We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at Beachside Retreat West Inlet for 3 nights of a 25 night trip to Tassie. As I booked the accommodation on line myself, my husband was very impressed with the quality of the accommodation. Our cabin "Sandpiper" was fantastic - I am sure all cabins at Beachside Retreat are equally so. Sandpiper is a luxury private stand-alone unit with private beach access and perfectly situated for touring the North West coast of Tasmania. It added a special touch to drive past the beautiful brown cattle as we drove into the property. Many tours can be booked through the owners and we could have stayed a week or longer. We loved it. We visited Dismal Swamp and the Arthur River, climbed the Nut and had several dinners at Xanders at Stanley.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hi LorraineB,
Thank you for your review. So glad your husband was impressed with your choice of accommodation. Most of the cabins are different in design, but all have similar first-class, unique fittings and their own private space on the dunes. Our cattle are about to change from the red Maine-Anjou you saw, to black Angus, as we have changed from 40 years of stud breeding to finishing (fattening) cattle for export. There is plenty to see and do in this regional area of Tasmania and some guests have stayed with us for several weeks at a time. Looking forward to seeing you again one day. Best Wishes Janette.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 245 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We travelled to Tassie on our honeymoon, camping for a majority of it (my husbands choice). I had booked us into the Beachside Retreat for our last four nights of the trip. I couldn't have picked a better place! We stayed in the Sea Eagle and it was absolutely stunning. I could not believe how close we were to the beach, which was so private. My husband loves oysters so he was sooo excited to get fresh oysters off the rocks. I love cooking so it was so nice to have the full kitchen available and we loved the hot tub looking out over the beach. It was such a relaxing and luxurious end to our honeymoon and I would stay there again in an instant. Have already recommended to friends and family. Thank you Janette & Chris for you wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: The Sea Eagle is perfect for couples on a romantic trip or honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hi ViV W,
Thank you for your review. So pleased you were able to end your honeymoon in such a beautiful, peaceful location, after braving inclement weather in a tent. Sea Eagle is our top cabin and ideal for a special occasion; very private and with the delight of a hot tub on the dunes. Oysters are plentiful at low tide and your husband was very enthusiastic at collecting and opening them. I believe he rang his grandfather for advice on opening them. 'Any way you can' was his reply.
We would love to see you again, one day. Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed for one week in the Sandpiper Cottage on beautiful West Inlet. We found the cottage to be clean and comfortable. It was furnished with unique materials such as the burl wood coffee table, the treated steel countertop and the ocean rock bathroom floor. The living room features a large porthole window with a padded seat from which you can gaze at the local fauna. The kitchen is very practical and includes fridge, microwave, cook top and small appliances. The bedroom has adequate storage. The bed is firm.

The location is outstanding. The deck faces to the west overlooking the ocean and allows views of gorgeous sunsets. You have access to a virtually private beach that seems to go on forever. By car you are only three kilometres to the quaint little fishing village of Stanley.

Chris and Janette were very good hosts and were thoughtful enough to invite all of their guests to a meet-and-greet social on Christmas Day. We enjoyed our time in this truly amazing and beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hi mcbear,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found your cabin clean and comfortable; cleanliness rates very highly on our cabin presentation. The furnishing ideas were instigated by our furniture designer/maker son Mark, who constructed the cabins using local materials and Tasmanian rainforest timbers. The westerly-facing cabins capture the most amazing sunsets, especially on tranquil evenings when the sea reflects the pink colour of the sky. It was a pleasure having all 15 guests meet and greet over drinks and nibblies on Christmas day, by the pool. Many were from overseas and missing their loved ones and they thoroughly enjoyed the companionship of like-minded people, some of whom are keeping in touch, I believe. Hope your return trip to Canada was uneventful.
Best wishes
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have returned to this beautiful place again and found it every bit as comfortable and enjoyable as our first visit. The view over the water across the inlet is a spectacular window on the moods of the natural surroundings - the sunsets are simply spectacular, a photographers delight. I am sure it will not be too long before we return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wedderburn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hi Wedderburn08,
Thank you for your second stay at Beachside Retreat and for another review. We are pleased that you found the property every bit as enjoyable as your first trip. The sunsets are still superb and the moodiness of the environment changes daily. Fortunately, as we have not increased our tariff for a long time, we were able to offer you a cabin for the same amount as you paid three and a half years ago, which was excellent value.
Looking forward to your return.
Regards Janette.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Janette and Chris, the owners, are wonderful hosts: attentive, thoughtful and kind. The units are beautifully designed and very comfortable, and overlook a stunning sandy bay. Sit on the balcony with your favourite tipple and watch the sun going down and forget your cares whilst listening to the cries of the seabirds.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Hi Mike Galway,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying in one of our unique beach houses, sited amongst the dunes, overlooking the secluded inlet. The red sunsets are amazing and the diverse birdlife always interesting to observe. The diminishing numbers of the endangered hooded plovers are a constant concern, as they are only just surviving here. We hope that we may have the pleasure of your company again, although we know that you have travelled from the other side of the world. Best wishes Janette and Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Beachside Retreat was everything we hoped for and more. Its location next to West Inlet is delightful with the constantly changing tide and the comings and goings of birds and other wildlife. Our accommodation at Oystercatcher Cabin was perfect with exceptional views over the inlet. Inside, the cabin was well appointed, clean and comfortable and the overall design most appealing. Staying on the property and walking along the beach would have made a wonderful holiday without going anywhere else, but that said, other attractions of the area are in close enough proximity. We enjoyed climbing the Nut and also drove to Arthur River and the End of the World. We are very much looking forward to another visit and highly recommend Beachside Retreat to anyone seeking peaceful seclusion.
Merrilyn and Roger

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Hi MerrilynS,
Thank you for your review. So glad you found everything you were hoping for and more. The location of the property can be dramatic with the changing colours of the landscape, the different moods of the sea and the interesting wildlife. The accommodation was specially designed with the comforts of guests in mind and using the services of an environmental architect, ensured we created the perfect holiday 'shack' within the coastal setting. Looking forward to seeing you again at a later date. Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A beautiful, peaceful and convenient location for exploring the north west and west of Tasmania. Wonderful walks on the beach, stunning views and luxurious, eco-friendly accommodation. An ideal place to relax, enjoy a special occasion or visit the Tarkine. We didn't give ourselves enough time to do what we wanted so we'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hi GregS,
Thank you for your review.
Our property is situated conveniently to many attractions including a National Park, river cruises, lovely gardens and majestic waterfalls. Every taste is catered to, from rambling nature walks to historic estates. As you discovered, plenty of time is needed to experience and appreciate everything there is on offer and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
206 reviews
9 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
338 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
230 reviews
2.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
133 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bay View Guesthouse
Bay View Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $147 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing