We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely spot right on the water. Well appointed cabin with interesting design. Loved the wildlife especially the birds. Good access to Stanley and other interesting places. Highly recommended . We would definitely stay again. Great hosts..

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi Stephen,
Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The bird life is remarkable and the animals emerge shortly after sunset. We hope to see you again shortly, when your booking is for an extended stay.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 244 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend a weekend in the Oystercatcher cabin and could not fault the experience. Photos don't do this property justice as they just can't depict the feel of it. Janette and Chris were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much for them. The cleanliness of our room was second to none and it had a wonderful blend of uniqueness and practicality. We would highly recommend the breakfast hamper for Chris's home made bread (this teamed with the farm eggs consumed on the deck watching the tide go out was one of the highlight of our stay) and Janette's home made preserves also made a nice touch to the hamper. Wandering along the properties beach was just lovely and we found our whole stay so very relaxing

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeliP-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi KeliP,
Thank you for your review; it is always appreciated when guests take time out to write one.
Both ecocabins are unique and very difficult to photograph, being high-set on the frontal dune, so most of our images need to be taken from a helicopter.
We love it when guests are happy so we try to make their stay as enjoyable as possible.
Thank you for the amazing photos, especially the ones at night showing the coloured lighting around the lap pool and spa. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. I'm sure we shall see you again one day.
Best Wishes,
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This would truly be one of our favourite places. We stayed two nights in the Sea Eagle Luxury Nature Cabin. What a wonderful experience, a hot tub in the sand dunes! Wow!! We enjoyed every minute, we only wish that it was longer. The cabin is absolutely beautiful, sea views across the front, quality fittings and the peacefulness of the place. The name says it all "Beachside Retreat", and it truly is. We have always loved Stanley, it has lovely eateries and is a quaint, historic little town. So much to do and see. Chris and Janette are lovely hosts. We highly recommend Beachside Retreat to anyone needing a relaxing get away with the option of things to see and do. We are already planning out next visit, hopefully before the hot tub closes for the winter.

Room Tip: Sea Eagle is a wonderful cabin to celebrate a special occasion. A hot tub in the sand dunes, wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueH1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi SueH,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Sea Eagle, with it's hot tub atop the dunes; a lovely experience overlooking the water. At night it is magical with the uplighting of the coastal foliage and native plants. Sea Eagle is our top cabin with craftsman-made bespoke furniture from Tasmanian rainforest timbers and is wonderful for any special occasion. It was nice meeting you and we look forward to your return.
Best wishes Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

What an amazing place to stay & enjoy the scenery and tranquility of the surroundings. The design of the cabins is unique, especially the bathroom. We enjoyed our afternoon drinks sitting on the deck watching the ocean and the birds. It was great to be so close to the beach & we enjoyed many walks along it. We would definately recommend Beachside Retreat to our friends. Thanks to Chris & Jeanette for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynetteandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hi lynetteandbruce,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our unique ecocabins.
The position is amazing, sited on the dunes overlooking the beach. To be able to sit on the deck, listening to the birds and observing, in tune with nature, the ever changing coastal scenery, is very relaxing. We would love to see you again one day, or your friends. It was a pleasure meeting you.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for a week in the Pelican cabin. We had a wonderful time in this part of Tasmania. Beachside Retreat has a superb setting with gorgeous views on the West Inlet Bay and the Pelican has everything you might expect from a nature, self-catering, luxury cabin. We had breakfast on the terrace with view on the sea and the pelicans and we have made lovely walks on the beach nearby. We also went to Stanley for a beautiful walk on the Nut, to the Dip Falls, the Rocky Cape National Park and we had a magnificent cruise on the Arrhur River. Each day it was lovely to return again to the Pelican cabin with its quietness and its splendid, secluded position.
Thank you very much for your hospitality, Chris & Janette.
You have been great hosts!

A & P - the Netherlands

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tp28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Hi tp_13,
Thank you for your lovely review.
You certainly saw a substantial amount of the area, packing a lot into your weeks stay in Pelican and appreciated the seclusion and lovely position of your cabin on your return. Stanley is a delightful place to visit, very pretty and totally unique.
Perhaps we shall see you again one day, if you should visit this part of the world again.
Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed in the 'Pelican' retreat for a week in February 2013. I'd been looking for somewhere to get away from everything and everyone for a little while as my life had been truly hectic and emotionally draining. My wish list for accommodation included: being stylish; suitable for one person; air conditioned; self-contained; private; and being in a serene location. Beachside Retreat West Inlet met all of these things when searching on-line (a surprisingly few places ticked all boxes). Pleasingly the retreat was even better than expected. The solitude I so wanted was provided in spades! The Architect responsible for the design of the 'Pelican' retreat should be congratulated for creating such a beautiful space to relax in by yourself. Plus Janette and Chris couldn’t have been less obtrusive if they tried. It really felt like I had a piece of the world to myself for the week such was the rarity of seeing another person (I only encountered one other guest on my daily walks on the amazingly beautiful private beach). I honestly came away feeling refreshed and reenergized. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this retreat to people who want to get away from their lives for a while.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all fabulous, but the 'Pelican' is the last one in the row so no-one e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Stewart,
Thank you for your review and spending time on our property. It's nice to know that you achieved what you set out to do - to rest, relax and rejuvenate. Privacy and solitude in tune with nature, is what we offer - just you, the birds, the wildlife and the sounds of the sea. Next time try the heated salt water pool and spa, absolutely magical at night under the stars. Glad to hear you are feeling great after your retreat. Perhaps we shall see you again, one day.
Best wishes. Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed over the Australia Day long weekend in the 'Pelican' cabin. The cabin itself was immaculate, very well laid out and had a beautiful view from the living/dining room and the deck. We had breakfast on the deck both mornings, enjoying the scenery and we also took lovely long walks along the beach (it was pristine and we didn't see a soul). We also took a half day tour to the Tarkine forest with Chris - he was a very good guide and had lots of interesting facts to share. The picnic lunch (part of the tour) was also lovely - so much so that we even had a couple of bees join the picnic!
We also liked the fact that Beachside Retreat was less than a 10 min drive from Stanley town and the various tourist attractions such as the Nut, and not much further to the Cable Station restaurant where we had a lovely dinner.
This was our second visit to Beachside Retreat and it was everything we expected. We will definitely be back again. Thanks Janette and Chris for being such lovely hosts.
Justin & Joice S

Room Tip: If you don't need a spa, the Pelican cabin is the way to go as it is the newest cabin and is sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandjs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi Justin and Joice,
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Pelican nature cabin. The Tarkine Tour is very interesting and is also very comfortable on the gravel tracks, in our new luxury 4WD vehicle. We have reduced the tour to a half day as this enables guests to participate in other activities, such as a seal cruise, when time is limited. Nice to see you again, the second time in 3 months. Bye for now.
Best wishes. Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
205 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
532 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
2.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $108 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing