tasmanian light. The accommodation is of the highest quality, and the hosts, Jeanette and Chris Bishop, are charming and most helpful. This is an experience not to be missed - you will assuredly want to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Inparadiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

This was one of the best places we have stayed at in Australia - we did have a great time and with friendly people we really can say - stay here without fear of finding a dud!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Die_5_SONKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
205 reviews
2.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
223 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $104 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing