We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachside Retreat West Inlet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #4 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beachside Retreat West Inlet”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This would truly be one of our favourite places. We stayed two nights in the Sea Eagle Luxury Nature Cabin. What a wonderful experience, a hot tub in the sand dunes! Wow!! We enjoyed every minute, we only wish that it was longer. The cabin is absolutely beautiful, sea views across the front, quality fittings and the peacefulness of the place. The name says it all "Beachside Retreat", and it truly is. We have always loved Stanley, it has lovely eateries and is a quaint, historic little town. So much to do and see. Chris and Janette are lovely hosts. We highly recommend Beachside Retreat to anyone needing a relaxing get away with the option of things to see and do. We are already planning out next visit, hopefully before the hot tub closes for the winter.

Room Tip: Sea Eagle is a wonderful cabin to celebrate a special occasion. A hot tub in the sand dunes, wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueH1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi SueH,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Sea Eagle, with it's hot tub atop the dunes; a lovely experience overlooking the water. At night it is magical with the uplighting of the coastal foliage and native plants. Sea Eagle is our top cabin with craftsman-made bespoke furniture from Tasmanian rainforest timbers and is wonderful for any special occasion. It was nice meeting you and we look forward to your return.
Best wishes Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
191
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

What an amazing place to stay & enjoy the scenery and tranquility of the surroundings. The design of the cabins is unique, especially the bathroom. We enjoyed our afternoon drinks sitting on the deck watching the ocean and the birds. It was great to be so close to the beach & we enjoyed many walks along it. We would definately recommend Beachside Retreat to our friends. Thanks to Chris & Jeanette for their hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynetteandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi lynetteandbruce,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our unique ecocabins.
The position is amazing, sited on the dunes overlooking the beach. To be able to sit on the deck, listening to the birds and observing, in tune with nature, the ever changing coastal scenery, is very relaxing. We would love to see you again one day, or your friends. It was a pleasure meeting you.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boxtel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for a week in the Pelican cabin. We had a wonderful time in this part of Tasmania. Beachside Retreat has a superb setting with gorgeous views on the West Inlet Bay and the Pelican has everything you might expect from a nature, self-catering, luxury cabin. We had breakfast on the terrace with view on the sea and the pelicans and we have made lovely walks on the beach nearby. We also went to Stanley for a beautiful walk on the Nut, to the Dip Falls, the Rocky Cape National Park and we had a magnificent cruise on the Arrhur River. Each day it was lovely to return again to the Pelican cabin with its quietness and its splendid, secluded position.
Thank you very much for your hospitality, Chris & Janette.
You have been great hosts!

A & P - the Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tp28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi tp_13,
Thank you for your lovely review.
You certainly saw a substantial amount of the area, packing a lot into your weeks stay in Pelican and appreciated the seclusion and lovely position of your cabin on your return. Stanley is a delightful place to visit, very pretty and totally unique.
Perhaps we shall see you again one day, if you should visit this part of the world again.
Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed in the 'Pelican' retreat for a week in February 2013. I'd been looking for somewhere to get away from everything and everyone for a little while as my life had been truly hectic and emotionally draining. My wish list for accommodation included: being stylish; suitable for one person; air conditioned; self-contained; private; and being in a serene location. Beachside Retreat West Inlet met all of these things when searching on-line (a surprisingly few places ticked all boxes). Pleasingly the retreat was even better than expected. The solitude I so wanted was provided in spades! The Architect responsible for the design of the 'Pelican' retreat should be congratulated for creating such a beautiful space to relax in by yourself. Plus Janette and Chris couldn’t have been less obtrusive if they tried. It really felt like I had a piece of the world to myself for the week such was the rarity of seeing another person (I only encountered one other guest on my daily walks on the amazingly beautiful private beach). I honestly came away feeling refreshed and reenergized. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this retreat to people who want to get away from their lives for a while.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all fabulous, but the 'Pelican' is the last one in the row so no-one e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Stewart,
Thank you for your review and spending time on our property. It's nice to know that you achieved what you set out to do - to rest, relax and rejuvenate. Privacy and solitude in tune with nature, is what we offer - just you, the birds, the wildlife and the sounds of the sea. Next time try the heated salt water pool and spa, absolutely magical at night under the stars. Glad to hear you are feeling great after your retreat. Perhaps we shall see you again, one day.
Best wishes. Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed over the Australia Day long weekend in the 'Pelican' cabin. The cabin itself was immaculate, very well laid out and had a beautiful view from the living/dining room and the deck. We had breakfast on the deck both mornings, enjoying the scenery and we also took lovely long walks along the beach (it was pristine and we didn't see a soul). We also took a half day tour to the Tarkine forest with Chris - he was a very good guide and had lots of interesting facts to share. The picnic lunch (part of the tour) was also lovely - so much so that we even had a couple of bees join the picnic!
We also liked the fact that Beachside Retreat was less than a 10 min drive from Stanley town and the various tourist attractions such as the Nut, and not much further to the Cable Station restaurant where we had a lovely dinner.
This was our second visit to Beachside Retreat and it was everything we expected. We will definitely be back again. Thanks Janette and Chris for being such lovely hosts.
Justin & Joice S

Room Tip: If you don't need a spa, the Pelican cabin is the way to go as it is the newest cabin and is sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandjs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Justin and Joice,
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Pelican nature cabin. The Tarkine Tour is very interesting and is also very comfortable on the gravel tracks, in our new luxury 4WD vehicle. We have reduced the tour to a half day as this enables guests to participate in other activities, such as a seal cruise, when time is limited. Nice to see you again, the second time in 3 months. Bye for now.
Best wishes. Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Beachside Retreat is tucked carefully into the sand dunes above beautiful West Inlet and only a few kilometres from the little township of Stanley. The four cabins are completely private from each other and all with their own unique character. Everything you could need for a peaceful 'retreat' but with all mod cons. There is a nature trail that winds through the bushland or take the path down to the sandy beach for a walk, a swim or to knock some fresh oysters from the rocks! If you order a breakfast hamper you will get lots of goodies including Janette's homemade jam and fresh made bread. Even freshly laid eggs if the hens are behaving!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi SusyQ,
Thank you for your recent review.
Our environmental architect designed the cabins so that each one is different in style and completely private from the next one. If you are looking for a retreat we do our best to make it happen. We have now added 3 more hens to our orchard, after the spotted quolls reduced our hen numbers and now have a more reliable egg supply. Lovely to hear from you and hope to see you again soon.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I loved to stay at this place. It is so relaxing to sit on the little terrace and look at the wonderfull beach. The cabins furniture is very nice and well planed, the cabin itself fits perfectly to the landscape. I do recommend to stay at Beachside Retreat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Margarete,
Thank you for your review.
We hope that you had a safe journey home to Austria after your relaxing stay here.
We employed an environmental architect to design the cabins so that they fitted perfectly within the natural setting and we think that she came up with an amazing result.
It was lovely to meet you both. Maybe we shall see you again one day.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Property: Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing