We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the owners which set the benchmark for a truly enjoyable experience. The set up of this property allows for a very private stay with each cabin settled in its own private space overlooking a magnificent view across the Western Inlet and further to Bass Strait. We experienced wild weather and then total calm and the bay and its moods changed accordingly, absolutely stunning!
The cabin (Pelican) which we stayed in was not only unique in design and décor it was also very welcoming and comfortable - we felt very much at home.
We appreciated all the facilities provided ranging from BBQ to the very well set up kitchen.
We have no hesitation in recommending this property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Hi Bobs,
Thank you for your appreciative review. Pelican is everyone's favourite cabin; possibly because of it's position, adjacent to the bush track to the beach and it's quirky design. September was one of the wildest months we have experienced in the 37 years we have lived on the property, the stormy weather was relentless; mother nature can be very unforgiving. Love to see you again in the summer months when the weather is much kinder.
Best Wishes Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 244 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at beachside retreat in Pelican cabin based on the great reviews here on T/A and can honestly say that we weren't disappointed.
It is one of those locations that doesn't matter when the weather gods are not smiling, as was the case during our stay.
Beautifully and thoughtfully designed, each cabin is private from the rest and there is a nice feeling of remoteness whilst only being a five minute drive from Stanley township. The decor is unusual and of high quality and each cabin has both indoor & outdoor opportunity to absorb the beauty of its surroundings.

Booking and check in was simple and then the place felt like ours for the next 4 days. Access to the beach during our stay was difficult due to weather, however we did get a great sense of what it can be like during fine weather when on the last morning the wind stopped and the sun came out in full bloom... I was able to watch a local fisherman drift by and in the space of just a few moments landed 4 decent size fish right in front of our cabin.

If we return to this beautiful part of Tassie I would have no hesitation in rebooking at Beachside Retreat.

Room Tip: Pelican is the last Cabin and therefore does not have other cars driving by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belljoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hi bellojohn,
Glad you enjoyed your stay in our latest contemporary cabin, Pelican and that it came up to your expectation. Location of each cabin was carefully considered, from the beginning, to ensure the utmost in privacy to guests. Only high quality fittings were sourced and designer-made furniture used. Many guests prefer booking directly from our comprehensive website; it is so quick and easy. As regards fishing in the inlet, we do have fishing rods available for guest use and also parking for boats. Sorry the weather was so wild when you were here; September has been exceptional this year. Hope to see you again in calmer times.
Best Wishes,
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with a 3 week trip to Tasmania in March. The highlight was our stay at the Beachside Retreat! We spent 3 nights in the Sandpiper cabin. The beach was endless, and empty of people, but full of shells! We pulled the deck chairs out into the front and watched the Milky Way unfold above us. We took a tour with Chris into the Tarkine and really felt like we were seeing an insider's view into a beautiful part of the world. Both Chris and Janet are wonderful hosts! We would highly recommend this property and hope to return ourselves.

Room Tip: Loved the Sandpiper, perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattinichols21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi Patti,
Belated congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary. So glad you could spend it with us and Beachside Retreat proved to be the highlight of your Tasmanian visit. There are seldom more than a couple of people on the beach; usually you have it all to yourselves. Our night skies are the clearest in the world and the Tarkine the closest place to nature. Hope you will have the opportunity to return one day. Thank you for your review.
Best Wishes, Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had previously stayed for 2 nights in Oyster Catcher Ecocabin, a secluded waterfront self-contained unit and because we enjoyed it so much returned and stayed for a longer period of time. We were there during winter and found The Lodge to be cosy, comfortable and warm. We enjoyed walks on the secluded beach, eating fresh wild oysters from the rocks. Wild life was in its abundance ranging from pelicans, sea eagles, soldier crabs and oyster catcher birds. There are many attractions in the local area to keep you busy.
Janette and Chris were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much for them.
We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi JCLM,
Thank you for your review and repeat stay with us at Beachside Retreat.
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, despite the winter weather and that you are planning your next trip. The wildlife is wonderful and the area as a whole is totally unspoilt. Loved your sunrise image over the Nut. Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Best Wishes Janette.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely spot right on the water. Well appointed cabin with interesting design. Loved the wildlife especially the birds. Good access to Stanley and other interesting places. Highly recommended . We would definitely stay again. Great hosts..

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi Stephen,
Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The bird life is remarkable and the animals emerge shortly after sunset. We hope to see you again shortly, when your booking is for an extended stay.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend a weekend in the Oystercatcher cabin and could not fault the experience. Photos don't do this property justice as they just can't depict the feel of it. Janette and Chris were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much for them. The cleanliness of our room was second to none and it had a wonderful blend of uniqueness and practicality. We would highly recommend the breakfast hamper for Chris's home made bread (this teamed with the farm eggs consumed on the deck watching the tide go out was one of the highlight of our stay) and Janette's home made preserves also made a nice touch to the hamper. Wandering along the properties beach was just lovely and we found our whole stay so very relaxing

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeliP-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi KeliP,
Thank you for your review; it is always appreciated when guests take time out to write one.
Both ecocabins are unique and very difficult to photograph, being high-set on the frontal dune, so most of our images need to be taken from a helicopter.
We love it when guests are happy so we try to make their stay as enjoyable as possible.
Thank you for the amazing photos, especially the ones at night showing the coloured lighting around the lap pool and spa. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. I'm sure we shall see you again one day.
Best Wishes,
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This would truly be one of our favourite places. We stayed two nights in the Sea Eagle Luxury Nature Cabin. What a wonderful experience, a hot tub in the sand dunes! Wow!! We enjoyed every minute, we only wish that it was longer. The cabin is absolutely beautiful, sea views across the front, quality fittings and the peacefulness of the place. The name says it all "Beachside Retreat", and it truly is. We have always loved Stanley, it has lovely eateries and is a quaint, historic little town. So much to do and see. Chris and Janette are lovely hosts. We highly recommend Beachside Retreat to anyone needing a relaxing get away with the option of things to see and do. We are already planning out next visit, hopefully before the hot tub closes for the winter.

Room Tip: Sea Eagle is a wonderful cabin to celebrate a special occasion. A hot tub in the sand dunes, wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueH1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi SueH,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Sea Eagle, with it's hot tub atop the dunes; a lovely experience overlooking the water. At night it is magical with the uplighting of the coastal foliage and native plants. Sea Eagle is our top cabin with craftsman-made bespoke furniture from Tasmanian rainforest timbers and is wonderful for any special occasion. It was nice meeting you and we look forward to your return.
Best wishes Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
203 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
316 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
220 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
195 reviews
2.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $108 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing